We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy,central very cost effective”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #204 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
TEL-AVIV
Level Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cozy,central very cost effective”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a no thrills hote. Very clean efficient and extremly well located. Breakfast is rather rich. Only hint I have do not take single rooms as they can be very very small. Thus always ordera double. Also hotel rates at the hotel site are inexpensive in case you order early enough.
It is my fourth stay and I would certainly recommend it again

Room Tip: never order a single room. They are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BALDWIN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    1,063
    691
    289
    190
See reviews for
255
1,253
169
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I traveled to Amsterdam this past February as our first European adventure. When we arrived at the hotel it was around 9:30 am (their time) and our room was not ready so they offered us an apartment at the Eden apartments right next door to the hotel. It was perfect! It had a living room area, a little kitchenette and a beautiful view of the canals. The hotel is situated right around the corner from Rembrandt square so that was really perfect because there's coffeeshops and bars and places to eat a stones throw away from the hotel. We also did the ice bar experience which was right up the block from the hotel. My husband and I booked two tours through the hotel which uses Lindbergh tours. We did a day trip to Bruges, Belgium and a trip to the Dutch countryside. The tours were wonderful, the tour guides speak English so there wasn't a communication problem. The Dutch countryside tour was awesome; we went to Volendam, Marken-where they make the clogs and Zaans Schons where you see windmills and they make cheese and the air smells like chocolate! The Bruges tour was equally awesome because you go to a UNESCO world heritage site and you can walk around, shop, see old buildings and churches. Go to the beer museum if you do this particular tour, it really has thousands of beers! We navigated around Amsterdam with no problem, we mostly walked but there are plenty of rail cars and buses to take you to where you have to go. There's also a hop-on, hop-off bus you can catch a block away from the hotel. Watch out for the bicyclists, every Amsterdam city-dweller rides/owns a bike and they flick their bell at you when you're in the way. You could also rent bikes as well. We walked through Vondel Park which is huge but beautiful. We went to the Heineken experience which is a tour through an old Heineken brewery and you get two beers at the end of the tour. We also went to Rijks museum and looked at Rembrandt paintings. There is also the Van Gogh museum and we went to the Gassan diamond cutters for a tour. They show you all different cuts and grades of diamonds on this tour! We went and visited the Anne Frank house, that was eery but well worth the wait; the line was around the block! We also did a candlelit wine and cheese canal cruise on my birthday! That was wonderful, you board the cruise by centraal station and they take you through the canals and you get to see the house boats up close and all the apartments overlooking the canals; everyone leaves their shades open so you can see inside their apartments, they are absolutely beautiful! Overall, we had an excellent stay and we would return without question!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

First hotel room (247) smelt of sick, but we were moved to 240 with no problems. Rooms are small by other city standards but average for Amsterdam.

Bar was great.

Location was superb. 20 min walk from Central station, or 5 mins from subway.

As another reviewer mentioned, we booked through hotels.com, and were under the impression that taxes had been paid but got stung about €4 a night when we checked out.

Overall would deffo stay there again.

(noticed that the hotel was offering much cheaper prices booking directly a few days before check in compared to hotels.com/expedia etc etc)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimeycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

There are a few hotels in Amsterdam with "Eden" in the title. I haven't stayed at them but this one is a good one.
The location was good. My girlfriend and I enjoy walking and we walked everywhere.
The staff were nice and the concierge was very helpful and helped us get tickets to museums and other events.
We stayed for a week and were given a complimentary room upgrade. It was a nice surprise and because of that the hotel turned out to be one of the better value for money choices we made in our 6 week holiday through Europe.
There is also a very nice gym nearby that has a deal with the hotel, which I found really nice. There is a cost for each visit though.
Apparently no wi-fi in the rooms but we managed to still get a connection.
The hotel breakfast was also really good. Great range and hearty. For us, this place was hard to fault.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isk752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Really nice hotel, staff were friendly even letting us check in early at no cost.
Rooms are nice, good showers too!
10minute walk to the red light district and shopping.
only thing that was a bit annoying was having to leave a 50 euro deposit on the room, which wasn't mentioned anywhere.
all in all great value for money

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are best avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldskooldanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing