We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic, cosy and homely townhouse in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
House Facade Real wood fire place in living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Living Room
House Facade
Real wood fire place in living room
Living Room / Dining Area
Living Room
Dining Area / Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area / Door to Garden
Back of House Garden Area
Garden
Stairs leading from groundfloor to 1st floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Rain Shower
Bedroom 3
Ensuite Bathroom -Bedroom 3
Ensuite Bathroom -Bedroom 3
Back of the House
Garden shed in typical local style
Picture taken in our street in 1905, 2 years after completion of the houses.
Zaanse Schand - UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site - 10 minute drive from the house
The area during winter
Volendam Harbour
Beach at Bloemendaal, a 30 minute drive from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Monil P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic, cosy and homely townhouse in a perfect location”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
6
people found this review helpful

It's been only a few days back in London and I miss it already :(

I have travelled to Holland on a number of occasions, staying in hostels and hotels, and found this trip to be extra special as we made the decision to stay in this lovely townhouse. At first I was hesitant as I'm a first timer on flip key, however as soon I made the confirmation, Pelle was very responsive in helping answer questions and helped us prepare and settle when arriving.

I personally reviewed in depth many different apartments//townhouses and hotels to stay during our visit to Holland. All reviews and descriptions of this town house reflected our experience perfectly. The town house was wonderful to stay in; with the most comfortable sofas and beds, hot showers, kitchen with all working appliances, tv, strong wifi, sound system, candles, american fridge freezer, dishwater.... the list goes on. I especially liked the large windows in the living room and bedrooms as they brought in a lot of light.

The neighbours were also very friendly and willing to help. We had a warm welcome when we arrived - there was no waiting around and we settled in instantly. there were 6 of us (3 couples), this house accommodated perfectly for all of us in terms of space and privacy.

As the descriptions indicated, Zaandam is a very pleasant, quiet and safe town. The house was within walking distance from the metro which made it very easy for us to get around. There was also a grocery store and other amenities literally 3 minutes walk away. I have visited Amsterdam on a number of occasions and found this location to be a great option as it provides the best of both, the quiet peaceful town of Zaandam and the busy touristic town of Amsterdam.

Recommended for all: couples, families or friends.
We would love to visit again.

Monil and co.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for the great review Monil! Welcome back at any time! All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stunning2...
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Easy access to Amsterdam and stayed in luxury. No intrusion and Zaandam is excellent as well. We had a warm welcome. Easy access to shops and supermarkets. Good value for money. Excellent food. We found the Dutch people extremely friendly and helpful. Even the RicKshaw drivers were helpful inexpensive and informative and fun. Many thanks to Pelle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thying
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrav60
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay....”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 4 days in May and could not have been happier from the initial friendly contact to the speedy return of the deposit. All communications with Pele was fabulous, he couldn't have been anymore helpful. Arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport and Farah to meet us at the house. Farah was great too, very helpful and didn't mind when we contacted her with our difficulty in getting the washing machine to start (our fault).
The house was ideal for us with the 3 bedrooms and the 2 baths. Extremely clean and was well fitted out for our stay.
The location was ideal. 5 mins walk to the local supermarket, a small square with some great eateries and 10 mins to the train station to catch the train into Amsterdam. We loved staying away from the centre of the city.
Thanks Pele & Farah for a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The steps to the attic room but got used to them!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabicka
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property was fabulous!! There were 5 of us staying here and there was plenty of space. The area was beautiful, close to everything you needed, peaceful and safe.
The house itself was very clean and the beds, very comfortable indeed. The bathrooms are beautiful and the outside area, although needs some TLC, was pleasant as well.
I would recommend this house to anyone unless you have small children or bad knees.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and spaciousness
Liked least: the outside area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar I
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Alternative for Amsterdam stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My sister booked this place for a family of 5 a month or so ago for a one week April 2015 stay. When we arrived at the Zaandam train station, we were mesmerized by the unique architecture of the hotel just outside the station that we lost our bearing to this place despite a map we had prepared earlier. Nevertheless, people were so nice to redirect us. The townhouse is in a very quiet neighborhood and the street lined up with trees. We were greeted by the caretaker (Farah) who gave us a tour of the house and specific instructions as well as places to shop, etc. The full kitchen, washer & dryer has helped us minimize expense. It was a 5-minute walk to the grocery to stock up our food supplies for our week long stay. The house has actually 2-1/2 bath, with the 1/2 bath underneath the stairs. We were very comfortable during our entire stay and enjoyed all its amenities. We will definitely seek this place again on our next Amsterdam visit.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs, but that's Dutch architecture. Could be an issue to some.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsryan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were so pleased when we arrived at the Townhouse it was more then what we had expected. It was like a home from home, we had everything we needed, easy to get to from the airport and just the right distance from the main town. The owner has been very helpful and we plan to go back again next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loridig
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

This property is well located on a pretty street, within easy walking distance of the station. It has a quiet suburban feel, away from the bustle of central Amsterdam. We were a family group - grown up children and their partners plus one teenaged daughter. The house was able to accommodate us comfortably in terms of space, though there were 7 in our party and only 6 dining chairs and only six beds had been made up before our arrival.The stairs were typical for a Dutch row house, very steep and open sided, and would be a problem for anyone elderly or young or with mobility issues. Not really a problem for us.
Unfortunately though there were one or two glitches which spoiled our stay. Firstly we spent an anxious 15 minutes trying fruitlessly to contact the person with the key to the property on a number that did not work. A helpful cafe owner lent us their phone and wifi to double check my trip advisor account and I discovered that the number had been changed, for the second time, just the day before, after I had left my home to travel to Holland. I was very pleased in the stress of the moment that I was able to remember myTripAdviser password and discover this last minute change. When we arrived we were met by a very pleasant woman who was a little unfamiliar with the house as it was the first time she had had to greet guests on behalf of the owner who apparently lives in France. It was a very wet, cold day in February and we see all soaked from our walk from the station and eager to relax over an evening meal. I had chosen the house because one image of the living room shows logs piled next to the fireplace and was hoping to light a fire to cheer us but sadly there were no logs available that day and the fire could not be lit. The central heating had only just been switched on and the place smelt a little musty and damp. It was beautifully furnished, exactly as the photographs show, but has one or two structural issues that needed attention. This came to light as my children were choosing bedrooms and they discovered that a leak in the ceiling had drenched one of the double beds. A pillow, mattress and corner of the duvet were soaking wet. We stripped the bed and bedding and hung it over the banisters to dry as best we could . When we reported this Pele kindly offered to put us up in a hotel but it was late and we were all tired and it would have been impossible to let the remaining couple in our party, already inflight and due to arrive at 10 that evening, know about the change in plans before catching a train to zaandam from the airport.In the end we turned the bed around so that the wet area was at the foot and pulled it away from the leak. We also avoided using the electric socket that had been affected by water damage which meant that my daughter had to dry her hair etc in the living room as there wa only one power outlet in the bedroom. A maintenance guy arrived the next day. We had to wait in until 10 am or leave the property unlocked. We chose to wait for him but he said that the roof needed major work and was unable to fix it during our stay. Maybe we were just unlucky but. I imagine that this house will be much more comfortable in the summer months and so my recommendation is based on this. Another thing to point out that we had not realised is that the local supermarkets, which are close by, are either closed completely or not open until 10 a.m on Sunday mornings. We did not realise this and had amother delayed start on Sunday while we waited to buy things for our breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing