We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of 't Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
't Hotel
Ranked #149 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
“great hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We were here for 4 nights in June. The staff was so helpful. Breakfast was great. Place was clean. Kids had a loft in our room which was really fun for them. Had a refrigerator which was an unexpected plus. Also, our room had AC....although we didn't need it, that was one of our reasons for booking this room. We emailed the 't Hotel when we got back to the US b/c we had left an electric cord there to one of our electronics. They had found a cord and offered (and did) mail it back to us! Amazing service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    88
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
112
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Unfortunately due to a reservation mix-up that was beyond the control of the hotel staff, I had lost my reservation and was in need of another hotel room when I arrived at 't Hotel. The staff could not have been nicer about the problem. The manager called a nearby hotel, arranged a room, and even drove me to the new hotel!

I wish I could have stayed at 't Hotel for my night in Amsterdam, the hotel was lovely and staff beyond expectations in terms of hospitality. Next time I am in town, I will stay at 't Hotel for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here with family visiting as part of our travels, we had 2 rooms side by side and they were both very nice. The staff is very helpful in all that they do, they will tell you about where to eat, are more than happy to assist you with museum recommendations. Breakfast is included in your stay and is in a separate part of the hotel. Only warning is that this hotel has very very steep stairs, so if you are unable to walk up stairs this is not the place for you. They do have a handicap lift though.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank P0LL0RIC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed 4 nights at t' hotel in May 2011 with my partner.

THE GOOD:
Location - Close enough to the action (10-15 minute walk to the Royal Palace / Dam Square) but far enough out to be relatively quiet.

Rooms - Nice rooms overall, somewhat small (even compared to our hotels in Bruges, Brussels and Boullion, and especially compared to North American Hotels), but clean and reasonably appointed. Our rear-view room had a nice view of a courtyard/garden of a few neighboring buildings. Bed was a queen size and quite comfortable.
The bathroom (at least in our "garden view" room) looked recently updated, but had a shower setup that seemed to encourage spraying water all over the place (hand-shower, no shower-curtain). As a Canadian I'm not sure if this is standard, or odd for European accommodations, although I didn't see it again on our trip through Belgium.

Breakfast - Good choice of fruits, breads, cheese, some meat, yogurt, cereals. No warm options (other than toast I suppose) but that's expected.

Service - Very warm and helpful staff (owners?). Only "problem" I could see coming up (and it happened to a couple other visitors during our stay) is that they lock the "day door" at odd times, I guess when they need to leave the front desk, leaving you unable to access your room if you don't have a key for the night door (ex - run out for a minute and leave the key with someone in your room).

WiFi - Quick, free wifi connection.


THE BAD:

Staircase - Not really a negative, but something you need to be aware of - stairs are VERY steep and narrow. They do however have a power-lift chair, but I have no idea of the speed/hassle of using it if you need to.

The Safe : Kind of a silly thing for some people, but the complimentary "safe" in the room (a small digital-locking one with simple instructions) is only secured with 2 small screws to a particle-board shelf in the wardrobe. I'd recommend NOT using the safe, as it's an obvious target and would be very easy for any thief to remove from it's location and break open off-site. Most chain hotels secure their safes with large lag screw through concrete walls, or at least directly into wall studs.

Power outlets : Another minor issue - only 1 "open" power outlet in our room, (or None if you have the fan plugged in) making it inconvenient to plug in laptop charger, etc where I'd like it. Glad I brought a small North American power bar instead of multiple converters.

Room Tip: Garden View - cheaper, quieter, good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FruitbatNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed at 't Hotel for 3 nights in mid-April. The location and neighbourhood are wonderful - typical Amsterdam. The steep stairs are a challenge but part of the experience of staying in a true Canal House. The room was clean but basic, in Ireland it would be more B+B style than 3 star. Duvet covers were past sell-by date - rather grey! Breakfast was plentiful and very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Brilliant location for touring all aspects of Amsterdam especially by bicycle!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 955maryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This place is perfectly located in walking distance to just about everything and in a very cute both locals and tourists area, right on a canal. The staff were extremely helpful, by giving us directions everywhere, booking us a taxi, carrying our heavy bags up the two flights of steps for us, and preparing a breakfast for us when our flight left super early. The breakfast was a typical European breakfast with a very decent spread of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, and fruit juices. The rooms are large and comfortable (we had a double with a bath and shower), but very plain. It feels like a bit high of a cost for such a simple room with very few amenities. But we very much enjoyed the location and the staff, which is worth a lot to us. And the bed was two twins pushed together, so it was large. Definitely check out the Anne Frank House around the corner. And lots of great restaurants along the canals that the staff will help guide you (we also used Frommer's which was quite good).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFgirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2011. The hotel is in a great location....close to Westerkerk, Dam Square and Jordaan but in a quiet neighborhood that's a respite from the hustle and bustle. Our room was on the first floor overlooking a small courtyard. We had no problems with noise. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We only had a shower (no bathtub) but the bathroom was spotless. The free Wi-fi was very much appreciated.

Breakfast (in the basement accessed from outside) was more than adequate....breads, cheeses, lunchmeats, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, fruits and yogurts.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The only downside to the hotel is the steep stairways. Although there is a stairlift to the first level of rooms, the stairway leading to the breakfast room might be challenging for anyone with mobility issues. Even so, I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temuskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#175 of 368 in Amsterdam
439 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,932 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 368 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Property: 't Hotel
Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing