We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the hotel we will stay at EVERY time we visit Amsterdam!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #102 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This is the hotel we will stay at EVERY time we visit Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We recently got back from a lovely trip in Amsterdam with our family. My boyfriend, his Dad, my grandma and I all stayed at Hotel Zandbergen for nine nights. Originally we were planning to stay in Amsterdam for only four nights and the rest was going to be in Germany so we could enjoy the Christmas Markets. Well, on the second night we asked Hank if we could move to a lower floor because the steep stairs were very difficult for my grandma (no elevators). Hank gave us an offer we couldn't refuse. He showed us an apartment that was two stories and approximately 1600 sq. ft. This place was amazing! We loved the apartment so much that we extended our stay five more days. Instead of staying in Germany, Hank suggested we rent a car (gave us all of the information and prices) and take a drive to Germany for the day. That's just what we did. The rental car ended up being much less than train tickets and the drive was beautiful. Hank also suggested Brugge, Belgium so we visited there one day. Those two days were probably the best two days that we had the entire trip.

Additional Info: The breakfast consists of cold cuts, delicious fresh croissants and hard rolls, juice, cereal, fruit, coffee and tea. If is included with the price of the hotel. Whenever we were looking for something to do Hank was always offering terrific suggestions. He helped us with a car rental, with the parking, tram information, with where to visit in the city as well as outside of the city. Without Hank, we would have missed several wonderful places.

Overall we truly enjoyed our vacation thanks to Hank. The day we left he brought my grandma and I Holland shoe ornaments and even emailed us the next day and thanked us. If you enjoy exceptional service and a great location, choose Hotel Zandbergen.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnchoredAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    277
    72
    28
    18
See reviews for
143
324
141
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in Nov 2011. Our apartment was well equipped with an attached kitchen with all amenities, living space with sofa-set, center table, book-shelf with audio system, dining/working table, comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom with a bath-tub.

The strongest point of this hotel was their staff who were very friendly and helpful. On one occasion, when we were trying to book train tickets on-line and the website was not accepting non-European credit cards, one of the staff gladly booked the tickets for us using her own funds. (Of course we did reimburse her in cash).

As the hotel did not have elevators, all our heavy luggage was carried through the stairs by the hotel staff, which I think is not too common in Europe.

The location of the hotel is in a quiet and peaceful locality with tram stops within close vicinity and cabs available just round the corner.

The owner, Mr Henk and his wonderful staff do deserve a round of applause for their effort to keep their guests comfortable and happy. We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Apartments are simply wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is a little far out but the number 2 tram stops almost right outside of the door within 5 minutes of the Leidseplein. Friendly staff and free internet. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunny49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel Zandbergen is away from the busiest part of Amsterdam in a quiet and leafy part of town. The disadvantage of this is that either a tram ride or a 20-30 minute walk was required to get to the canals and many of the sites. The advantages were avoiding the crowds and a quiet nights sleep! Henk deserves a round of applause for the fantastic service he provides at Hotel Zandbergen. He went out of his way to ensure I was happy and comfortable and even presented me with a small gift on departure. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Two small gripes; the single bed linen didn't really fit the king single bed and the room was really quite warm overnight with no means to control the temperature apart from opening the window. The breakfast was generous and offered variety. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces NM USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this small hotel. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location in a quiet residential area across from Vondelpark could not have been better. The number 2 tram
provided great access or connections to all areas we wanted to see as well as transport to and from the train station. We purchased Van Gogh Museum tickets from Henk, who was most charming and helpful. We skipped the tram and enjoyed a pleasant walk back to the Zandenberg after our museum visit. Breakfast was good each morning and served in a very pleasant and cheerful room. Our room, although small, was comfortable. Our stay in Amsterdam was greatly enhanced by such a pleasant experience at the Hotel Zandenberg.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I booked this hotel for a pre-river cruise stay. We stayed two nights. Two couples in two rooms and from the start the hotel staff was accommodating.
One couple appreciated a ground floor room and the hotel staff was quick to reserve the one room available for them. It was narrow but had all good space for a short stay. All rooms, and the hotel, were very clean and well stocked.
We, the other party had a room, down a steep flight of stairs. Tho' our room was basement level we had a walk out back door into the garden. The room was narrow but comfortable and the bathroom was not small and well equipped.
This hotel is well located within a short walk to a wonderful cheese shop (around the corner after you turn right out the door) and local coffee shops and restaurants. You feel you are in the locals Amsterdam and can easily walk to wonderful options. Trolley #2 is just outside and that takes you to all the major sites.
Lastly, the staff is WONDERFUL. They are so helpful in answering your every inquiry.
Highly recommend this hotel for a locally owned and quality stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hotel is situated in a great area of Amsterdam that is considered to be quite posh, however it is a little further away from where all of the nightlife is. We liked this. Having said that, the hotel is very close to Vondelpark, a wonderful park and the main museums. It is also quite close to a tram stop that will get you into the centre of town quite easily. Our room was quite comfortable and very clean, however decor is looking a bit tired. Bathroom was also very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they would help us organise activities and knew how to hook us up with good deals. Just be aware that there is no lift in this hotel and the stairs are very steep so not great for people who have walking disabilities. Free wi-fi provided, breakfast buffet fairly standard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_In_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#84 of 368 in Amsterdam
932 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,220 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#158 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Property: Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing