We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trianon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trianon Hotel
Ranked #357 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stinky hostel with tiny rooms and unhelpful staff!
The best thing here is location but don't hesitate to spend few more euros and sleep in at least medium conditions. One of our friend found a little bit more expensive clean and nice single room in this area - bigger than a room for 4 people in Trianon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    76
    170
    135
    343
See reviews for
62
232
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtongrange
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have enjoyed the trip to Amsterdam. The hotel was in good location - close to the nearest tram. Food ok- it was a choice - toats, rolls, cheese and ham (get up early for breakfast if you want to have a choice - as they do not replace the rolls!!!!), orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolade, jam/choco cream. Room was tiny, quiet hot - as we were on the top floor -and was really good weather. Cleanless avarage -what you can expect for the price like this. Toilets need refub. We didn't see any bedbugs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tw0Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My boyfriend and i went on a quick spur of the moment trip to amsterdam the day after new years and for the first night booked a cute hotel over on the outskirts of the city. Our first night was comfortable and very good. The second night, when we booked into our second hotel, hotel trianon, i sadly cannot say the same. We walked into the lobby, which looked okay, so we were slightly pleased we werent staying in a dump. Also, we were practically across the street from the van gogh museum! But ohhhh were we in for a surprise! We got to our room, looked around, and noticed our sheets were nicely folded and made but upon closer examination were completely filthy, and stained. The carpet looked like it hadnt been vacuumed in months. Half the light switches didnt work, and their was a weird smell. Oh and it gets worse. We thought to ourselves, well hey, at least we have our own bathroom. When entering the bathroom we noticed the shower was stained with dirt and urine. No one had cleaned it in god knows how long. I wouldnt step foot in the shower if someone PAID me. It was the most disgusting thing i have ever seen. I decided to spongebathe in the sink during my stay. Our bed, we decided to put a fleece blanket over it and use coats and hoodies as covers. I walked around in the room with my shoes because it was just that dirty. And im not the cleanest person either but it was THAT bad. We didnt even bother with the breakfast after seeing the room LOL. Regardless, we spent most our time exploring the city and thank god for that! Upon checkout some guy also checking out said someone stole a macbook from the room. Everyone staying there was extremely unhappy by the looks of it. Seriously, spare yourself the aggravation and trouble. Dont ruin your trip by staying here. Spend the extra 30 euro to stay somewhere decent. I am honestly surprised we didnt find a dead body under our mattress. As for bed bugs, i have a few mysterious bites so thank god i didnt sleep under the blankets there.
The guy who owns this place is obviously a crook and doesnt care about peoples well being. Just go somewhere else. I highly advise it lol

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

DUNDRUM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before booking although the web sites details seemed ok. This place is in need of a complete re- furb / re-decoration /re-fit etc .The rooms are mini-skule , my wife & i are not big people but couldnt pass between the beds . Bathroom--the basin was cracked & there wasnt a ext. fan ,on the positive side the water was hot . The walls in the bedroom are very thin ,no sundproofing at all , we could almost make out our neighbours conversations . On one occasion we couldnt get to sleep with the noise from the next bedroom & had to report to reception which helped a bit .Breakfast is basic but adequate , a choice of cornflakes or fruit salad , sliced cheese or ham , bread rolls or sliced loaf ,tea or cofee from a machine.Those photos most have been taken years ago when the carpets and furnishings were new as they are now tatty , dirty and worn , with a strange smell about the place .The staircase is very narrow ,you can only go up or down one at a time I dread to think what would be the outcome in the event of a fire , i didnt see a fire escape.! This was our first visit to Amsterdam which we did enjoy but if we ever return it certainly wont be to this ''hotel' '

Room Tip: We were in room 307 . there was very little noise from outside the hotel but the same cant be said f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed in a twin room in this hostel. The rate & location is really great . the room is clean and smoking is available even we stayed on the restricted floor :D which is what we need.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huseyin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Not much more than a shared room with in room shower/bathroom.

Friendly front desk people, but there is no chill area, bar, no smoking area, so I prefer other places.

This is a short tram from central station, which makes walking around t night difficult.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed there in Sept 2011, whilst travelling solo for 3 nights, i can only say you get what you paid for. Unfortunately for me, i was staying in room 405, on the top floor, sharing with 7 other people. Not so bad, but the 1 window which opened in the room, measuring 1 foot square, was all the ventilation we had, The balcony door was locked & no amount of pleading with the rather unhelpful staff would get them to open it, citing it was to dangerous. Dangerous was 8 people on the top floor with no working fire alarm & no other way out of the room had there been a fire, plus they seemed to have placed a ladder "STAIRCASE" in the middle of the room which was the most dangerous thing in there. If you go stay clear of room 405

Room Tip: Unfortunately you get no choice whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#262 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#256 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Hotel

Property: Trianon Hotel
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trianon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trianon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing