We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,550)
Filter reviews
1,550 results
Traveller rating
1,329
187
26
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,329
187
26
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar herengracht canal books signed perfect location beautiful hotel quiet canal room overlooking the canal favorite hotel nine streets beautiful room within walking distance sitting area loved this hotel anne frank house major attractions triple room perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 1,550 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Even in mi-February a gorgeous urn of flowers marks the discrete facade of the super charming Ambassade. That sign of good taste & style is carried thru the whole hotel experience. On two recent visits we arrived both times at odd hours. When we were too early to check in, the front desk staff suggested we might enjoy breakfast after our long flight and showed us up to the Brasserie. Soon after our room was ready and William ushered us up in the elevator to our Herrengracht canal-view room. Upon our return a week later we took an interior room and found from spacious to smaller the rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely fabrics & linens, great beds, big baths, lots of hot water & good lighting. In addition to chandeliers, table & floor lamps, there's plenty of natural light from high windows with darkening curtains.

The quality of the Ambassade goes deeper than just its antiques and ornamentation. Its character also derives from the exceptional staff. With direct reservations Joost helped me so much and Femke delightfully arranged our next visit & assisted us from her post at the front desk. Reception has a friendly, helpful, creative & knowledgeable staff. Frequently it was Martijn who solved our morning dilemmas, including arranging for a unique canal cruise we didn't feel we could set up ourselves. One day 3 front desk experts reached a solution for a mistake I'd made in our booking for the Ann Frank House. Also on duty there was Julian during the day & Kepppi in the evening. Richard graciously tends the first-editions library bar & when we had visitors arrive from France he took great care of them. Bravo to Sherman for his help when we arrived at 2 a.m. on his first week. Rik & Linde replied to our several email queries.

However, throughour both stays our days didn't even start until we came into the hands of the Brasserie breakfast crew with their smiling "goedmorgen!" and the buffet's delicious, wide vairety of offerings. Wonderful William was also on hand at breakfast to greet us along with fabulous, genteel Claudia's endless cafe au laits, and adorable Zoe who sweetly tried to teach me just one phrase in Dutch. We'd be remiss not to mention our romantic dinners at the Brasserie as well -- lovely food, presentation & service. Book a table ahead because people come from far & wide to dine there for those reasons.
We'd like to return to Amsterdam but it's The Ambassade that makes it seem like home.

Room Tip: Canal view worth the premium. One lane rd. between hotel & canal some vehicle sounds. Seeing trees, boats is super. B'fast extra excellent
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Madam,

Herewith we wish to thank you very much for your wonderful words. We feel very flattered with these compliments.
It is of course our job to make everyone as happy as possible when in Amsterdam, but it is most rewarding reading this from you personally, thank you so much.

Maybe needless to repeat, as we probaly informerd you upon check-out, but it would be wonderful seeing you back next time you travel to Amsterdam, hopefully soon!

With best regards from everyone at the Ambassade Hotel, from now mild and sunny Amsterdam,

Eelco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Absolutely perfect hotel for our stay. Charming hotel with noblesse of last ages in combination with contemporary comfort. Really professional and friendly stuff, trying to assist you in what ever you ask them.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel_MDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thank you very very much, Marcel.
It was great having you as our guest and we are very happy reading you enjoyed your visit.

with best regards from Amsterdam,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Lovely place and even more lovely staff. We had a beautiful canal view room with a wall of windows. If we asked for anything at the desk, it seemed to arrive in our room before we got there. The service is impeccable. We are walkers, so we were able to walk to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh in one direction, and all the way to the Central station in the other while stopping at sights along the way. Anything out of reach we reached by nearby tram, It is two blocks from the best craft beer bar in Amsterdam--cafe Gollem, so my husband could feed his interest in local beers. Many excellent restaurants are within easy reach.

Breakfasts are WONDERFUL, with fine local cheeses and smoked fish along with the usual fare.Lovely spot.

Room Tip: canal view a must. Request a room with multiple windows.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mira178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Mira,

We wish to thank you for your fantastic words, it is so good noticing you enjoyed your stay and the facilites in the nearby area such as Cafe Gollem. We can't wait to see you back so our staff can give you some more ideas on local interests.

with best regards from now rainy but mildly warm Amsterdam,

Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We were recommended this hotel by friends and were not disappointed. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located and within walking distance of most attractions. Our room was clean, comfortable and the Bulgari amenities in the bathroom have my vote! They were replenished generously every day which, to me, is a hallmark of a good hotel. Breakfast, although with a limited choice, was excellent and the staff always cheerful in the morning. The bar which is decorated with thousands of books is lovely and a relaxing place to have afternoon tea or a preprandial drink. I have only one reservation which might be important to some visitors. The hotel is located in the middle of two major canals. While this affords a lovely view of either the Herengracht or the Singel, it is noisy! Drunk revellers walk alongside these canals, in the middle of the night, as they are thoroughfares, and they make a lot of noise!! Although the bed was very comfortable and the room was exquisite, I do not think I had one good night's sleep there. This might not affect everyone which is why, to be fair, I have still given the Ambassade five stars, despite not being able to sleep, as they certainly deserve them. Perhaps ask for a room on a higher floor!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on a higher floor as it is very noisy on street level.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful words and your 5-star rating, this is so much appreciated!
We are really sorry reading you did not sleep too well though. Indeed being located in the heart of town, on ceratin weekends when the weather is good, people come by and can be heard from time to time.

Hope this will not hold you from coming back next time you travel to Amsterdam. Rooms at the courtyard are of course quieter end, as you suuggest, also rooms on the higher floors. Please remind us when making a reservation.

with best regards from all staff at he Ambassade Hotel,

Eelco Douma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Room was absolutely beautiful - Quiet - and relaxing - Hotel is walking distance to everything - Museums - Train - Shopping. Welcome staff - very accommodating - and helpful in directions to points of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Sharon,
We wish to thank you for your kind words, it is a pleasure reading we could assist in making your time in Amsterdam so enjoyable.
Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam, it would be great seeing you back.

with kindest regards,

Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews