We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunhead of 1617
Nearby Hotels
US$295
US$242
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$416
US$352
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$268
US$241
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$301
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$420
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
568
76
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
76
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 657 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2006

Carlos is a spectacular host in this lovely B&B on the canal. Our room was more than accomodating with comfy beds and fresh flowers, the bathroom was sparkling with all the necessities and plush towels. Breakfasts were to die for!!! Carlos is an excellent chef and very helpful with "where to go" & directions around the city. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gentilessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We have just returned from a week stay in Amsterdam at the Sunhead apartments. We were there for a marine trade show so the appeal of an apartment with more privacy and less hype was appealing. There was 4 of us so the cost became very reaonable over going to a hotel. We stayed at the 17 Wolvenstraat which is a 2 bedroom apartment all by itself -and it was on a quiet streeet but near all the fun and easy walking distance to everything we needed. We purchased some groceries so that we could have breakfast before the show and wine beer snacks after the show. This really helped save on the price of fancy meals too. The accomodations were easy to make and the manager was very responsive and helpful. Many of their smaller units have breakfast included but are a few blocks away from where we were

Thank BGal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2006

Have just returned from a lovely 3 days in Amsterdam. I would recommend the Sunhead B&B to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

We stayed in the Red room whilst friends of ours had the Yellow room. The Red room has a lovely view of the herengracht canal and both rooms are beautifully decorated in an old style, which really gives a lovely feeling of how Amsterdam would have been. The location is great, really quiet but still within walking distance of all attractions and museums.

Breakfast was lovely, worth getting up for even at 9.30. Lots of fruit, bread, ham and cheese etc... set us up perfectly for a long day of exploring.

If we return to Amsterdam then I would return here with no hesitation.

Thank Cherjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2006

We are great fans of Amsterdam and had a wonderful two days seeing only one museum (the Van Gogh) and spending the rest of the time just getting deliberately lost, and wandering the endless beautiful little streets and alleyways, marvelling at the never-ending stream of cyclists etc etc.

As to the Sunhead, would thoroughly recommend them to anyone who wants to stay somewhere very individual with very friendly and helpful hosts.

We stayed in one of the apartments which was beautifully and tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. The location is great - right on the Herengracht canal and handy for transport etc. We didn't get to sample the breakfast (too many late nights!) but it looked very good. Only slight drawbacks for us were personal: ie that the rooms were non-smoking (our fault, we should have checked) and - for anyone looking to have a loud raucous time in Amsterdam - this is definitely not the place as it's very quiet and tranquil and they actively discourage you from any kind of partying in the rooms (which was fine for us, but just worth noting). The owners were extremely friendly, nice guys and overall would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants a traditional and lovely restful B and B with a quirky decorative twist.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HackneyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2006

We had a really good weekend break in the yellow room. Location is excellent - within walking distance of everywhere while being peaceful and on the canals.
Room was good - individual, very yellow and fairly spacious with adequate bathroom facilities.
Breakfast was homely and good quality - nice fresh bread, cheese, fruit and yoghurt.
Some may be troubled by the dark, steep staircases without handrails but this wasn't a problem to us.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank CM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews