We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel..not the best but not the worst”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #170 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here for a girlie weekend away and it was more than fine for what we paid for it. it was clean, had a decent breakfast option and was close to many of Amseterdams attractions. We found everything we wanted to see within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms are on the small side but this is common in amsterdam.Don't go expecting five star and youll be fine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casey2222-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Avenue Hotel, while not in the most picturesque part of town, is easy to get to from Centraal Station - just a short walk. Staff are friendly and helpful, everyone speaks English, there's free internet access in the lobby, and breakfast is exceptionally good and plentiful. Our double room was on the small side, but clean. Note for Brits: the TV offers 3 UK BBC channels - BBC1, BBC2, and CBBC - as well as the World Service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WP&PJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. I would have thought it more a poor 2 star hotel. The facilities are very basic as we had expected but the room was dirty, had no window, was noisy at night due to the thin walls. There was no kettle in the room either. The biggest issue was the appalling quality of the breakfast - VERY little choice and the staff were most unhelpful. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel!!! Only one positive is the location but that doesn't make up for the rest i'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location, but don't approach it through the side streets at night as not all Amsterdamers are honest. Keep to the main street the Niewezijds. The staff at the hotel were helpful and pleasant. The room though small was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

just come back from a three night stay at the Avenue hotel.The room was excellent,it was small but had everything we needed for a short stay.Beds where made and towels where changed each day.All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdavelee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Avenue hotel was perfect. Very close to the main station, but was quiet enough for a good night’s sleep. Room was a bit dated (no fridge, kettle), but the bed was comfortable. Staff not the most attentive, but breakfast was very good. Overall, great value for money and we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shabba-Ranks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month, excellent value for money, rooms very clean and hotel is in a great location in central Amsterdam. Was only a 5 minute walk from central station. Staff very friendly. Will definately stay at Avenue Hotel again in future.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomtay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 374 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 374 in Amsterdam
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $163 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing