We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mozart Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Keizershof(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Seven one Seven(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,414)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
229
491
393
146
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
491
393
146
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hostelnightclub downstairsfree breakfastbed dormprivate bathroomthe red light districtyogurtcentral locationvan gogh museumtram stopbasementheinekenleidsepleinnightlifedam
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location. Very close to plenty stores, restaurants, souvenir shops, coffee shops (canabbis) and close to a tram stop. Room is a bit spacious for a 6bed room. Toilet inside the room was not properly cleaned though but not disgusting. Reception is remarkably always busy. Breakfast is good. Value for your money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank DianePapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, Diane!
For any questions, you can always come to the bar staff, they're happy to help as well! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed here before an early train commute and slept all of thirty minutes.. our room smelled like smoke because we haves the courtyard where everyone smoked and the previous reviews about the loud alarmed doors is correct. You really hear everything and every door that opens. If we were going to be up super late partying and could sleep in though it wouldn’t have been as terrible.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, Meg!
The door system is simply a safety precaution, if closed properly, there is no sound. For noise complaints, pop by the front desk so a staff member can sort it out and you can get some sleep- if you're a very light sleeper, we also give out earplugs at the front desk! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great place with amazing and kind stuff, near centre, where you can have breakfast in the morning and great party time at night! and decor and posters inside are great too! :) p.s. they have funny way announcing happy hour in hostel's bar :D

Stayed: November 2017
Thank 704Mica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks!
Keep us in mind for your next Amsterdam trip, happy hour awaits! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went here with my class for a school trip. When we first arrived the entire room smelled like a mix of sewer and chlorine. The smell never went away and we had to have our window open at all times. The doors were so incredibly loud, and if anyone on the same floor came home late the entire floor woke up. The doors had a weird alarm set on to them so if you held on to the handle for more than 2 seconds it went off - loudly. Our sheets as well had weird brownish spots on them and at first we didn’t care until a few nights later when we discovered a mouse - the spots were mouse drops. We went to the reception and they didn’t seem too bothered with this disgusting issue. When I showed them a picture of my sheets they looked at me and said: we don’t ever change those kind of sheets. We had apparently been sleeping on dirty sheets for multiple nights. We did receive new sheets however these had spots on them too (hopefully not mouse droppings as well!!!). As well the bathroom was dirty - it looked as if it had never been cleaned and was rusty all over - our water tap could never fully close so a dripping noise was present at all times. When you were to take a shower the water went all over the floor because there wasn’t anything to help stop the water.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank denrejsendefradk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review!
We provide every guest with fresh sheets, towels and bedding. These are kept in your locker, neatly folded for you to put on your bed. If you noticed these spots after a few days, it seems unlikely that they were already stained. That being said, thank you for letting a staff member know about this issue, and we hope that it was solved quickly as soon as it was brought to their attention. Our staff cleans all rooms, bathrooms and common areas daily, we're sorry to not have met your expectations. We hope that you and your classmates had a fun time in Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Rooms and bathroom were clean and beds were new, the bar was very good with a great atmosphere, food was served to which tasted good. Staff were nice and the reception offered loads of local knowledge

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for your review, Amber!
There's always more to see and do in Amsterdam, so come visit us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews