We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here for his birthday. The reception staff were very friendly and even noticed that it was my husbands birthday on our arrival day and wished him a happy birthday. They later followed this up with a card, bottle of Sake, and nibbles being delivered to our room whilst we were at dinner, a very nice gesture.

Our room was situated on the 17th floor and we had a lovely view over the canal below and over the tops of the houses. By choosing an executive room, this gave us free access to the Executive Lounge where they have soft drinks available, plus wines and a variety of nibbles from late afternoon onwards. There is also a PC and printer available for guest use which was handy for us to print our boarding passes for our return home..The bathroom was beautiful, with double sinks, large bath and separate shower and again a wonderful view. It is ideal to close the blinds whilst using the bathroom as the windows can be viewed from below, but due to the height of the floor, I am not sure passers by would see too much.

There is a lovely pool and fitness area which my husband said was excellent, but I did not partake.

The only downside for us was the meal we had in the Japanese restaurant on our first night. We found the service a little slow and did not enjoy the food. This may have been our personal tastes though as there were many other diners in the restaurant who seemed to be enjoying theirs. This would certainly not deter I us from re visiting in the future.

It it situated a little way out from the center of Amsterdam, which we did not find an issue as the local tram stops were just a few minutes from the hotel. There are also taxis available from the hotel if required.

All in all, a very lovely stay, a great hotel and lovely staff, from reception to doorman.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridavillabookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,607
    574
    149
    56
    31
See reviews for
314
949
108
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dont Know, Im a traveler
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Okura Amsterdam Hotel +++++

+Nice and clean.
+The room was huge, with tv in the bathroom.

+/- Its 20min of walking distance to the Holland Casino, pubs, shopping etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverFang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I spent an Easter Holiday at the Okura Hotel with my wife.
The price is high but quality of rooms, service and food is excellent.
The hotel is not in the center of Amsterdam but not much of an issue. The area is very calm (as opposed to the center of the city) and it take only a 10-15 minute walk or a couple of stops of tram to arrive to the main museums and shops.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Beautiful rooms, very friendly and helpful staff (Lex the concierge is great, housekeeping and front desk staff is extremely accommodating). Great fixtures and decor in the rooms, in-room expresso machine. We stayed in the lowest class room - standard, and it was still very luxurious, extremely clean, soothing decor with an excellent pillow menu! They are renovating so we were on the 16th floor and did not hear any construction noise. The location is a bit out of the central area but Amsterdam is so small it's a 15-20 minute walk to the Museum district or you can easily catch a tram to other parts of the city.

Restaurants in the hotel (2 michelin rated rest. 1-2 stars) but we explored some nearby restaurants.

We had a 40% discount rate thru jetsetter.com (160euro/$230USD). but Internet access was 15 euros per day, 6 euros per hour and there was a charge for the gym as well. Breakfast not included. At least by American standards, would have expected free internet and gym use at these rates. Apparently they are thinking about moving to free internet access next year, not sure about gym.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Really clean & friendly, had a free upgrade, Suite 1909 on the executive floor is amazing, spent 4 nights here but never ate here as the prices are ridiculous, on our first night we had room service and there isn't alot (nothing really) for children but my daughter ordered chicken & pasta when it came it was 6 pasta shells with 6 slices of chicken for 24euros lol.......if they lowered their prices they would keep there customers in the hotel, also breakfast 30 euros per person for continental, we found Le Pain Quotidien a few minutes walk away was perfect and had breakfast there every morning less than 30euros for 3 people!! This hotel is not central, its about 30min walk to the centre, but trams are regular and taxi is about 20 euros, it was nice to get away from all the hustle and bustle and our suite was very large so it was lovely to come back and relax, there is also a supermarket opposite Le Pain Quotidien to buy your own wine and nibbles as you are talking about 40euros for a bottle at the hotel. Gym and pool is also extra and there is no free wii-fi

Room Tip: Suite 1909 was perfect with lovely views too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gucci48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really clean and friendly. Luxurious hotel. Only gripe is that gym is extra to the price. Tourists need to be aware that it is a good half hour walk to the city. Not really a gripe as trams are plentiful

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank johntaylorEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is only my second ever positng of comments on Trip Advisor but feel this is such a special hotel, it deserves to be commended. In retrospect my stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam was closer to perfection than any hotel stay I can recall in recent years. A truly grand hotel, it is an expression of European tradition brought to contemporary life by a dedicated team of professionals. Inspired by the best of continental five star hotel tradition, it also offers a sophisticated touch of Japan in the form of Yamazato, a one star Michelin rated Japanese restaurant as well as arguably the best teppanyaki restaurant outside of Japan. Preparing for a dinner date with the 2 star Michelin Ciel Bleu that evening, I noticed from the pool area two chefs plucking berries and harvesting fresh vegetables in the hotel garden and immediately knew Ciel Bleu would not disappoint. Hints of Okura's Japanese roots appear in public areas from the ginko leaf motif on walls to the bizen pottery delicately on display. As I was preparing to leave, another two chefs were setting up an elaborate display of hand crafted Easter eggs in the lobby. Despite no doubt going through a number of refurbishements and additions over the years, the hotel evokes a remarkable sense of tranquility and consistency. My room functioned perfectly in every respect and the hotel staff could not be faulted. To boot, I purchased a pre paid euro 33 taxi voucher to transport me to Schipol, proving it's location definitely is convenient to both downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGVTokyoJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,814 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,282 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing