We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #125 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Second Stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.
The only difference between this stay and the last was that my room seemed slightly smaller but not much and this time there was no bathrobe or slippers provided ( no great hardship but I thought that was a nice touch ). Apart from that my original revue ( see below ) still stands
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d275406-r30069314-NH_Amsterdam_Centre-Amsterdam_Noord_Holland.html

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    1,051
    385
    130
    78
See reviews for
325
1,036
127
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Upscale 4 star hotel next to Leidespelin Square were all the action is. Rooms well appointed, clean and up to date. Front desk staff, some were very, very nice and others not so much. Rather expensive, try Priceline.com, city center area, and we got it for $75 a night. They may not put you in the best room because of it, but who is ever in their room much in Europe.
Room was very, very nice. Had an issue with the wind throught the window and making a sound in the vent at night. Put a towel in the window and closed it to stop the noise. Free Wifi in the lobby only. Would stay here again for the location and restaurants and nightlife, but only at the price we got it for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poggio Moiano, Lazio, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We wanted to thank the personnel of the hotel NH Amsterdam Centre Stadhouderskade 7, Amsterdam 1054 ESs for the help that you have given us the comfort and the patience that have had with us. A thanks special it goes to Stefania Fucci that she works in the kitchen and to Ferdinand the barman...! A thanks also to the manager! An embrace dall' Italy Samantha and Danila.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank Danila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were at this hotel for New Years and were not able to locate the hotel right away because the sign is so small. We saw the Marriot sign first thing and didn't notice the sign for this hotel at all. The hotel is right across the street from the Marriot. Check in was good. WIFI is not free in room but it is free in lobby and they do have a business computer. You are also able to print your boarding pass for free which is a plus. The room was just okay but the shower is awesome. Love the shower!!! The TV is an old tube TV and the bed was not very comfortable for me but okay for my husband. The towels in the bathroom are great, big and soft. We had a view of Leids Square from our room which is nice. The hotel is walking distance to city center, musems, heneiken brewery, flower market, Ann Frank Haus and several other sights. We took the tram but you can walk to these locations from the hotel. The Tram is so close and easy to use. 7,00 EURO for a 24 hour pass. The service at the hotel was wonderful. We asked for restaurant suggestions for New Years Eve and the Night Manager went above and beyond to find a place for us to eat. Most places are closed in Amsterdam for New Years Eve and she called around till she found something for us. I would recommend this hotel due to the location and the service.

Room Tip: The room facing Leids Square does have a beaming light that does not turn off at night. The rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Traverlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Let me start by stating that we got this place for around $75USD/night on a well known hotel bidding site and pricing will change your view of things :-) We found the room to be adequate and the bathroom to be much better. The bed wasn't as comfortable as we would have liked, but for $75/night you can appreaciate it. The hotel location couldn't have been better as we were a quick stroll to the square, easy breezy access to trains/trams/buses and tons of food. We would stay here again for sure. You can't beat the value.

Room Tip: Go with the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delaneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane wa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Fine business class hotel located just across the canal from the Leidseplein entertainment district. 5 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum, 7 to the Van Gogh, and 10 to the Concertgebouw. Polite and helpful staff. Rooms are on the smallish side, but nicely appointed and comfortable. Nice decor and comfortable beds. Bathroom was also smallish with no tub, but a large walk-in shower with a double shower head (pretty weak water pressure). There is only a single elevator to take you to your rooms and its room key card reader allowing access is pretty old and takes several attempts to read. Easy access to and from the central train station as the #1 tram stops right in front of the hotel. The Blue Boat canal cruise dock is only a couple of minutes down the block.

Nothing special, but pleasant. You won't be overwhelmed nor disappointed.

Room Tip: $77 bucks per night on Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Hotel is located on the best possible location in Amsterdam, 15 min walking distance to "everything" (Dam square, Rembrandt, shopping areas...) and well connected with public transport. Unfortunatelly, this is one of those hotels where everything is OK, but nothing is exceptional - something is still missing to make it place to love it... Hotel service is not as expected, and staff make a little bit "cold" atmosphere. Rooms are generally OK, but I don't understand that they din not change TV during renovation of the rooms!? Wireless is free only in the lobby but they allow maximum of 8 users at time so very hard to connect during breakfast. Breakfast is nothing more than average. I stayed during exhibition and paid high rate of 200€/night - in regular time this hotel definitely is not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doktor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#111 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing