We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience at Best Western Dam Square Inn, Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Ranked #139 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience at Best Western Dam Square Inn, Amsterdam”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Bad service, bad attitude, bad quality... :(
I used to love this hotel, but I will never come here again. The cleaning lady broke my laptop, denied it and then the manager blamed me for leaving my laptop on the room's carpet. So I wouldn't go there if you plan to leave valuable belongings in places where the hotel thinks it is ok to break them. Of course, no compensation for my broken laptop was offered. I used to go there a lot and it really saddens me to be treated this way.

Room Tip: DO NOT put anything on the floor (including your suitcase), they are NOT responsible for any damage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    374
    177
    32
    16
See reviews for
110
358
66
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam on 2 January so the streets of Amsterdam were filthy! There was litter everywhere! We walked from the Central Station to the hotel (about 2.5kms) not bad and instructions on how to get there worked, but when we arrived in our street we were shocked that that was where we had to walkled down - quite dodgey! Once found the hotel wasn't as bad as the rest of its surroundings. The rooms are quite old fashioned and carpets are dated. There were two single beds pushed together - which I hate (hardly romantic!) and no curtains - it was winter and the sun only rose at 9h30 but still it made the room cold and unfriendly. Towels were the size of my bath mats at home and could hardly wrapped around me. The buffet breakfast was just cereal, youghurt and toast.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We only stayed one night in the hotel during a mini cruise from Hull to Amsterdam so we chose it mainly for the location as we were only staying for 2 days. Being just around the corner from Dam, it was within easy walking distance of just about everything and being a very flat city, you can do LOTS of walking!
The hotel itself was extremely nice and exceptionally clean. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and spoke very good English. The rooms were quite large with a great big comfy bed which made it even better for us being as the tiny single beds on the ferry across were not that great! The rooms had everything in them you could need including a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. The breakfast was nice but didnt have as much choice as other hotels i have stayed in, including other Best Westerns. Overall this was a great choice of hotel and i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We often use Best Western hotels, this one is not up to the usual standard.
Friendly and helpfull staff made an otherwise poor hotel just acceptable.
Continental buffet breakfast is good with excellent service, but note there is no actual restaurant in the hotel - breakfast only. Very small bar in reception area.
It is in an excellent location right next to the 'new church' (the cathedral at Dam Square) and good for sightseeing, restaurants, catching trams etc.

Our room was rather cramped, the lighting was so dim it was next to impossible to read books, maps etc. The view out of the window was of a damp and mouldy 'light well'. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom (supplied with kettle, coffee etc) was spacious and clean.
Potentially a nice hotel but in need of some rennovation.
We are getting on a bit and had been warned (by email after booking) that the lift was temporarily out of use, the hotel reservations staff had 'guarenteed' us a room on the 1st floor - we did not get it and had to climb many stairs with our baggage - not nice.
Be warned that there is no direct vehicle access to the hotel. Our taxi (50 euros from the airport) dropped us at the end of the road and we had to walk the last 80 meters or so in the rain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed here mid December for 2 nights, it is a very central hotel less than a minutes walk from Dam Square. Hotel was very clean and our room was good, with bath/shower and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was ok. The ladies on reception were very pleasant and helpful. Of the many other hotels we have stayed in in Amsterdam, this is by far the nicest for the money. About 15 minutes walk from Centraal Station. Will definitely be back again soon. Note, the lift is currently being updated, so you have to use the stairs (not steep and not many), but should all be fixed by the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I want to start off by stating that the staff here were extremely nice, helpful, and friendly. They procured a taxi for us to go to the airport, gave us helpful hints about places to eat, and let us print advance tickets to museums. We stayed in a triple, where as indicated in a previous review, the third bed did come out of the wall! The bathroom was large, as was the shower, although the water pressure was poor. It was quite dark in the room, but there were plenty of outlets (something that seemed to lack in some of the other places where we stayed) and enough space to fit our big suitcases. Also, they had electrical adaptors we could borrow, and an average hairdryer in the bathroom. We stayed on the first floor (which is really the second floor), and we had no problems with noise issues. It probably helped that the hotel was just expensive enough to deter partiers, but not so expensive that you could be near Dam Square. The breakfast was below average European style, with cold cuts, bread, cereal, some fruit, coffee, and orange juice - it gets the job done, but if you want taste, you need to go elsewhere. The location was very convenient - in an alley, squeezed between Dam Square and the main road leading down from the train station. We arrived Friday evening, so it was super crazy on the main road - it took us about 15 minutes to walk to the hotel while lugging our huge suitcases and looking for the road signs (which are located high on the sides of buildings). Overall, we were happy to stay there for the location, but you should definitely liken it to a Best Western in the U.S., which usually rates at a 1-2 star level.

A couple of other points: we saw a sign indicating that the elevator is being worked on from December 5th through Christmas (I think), so you may want to call/e-mail to see if it's working again. Also, it's a $45 flat fee to take a taxi to the airport (which takes about 1/2 hour), but you could take the train for a lot cheaper (which takes about 1 hour); however, after coming from the train, we just didn't feel like lugging our suitcases back to the train station, looking at the schedules, buying the train ticket, getting to the right platform, and getting off at the right stop (which is actually the next stop on a Thalys train, but could be a different stop on a local train - which again, you would have to figure out). The charge was worth it to take a taxi for us, and he came to the door. Also, if you need to pay with a credit card, make sure you ensure that your taxi driver will accept it when you book the taxi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepyplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed in the Best Western for the weekend in November. The service we received was excellent, very helpful and friendly receptionists. The rooms were clean very nice and lots of space considering majority of hotels in Amsterdam can be a bit poky. The hotel on a little street off dam square so you are away from all the noise but still accessible to everywhere. Plus there is a pizza shop and a lovely little bakery right across from the hotel, and a couple of coffeshops for those that require them. If I go back to Amsterdam I wouldnt hesitate to go back to this hotel, I really couldnt fault it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#149 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#104 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dam Square Inn

Property: Best Western Dam Square Inn
Address: Gravenstraat 12-16, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing