We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay - comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #52 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay - comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is quiet, calm and stylish. We were delighted with our deluxe room which had a truly enormous bed!

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient and seemed genuinely interested in our well-being.

We're regular visitors to Amsterdam because I have family in the city, but this was our first time at this particular hotel.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YinxFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    1,228
    310
    68
    35
See reviews for
477
1,301
155
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is nice and clean with a very nice staff. The room was nice, it was a superior one.it was nice and comfortable with a nespresso machine available.....it's soooooo cool to have a coffee when you are just awake!!! The bathroom is not the kind of bathroom you aspected to find in an hotel of such category: it was small and a little bit of old-looking. Anyway.....the floor was heated!!!!! :)
The breakfast is too much expensive if not included with the room price. We had it inclused and was nice! The staff at the de palmboom, the restaurant of the hotel in which the breakfast is served, is kind and gives you all the attention. The breakfast is a buffet style breakfast and offers every kind of food. Muffin, yogurt, croissant, little bread but also sausages, potatoes, scrambled eggs and a lot of juices and many other things.
I enjoyed it :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elebereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a perfect 4-night stay at the Radisson Blu, Amsterdam. We were celebrating our birthdays as well as being newlyweds and the hotel made it extra special for us. We were upgraded to their Business Class room which was very clean & comfortable with plenty of amenities. Arranged by family as a surprise to us, a delicious cake was delivered to our room moments after arrival. All of the employees we met even once then remembered us by name throughout the stay, and were very helpful whenever we had a question. We had breakfast included which included a nice selection of options from fruits, cereals, eggs, meats, breads, cheeses and beverages. The location was very convenient to walk to many attractions, and less than a mile from the train station. We felt very welcomed and relaxed throughout our stay and would definitely choose this hotel again if returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_MP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a 40th birthday reunion with friends flying in from different countries. We normally stay at the Grand in Amsterdam but thought we'd try this as its bang innt he centre of town and right next door to the Grand.
Couldn't fault anything - we were all delighted and with the high quality of the rooms, the general bar and restaurant and of course the staff.
Recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Cannot complain about the location of this hotel as it is really central. Rooms are nicely decorated although they have no view which is disappointing. The one thing that spoiled our experience at this hotel was the attitude and manner of the assistant hotel manager at the check in desk. I have never met anyone so rude who works in the hospitality trade! After complaining to the hotel manager we still are waiting for an apology. All the other hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Good manners keeps customers returning! We wont be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 691Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with my husband celebrating our 2nd anniversary. Got upgraded upon arrival to a business room in the newly renovated parts of the hotel - really liked it. What´s also very nice about the hotel is that wifi is for free - huge plus. A minus was that the hotel seemed to be over booked. There was a long line just to get in to their breakfast rest. Since I was 7 months pregnant that made me furious not to mention sick from not getting breakfast when I needed it. I almost fainted off in the lobby and my husband had to lead me to the bar area to get some water and juice, we were both very mad since that ruined almost a whole day. They gave us a body for our at that time unborn as an apology - which was quite thoughtful. But still, not ok to have to wait like an hour for breakfast just because Radisson can´t plan their bookings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room being newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosumalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The main reason why I booked this hotel is its great location... right in the heart of Amsterdam Centrum (within walking distance to Oude Kerk and Dam Square). We had a toddler with us and I didn't want to risk booking at a non-chain hotel. Having said that, I didn't feel any special treatment that a hotel of this type should be able to accord its guests. The standard room is quite roomy, but it seems all of them face inwards towards the hotel's atrium. So it can feel quite boxed in as you need your curtains shut the whole time. I asked for a room with a street or canal view but apparently, these are only available to higher tier rooms/suites.

In my opinion, breakfast should be included as a standard across all of the hotel's packages. It's way too costly at EUR25 pppn. Fortunately, the hotel is close to restaurants and cafes.

Our room was decorated in a Carnival theme: orange walls, bright yellow accents, orange curtains, high wattage lights, etc. Way too bright everywhere! Plus, there's quite a huge photo of a smiling woman in a Carnival headdress that was pretty disarming. Would have preferred a more toned-down, calmer feel to the room.

Room Tip: Standard rooms face inwards towards the hotel's atrium/lobby. If you want a street or canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadBroke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing