We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
542
299
97
40
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
299
97
40
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dam square great location city view suite pillow menu royal palace nespresso machine central location an upgrade front desk staff the heart of the city duty manager upgraded room walking distance highly recommend this hotel upon check checking in great room
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in and the lovely lady Francis on check in did everything she could to try and get us our rooms sooner. She was only able to get us one (we had two booked) which was fine and informed us that both rooms had been upgraded to a superior rooms. The room was newly refurbished, clean and bright. The bed was the biggest bed I had ever seen! Automatic closing curtains, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, dressing gowns, slippers, all toiletries you could imagine. The room was great! You could even select your own pillows (free of charge) if you preferred firmer/softer etc pillows. We heard very little noise throughout our stay and was able to adjust the temperature of the room so it was always comfortable. He bathroom was lovely, with a very powerful shower that came from above (like a waterfall). There was a plug in the bathroom with, a hairdryer, shower cap etc. The only negative was the TV. Not sure if it was just a fault with ours, but every so often it would freeze, go blank and then come back on. But we didn’t spend enough time in the room for it to bother us. We checked in on Easter Sunday and by the time we had come back to our room on the night the hotel had left two Easter eggs on the bed for us, which was a lovely touch!

The hotel could not be more ideally located! It was approx a 7-8 minute walk to central station, trams running past every few minutes, walking distance to all attractions including the Heineken Experience, Anne Frank’s house, the red light district etc. We didn’t use any form of public transport as it was so easy to walk everywhere! Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NWills_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissotelamsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Gobbo1982,

On behalf of Francis, and the entire team at Swissôtel Amsterdam, I thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing these kind words with us. I am truly pleased to read that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us and appreciate your generous compliments regarding the beautiful room and superb location. I am happy to read you would recommend us and sincerely look forward to your hopeful return.

Warm regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We were in suite 515 with a lovely view of the square. The room was lovely and clean with lots of room. The location was great - it was near shopping, restaurants, nightlife, transport and within walking distance to centraal station.

The bed was so comfortable, one of the most comfortable I have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and approachable.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kimkw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissotelamsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Kim W,

Thank you for your warm and positive comments regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Amsterdam. We couldn’t be more proud to read that our beds were one of the most comfortable you’ve ever stayed in! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Located on Dam square, this Hotel is an ideal base for exploting central Amsterdam and that's it's best point. Whilst it It tries hard to be a high-class hotel, with very welcoming staff and plush decor, there is just something alomst indefinable missing. Maybe it was the two single beds pushed together to make an uncomfortable double - or the rather strange final bill on which a whole bunch of minibar items mysteriously appeared then rapidly disappeared when questioned, good job I noticed!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Sail1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissotelamsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Sail1960,

Thank you for your feedback and for pointing out our ideal location in the center of vibrant Amsterdam. It saddens me to read that we did not fully meet your expectations and I sincerely apologize for the mini bar items that were wrongly placed on your bill. This should certainly not have happened and your comment has been shared with our Front Office Manager for further investigation. We hope this will not stop you from visiting us again.

Warm regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

The location was superb. The front desk staff were excellent especially Reshan. But all the staff were!
The room was clean and spacious and the bed one of the best hotel beds I ever slept on.
Can recommend the hotel any day.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank 221johannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissotelamsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Johann K,

On behalf of Reshan, and the entire team at Swissôtel Amsterdam, I thank you for your wonderful feedback and for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon for another night in our super comfortable beds!

Warm regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Lovely rooms, great ambience. Staff was helpful on guiding us to places. Breakfast was delicious. Close to city centre. Tea and coffee nespresso machine in the room. Thumbs up overall. Will surely be back again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jckbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissotelamsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear sir/madam,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us and sincerely appreciate your positive comments regarding our helpful staff, great ambience, delicious breakfast and lovely rooms with Nespresso machine! We very much look forward to your return.
Warm regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews