We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Indonesian ricetable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 3,679 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$64
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Notodden, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Indonesian ricetable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Small, nice resturant in Jordan area, we had the rice table 35Euros each. It was Starter, 6 main and a desert, very good and to be recomended. Service exelent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank olyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Happy to know that you liked our Indonesian specials. We do our best to make something special, creating the traditional Indonesian food a fancy look.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,109
    413
    74
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
276 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Classic cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This restaurant manages to seat a lot of people in a small area (incl a first floor) but you never get the feeling to be cramped in a tiny place. The white interior helps in that respect and brings a modern feeling with a classic service.
Not sure how the classify the food other then that it taste very nice and surprising. The service might not be perfect but certainly better then most Amsterdam restaurants and their very friendly attitude makes you feel very welcome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wub67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for enjoying MAX restaurant and that you enjoyed the lively atmosphere of the restaurant. Good to know that you like our suprisingly but tasteful menu. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best meal in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a real fusion restaurant, and if you like trying something else than traditional European dishes – this is the place to go!

My husband, who is also a chef, was also really happy about the food. The food is fresh, has lovely spices, is nicely decorated and everything tastes absolutely fantastic. The menu was well composed with different dishes. We were foure people who all tried different dishes and we were all really happy about our choices. We had three courses and loved all of them. We also got some special after drinks specially made to one and each of us which toped the night.

Max also came over to the table and told us the story behind the restaurant . The service staff was also knowledgeable and recommended good wines.
When in Amsterdam – go to Max. You won’t regret! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MargreteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for giving us such good compliments especially from Chefs themselves :-).
I love food and I love wines and I love to share this with more people.
Thank you again and hope see you soon. Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The food is really delicious and the service is quite good. The presentation of the dishes is amazing. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mr_dincer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for liking us and enjoying our menu.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Indonesian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went there and had the Indonesian rijsttafel tasting menu, good value, good service, but make sure you make a reservation can be very popular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank curlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing