We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy Over booking policy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #154 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
e
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dodgy Over booking policy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Schiller is a nice hotel which is why I booked 3 nights there but they seem to have adopted a policy of overbooking and putting the overflow into a grotty annex across the square called the Carensa.
They were most surprised that I wasn't happy with this and it took a lot of moaning to get a promise to switch us back for the 2nd and 3rd nights.
In all the fuss they forgot to take a swipe of my credit card so hounded me for the next couple of days by waking me up late at night to ask me to go down to receptiion and swipe the card, then when I told them where to go they disabled my room cards forcing me the next day to visit reception and give them my credit card. I hadn't spent anything on the room so all of this hassle was totally uneccessary.
I would certainly think twice before booking this hotel again

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xtere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    537
    283
    105
    60
See reviews for
134
590
82
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is smack in the middle of Rembrandt square. You are a few steps away from great restaurants and some great attractions.

The hotel looks good from the outside and walking in, you get a feeling of the old dutch grandeur. The rooms are quite roomy as well, with great views of the square.

However, you pay for internet and a lot. It is 18 euros for one day of internet, and that is just ridiculous. Mobile internet (iPad included) is 8 euros. In this day and age, I don't get how high end hotels continue to charge for internet.

Moreover, my bathroom smelled really bad. I was there for two nights, but I didn't want to bother changing rooms. I did regret it on the second night, but what is amazing is that the cleaning staff didn't smell it and address it.

There is no air-conditioning in the hotel, so it might not be comfortable in summer. I was there in March and it was hot in my room, enough to keep me up at night.

The bed is not very comfortable and it was two single beds put together.

While I didn't order room service (you don't need to with the Burger Bar, and Wok to Walk a few meters away), the menu didn't have anything to tingle my taste buds.

So I advise passing on this hotel. In my opinion, it was not worth it. There are cheaper, better alternatives around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms, good breakfast, excelent location!!! In a few minutes you are everywere in the city. Personel is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The NH Schiller is located in Rembrandtplein in Amsterdam. The square itself is a little loud and seems to cater to the club scene on the weekend, however it is the perfect location! Central to everything, surrounded by plenty of coffee shops, cafes and the tram line. You can literally walk to all the major attractions within 15 minutes. The hotel staff was very professional, friendly and fast. The rooms are decent sized, exceptionally clean and very comfy! I would absolutely stay here again! We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, but did try a few on the square and had great experiences. Walk down the canal about five minutes to the nieuwmarkt square if you are looking for a quieter, picteuresque dining spot. You won't be disappointed. Villa Nieuwmarket is a great place for after dinner drinks. Cozy and very warm feeling with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The title of the review says it all. The hotel is clean and staff welcoming and helpful. The rooms are modern enough and comfortable. Our room was in the rear of the hotel and was very quiet on a night - no outside noise at all.
The hotel is within walking distance to - all transport links, eateries, attractions, museums, canals etc.
Would recommend the Burger Bar which is about a 3 min walk from the hotel near the old cinema and Smokey's Coffee shop next door.
Would definitely recommend this hotel - and will stay at this hotel again when we go back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Go to the left when you leave Centraal Station and take Tram 9 which will stop right at the hotel on Rembrandt Plein. The rooms were roomy, if a bit dated. The lifts needed a good clean :-( The food was EXCEPTIONAL - highly recommended to try their restaurant/room service. Smokey coffee shop next door is brilliant for a beer and a game of pool - friendly, accommodating and very convenient. The noise levels because of the square is relatively high, but not unmanageable. The hotel leaves ear plugs for you on the bedside table - says something. We faced the square and the noise and lights did not bother us. Recommended hotel - we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, NHHotels and Travelocity.ca so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing