We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
76
118
58
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
118
58
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews offer free breakfast round the clock anne frank house bed room tram station dam square min walk lockers backpackers jordaan bunk earplugs europe
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 297 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Egen (gedeelt met mooie mensen) huis in de Jordaan Amsterdam.... Great feeling. Not the most practical as far as comfort, but a very pleasant stay with always something new to learn and share. kind service based mainly on volunteers. I always feel welcome whenever I come here. I have been coming again since2015.

Two things bother me, one of them maybe not possible to change
1/ It is an old building and a lot of the space goes on the showers while the dorms are Very small.....
2/ Nice breakfast is included but it is a breakfast for 12 to 20 years old. I would love to see a better quality grain bread & croissants and MUCH less frying with much less (but better) oil....

Room Tip: in my opinion the 18 bed dorm is better than the tiny 4/5/and 8 dorms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dvhilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

The hostel is in a great centraal location and about five minutes walk from the tram stop or if you don't have much luggage you can walk from centraal. Basic rooms but friendly staff, clean & good value. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWOM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

I was in the Shelter hostel for one night but it was enough to know that it's a great place for staying in Amsterdam. It's very confortable and all the people there are very nice. The breakfast was really good. I will certainly repeat it f I go to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Melyssa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

The host was extremely polite, energetic and helpful. It is a bunk bed hostel so in regards to privacy and luck with the fellow roommates will be out of sheer luck. But all and all for a good price you get excellent service and free breakfast!

Room Tip: No tips to be given. Just be nice in return!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tomás F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

The staff were really nice and welcoming. I’ve stayed in other hostels before and the room was a bit too small and got a bit too hot at night. I only got the free breakfast once and there was an option of muesli and yogurt, French toast and ham cheese and bread. I got the ham and cheese and it was one slice of Ham and one slice of cheese with three slices of bread and there wasn’t anything to put in the bread which was disappointing but overall is grand for anyone spending a few days in Amsterdam

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews