We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for money”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #160 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, good value for money”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Alexander Hotel for one night in February. It was easy to find and is in a great location for visiting the museums nearby. Staff were attentive and friendly and the room was clean and tidy. The continental breakfast was fairly good with a selection of bread rolls, croissants, jams etc., meats, eggs, cereals and tea and coffee. If you're after somewhere that's comfortable and affordable then you can't go wrong with the Alexander Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed two floors up but there were rooms in what looked like a basement - maybe worth avoiding t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzzzzzzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    242
    98
    28
    14
See reviews for
103
204
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We took two rooms just for one night, as we were on a stop-over in Amsterdam. Having read previous reviews, I asked for rooms in the upper floors to make sure we were not given the ones downstairs, almost basement. Good thing we did, the rooms were two floors up, very quiet, tiny but fine for our purpose. As we were staying just for one night, we were happy to have left our luggage at the airport as there is no lift to go up to the rooms.

Bathroom was clean, shower hot, and the night staff that welcomed us that night was friendly and helpful. They recommended a good place to eat dutch dishes in the very nearby Liedseplein area (just 2 to 3 blocks away), called The Pantry. In the morning we had just a little time to walk around which the location of the hotel allowed for perfectly.

Breakfast was not included in our rate and too expensive for what I saw they offered for euro 10 per person.

All in all, a fair deal and very well located.

Room Tip: ask to be placed at least one flight up the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Alexander in January 2012 because we wished to be within easy reach of;
key museums, places to eat, tramway connections, pleasant walks and shopping.
(Trams 1, 2 and 5 from Central Station to Leidseplein and then a five minute walk)
The hotel is on a quiet street in the museum area. There's a park nearby with it's cafe.A great area to walk or ride a hired bike through towards the Van Gogh museum and beyond.
The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful in all ways, recommending good eateries etc.
They gave us early access to a room giving us time for a rest after our journey before we set off on our visits. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and a good size for the two of us.There is a lift to all floors. The buffet breakfast was sound and would suit most tastes.
A really pleasant, quiet hotel near everything that's 'Amsterdam' at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Alexander is very nice hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. My husband and I have arrived few hours earlier of check-in time and they have been keeping our belongings in a security room as long as we wanted. The same service we had on our departure day.
The location is excellent (just behind Marriott Hotel): easy to get to from the airport (bus #197), 5-7minutes from the city centre. Museums, restaurants/café area are within walking distance; the Canal Cruise Tours stop -5minutes away. The street is quite and beautiful.
Very clean warm rooms, very well ventilated, good shower (no probs with hot water).
I would recommend this hotel as a best value!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New jersey
Level Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here 3 nights with a ETBD tour. Room 28 top floor, no elevator to this floor. Room was clean, quiet with a large bathroom. We had a good view of the courtyard and the resident parrots. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel is on a quiet (for Amsterdam) sidestreet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My two friends and I stayed in a triple room in the Hotel Alexander in October. It was fantastic! Our room was lovely and the service could not have been better. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, making personal recommendations for sight-seeing, shopping, restaurants and jazz venues. The Hotel was perfectly located within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends, and we plan to go there again ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed three nights in November, booked a triple room for my husband teenage son and my self, we were put in a basement room that was very cramped and airless there was very little natural light and if you opened the window it was extremely noisy. It was more like staying in a hostel that a hotel- very bad level of service. Staff were dismissive of our complaints about the room and stated as we had booked late and you get what you pay for! We had a great time in Amsterdam and will go back but will never stay in this hotel again. It is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belfastfamily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your room. You have booked your room quite last-minute, that was the only room available and because of the room being in our Soutterain level (half basement), we offered this room for a very interesting and low rate.

During your stay we did our very best to find an alternative for you, but did not succeed unfortunately, our staff is definitely not dismissive, we have explained you the situation clearly and did our very best to help you.

Our apologies again, thank you for being understanding towards us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#128 of 367 in Amsterdam
657 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#130 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing