We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel but choose a canal view room”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. It was our second time staying here. Very centrally located - you can walk everywhere. Nice furnishings, nice bathrooms, nice staff. One thing to point out though if you dont like noise at night request canal view rooms- the rooms facing the street behind the hotel get noisy during the night because of traffic and clubs.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_lt_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,953)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Estherea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,359 - 2,365 of 3,954 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel itself, its location, and its personnel are top-flight. Hotel Estherea is located within a few minutes walk of the heart of the city, near plenty of sights and good restaurants, yet situated on a quiet street along one of the inner canals. Moreover, the staff were hugely accommodating and knowledgeable. Although public transportation comes within 200 yards of the hotel, we were able (at ages 65 and 62) easily to walk from the hotel to the Museum Square going south, the Tropenmuseum and other locales going east, and the Anne Frank House and other points west. The tram only came into play for us when we arrived with our luggage on a Saturday evening and when we left the following Saturday morning.

Also, booking on TripAdvisor.com meant that we received a free upgrade from a "classic" (rather small) room to a "deluxe" (ample-sized, by European standards) room as well as free Internet throughoiut our stay. Foir some reason, this upgrade policy only applies to TripAdvisor.com reservations.

With all of the breakfast, lunch, and dinner places nearby -- several within less than 100 yards -- we did not eat at the hotel, and so cannot comment on the food. But the hotel does provide a nice array of complimentary hot and cold beverages throughout the day and night, as well as snacks at the bar and cookies/cakes in the inner vestibule during most of the day/evening.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Central to most things Amsterdamish with comfort, elegance and one of the best views of Amsterdam from the 'library'. Have afternoon tea while overlooking the canal, 100 yards from one of the best 'Kucken' (cake) shops in the 'Dam and 200 yards from the nearest 'Cafe'.
Also, one of the best Pubs in Amsterdam just up on the Square, many different monastery brewed beers in one bar, with food if required and always packed for lunch, so get there early.
Knowledgeable staff, who are always very helpful with whatever it is you may require, you even get a pair of slippers. The Savoy of Amsterdam in my opinion and yes, I have stayed at the Savoy in London.
Buy a ticket and take a 'hop on-hop off' canal boat, it's like a Canal Bus (I think it's called a 'Rondvaart') and take a diamond factory tour, it'll make your eye's sparkle, ask the staff about it.
Unfortunately, Trip Advisor's not got enough stars to rate this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Typically Dutch building as it's tall and narrow, so if you don't like being in a tiny lift...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Good choice for a really special break. Handy for museums, shops and canals so you can park the car and walk everywhere. Be good to hire bikes as this means you can cross the city in about 20 minutes. The lounge and bar are sumptuously furnished and the free tea and coffee is quite a good wheeze - nice when you get back from a walk in the cold air.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhapsodyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in Hotel Estherea for three nights mid March and would well recommend it. The pluses : well located and only a short stroll from plenty of bars and restaurants, an excellent value pre-paid breakfast (€13 per head), beautiful charming rooms - we had a jacuzzi bath and a chandelier over the bed and plenty of public areas to chill and enjoy the complimentary tea / coffee / hot chocolate. The minuses were minor : namely that the accoustics can be quite strange i.e. one morning we thought the couple next door were in our room, and a cat reguarly seemed to appear at reception. I only mention it as it wasnt' the type of hotel you'd expect to see a cat in reception!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuffbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is our third stay at this hotel and we'll go back again. Having taken a close look at what's there, I am confident that there is no better place to stay. Restaurant was great, pool was good, hot tub was great. We had a good time. Their excitement was addicting! We were given a whole list of family activities that went on all day to add to the festivites. can honestly say the staff was up to the challenge of what appeared to be a full house. The manager was out and about at all times on Saturday night and again on Sunday. Although he was busy, he also didn't hesitate to stop and greet the guests. The staff seemed busy but not stressed and all greeted us with a friendly hello in the halls.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $254 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing