We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our entire trip”
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Hallen
Ranked #32 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Hotels are usually just nondescript places you sleep while travelling. All you expect is a quiet room, a comfy bed and hot water.

From the moment we got out of our cab the De Hallen was different. From the moment we woke up to the time we went to sleep, it reminded us we were in The Netherlands, a country known for its modern design aesthetic, and friendly, efficient people.

The building looks exactly like what it is, a converted tram shed.
The lobby area is bright and interesting. There is a lounge devoted to the colour red. There is a bar, a restaurant, and a lobby are with a long table and Dutch papers and magazines.

Our room was surprisingly quiet, as it despite being in the middle of the ground floor. The king-sized bed was very comfy, but the pillows are a bit too big. The very bright focused bedside lights were a treat. The huge, deep bath was very welcome after hours of sightseeing in the cold damp air. The shower was also large and efficient. (For American tourists who complain about the room size and plumbing in Europe's older hotels, this is the palace to stay). There was a high-end coffee maker and a large bar fridge in the room, which was convenient as we were not prepared to pay 20 euros for the hotel breakfast.

The location is a bit west of the main downtown tourist sites, in a genuine Dutch community. Ask which days there are open and indoor markets in the area, and check them out. Its about 16 euros by cab to the station or main tourist sites, or about a 20 - 30 minute walk on quiet, interesting streets. There are tram routes nearby and they front desk sells an all day pass for 7:50 euros. They also rent bicycles for about 17 euros.

The staff seemed delighted to be able to help in any way they could, and, of course, they all spoke excellent English.

The price was very reasonable.

The De Hallen sets the standard for what a modern hotel should be. We do not expect to find anywhere better in a long time.

Room Tip: We were offered a second floor room for an extra 10 euros, which they said would be quieter but we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2015

Dear JOyston,

Thank you very much for writing such a thorough review. Your feedback is highly appreciated, as we strive to improve our services every day.
It is very nice to hear you enjoyed the decor of the hotel, the hotel rooms and its very comfortable COCOmats beds, and the service of the staff. Please be advised for any future reservations you can always contact me personally at anneloes@hoteldehallen.com, and I will ensure you will get some smaller pillows so you will even enjoy a better nights rest.

Hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2015

From the moss men to the pigs with teeth - this hotel is much more than the sometimes funky, always stylish décor. Walking in to the main hotel is a "wow" moment, and the service was efficient and friendly at all times.

It would have been good at time of booking to have known to consider booking the restaurant next door - Meat West - as it looked amazing and was fully booked while we were there. We were gutted not to be able to try it. Hopefully this feedback may save a few others from the same disappointment :) (this was not hotel's fault whatsoever I just want to get it out there to save others from similar disappointment).

There is also an amazing food market next door. Great place for foodies!!

The breakfast in the hotel was a bit pricey but it was good. It is worth walking towards Amsterdam main part, as there are so many lovely cafes on the way. The Breakfast club over the road is lush with HUGE portions of scrambled eggs and divine coffee - but be warned, they don't toast the bread which is such a shame.

My only few niggles about the hotel itself would be that when sharing a room with a friend - depending on the angle you stand at the bedroom and bathroom are visible to each other via an open section of the wall where the bathroom mirror is, so you need to be a little careful to maintain your dignity.
Also, the pillows were HUGE and not comfy to sleep on. If I went again I would ask for smaller ones but I was so tired by the end of each night and it was so late I did not ask - I am sure they would have happily helped had I asked.

These are very small niggle however, and I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone who wants to stay somewhere stylish, clean and in a trendy area with loads of great food and interior design shops nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angelcakesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Dear Angelcakesontour,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel De Hallen!

I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed the suroundings of the hotel. You are right, we also provide smaller pillows. Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy to learn from this.

Many thanks for your stay with us, we look forward to welcome you back in town on a next occasion!

Warm regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Hotel de Hallen is a relatively new hotel - the Hallen (Hall) is a converted tram shed, as are its neighbouring buildings, and this can be seen by old tram tracks running up to the front doors!

The hotel is on two floors (three if you include the junior suite). We had a deluxe room for 4 nights, which was did not cost much more than a standard. The rooms upstairs have natural daylight, whereas from what we could see, the downstairs rooms looked inwards to the main corridor.
The room was very spacious with an excellent shower, comfortable bed and a good night's sleep. Air conditioning works fine and the room is equipped with the standard features as expected. The room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it this way.
Wifi is free and fast. The TV had several English channels.
The only part of our room that didn't work was the mini-bar. The staff apologised and said that they were aware of some issues with the fridges. An ice bucket was promptly sent to us.

The staff really make this hotel excellent. On check-in, we were several hours early. We expected to dump our suitcase and go for a walk, but the receptionist was able to find a room for us immediately. They provide you with a city map which was better than any we'd seen elsewhere - all the major tourist attractions and tram routes were shown.
The staff are also happy to help you with directions, plan your day or book advanced/reserved tickets for attractions for you. They are able to do this very quickly and do not charge extra for this.

The hotel itself is located in an area that looks like it is undergoing regeneration. For Londoners, think like a not-as-pretentious, upcoming Shoreditch - just outside the city centre, and a little trendy.
You can be in the centre of town in about 15-20 mins walk, and there are two tram lines very nearby. Reception staff have a stock of 24h tram tickets (just under 8 Eur) which saves you buying them on the tram iteslf.

In the other halls next to the hotel, there is a restaurant, bistro and a kind of inside 'market' (although much smarter) selling various different snacks and treats.
You are also in Jordaan, where you can find several cheaper restaurants aimed more at locals (e.g. see our review or Kartika)

The only slight disappointment was that on the Wednesday (7th Jan), we came back to the room after a very tiring day of sightseeing, looking for a quick rest before going out to dinner. There seemed to be some sort of corporate event occurring in the main hall downstairs. Whilst a little noisy chatter and drinks would have been ok, there then seemed to be a speech (over loudspeaker) followed by loud music. Unfortunately the sound carried into the room substantially and we were not able to rest. By the time we returned from dinner, most of the people had left, so it did not spoil our night's sleep. However we would have expected such events to take place elsewhere, away from the guests' rooms.

Despite this, it should not detract from an otherwise excellent hotel, which we would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Deluxe is often the same price or only a little more than standard. Try to get a room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

Dear Woble,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel De Hallen!

I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed the architecture of the tramdepot. We just opened 8 months and we are really proud that your enjoyed our Hotel so much. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Many thanks for your stay with us, we look forward to welcome you back in town on a next occasion!

Warm regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

When we first checked in we were welcomed by the staff. Was a little lost and had trouble finding it at first. We had a room on the first floor and it was nice. The noise wasn't to bad and size of the room was perfect. I was visiting with my partner for my birthday and they had a nice hand written card in the room. There is a market food court in the same building that is amazing. We did the breakfast buffet the first morning cause it was quick, easy, and a bit pricy.

The hotel it self is very hip and trendy. It's actually an old tram station that they converted the hotel into. Very close to the 7 & 17 tram. The 17 you can take to and from Central Station. The staff is more then helpful and the room was really clean. I would highly suggest this to my family and friends. Thank you hotel de hallen for your amazing hospitality.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2015

Dear Elena,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel De Hallen. . I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed the friendliness & attentiveness of our staff members.

Thank you for recommending Hotel De Hallen. Hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

We were moved here from another Hotel that overbooked and we felt like we were winners all week! Hotel is very modern but full of character being an old tram station. Staff were very friendly and even have us a history of the building and our room on arrival.
The location is perfect! You don't want to stay bang smack in the middle of town (unless you like the seedy side of the city...). Hotel de Hallen is a 2 min walk from a street with some of the best local restaurants in the city (Moeders, Fier, etc) and 2 min walk from some of the city's best coffee (lot sixty one...). It is a 10 min walk to museum district and also the famous 9 streets, trendy shopping district. Next door is also the Foodhallen which is excellent! (New food hall where local foodies meet)
If I even get a chance to come back to Amsterdam I will definitely be trying to stay here again. Worth every cent.
Stay at this hotel.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2015

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel De Hallen. I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of Hotel De Hallen, the hotel is situated in the most upcoming area of Amsterdam with lot of nice restaurants and bars.

Thank you for recommending Hotel the Hallen. Hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My boyfriend & I recently stayed at Hotel De Hallen in Amsterdam for a surprise birthday & NYE trip. Having never been to the city, I did a fair bit of online research to try & get a good feel for a place. After reading reviews, looking at their Facebook page as well as Instagram (to see what others were saying & pictures they were snapping) I decided to book in for 4 nights.

I can honestly say the hotel lived up to all of my expectations. The service was incredibly friendly and they were all very friendly. The room was as described - modern, with touches of luxury everywhere. Just right for a city break.

My partner & I love to explore places. Instead of doing the usual tourist thing, we like to feel like we're really experiencing a place. The fact that the hotel wasn't dead centre was ideal and shouldn't put anyone off. If you're looking for tons of tourists, generic shops, McDonalds, Burger King & Starbucks - this isn't the place for you. Apart from the one day we cycled everywhere, we mostly walked. The hotel is a short walk to the 9 streets (with fabulous boutique shops and cafes), the musuems, and anything else you could want. If you don't feel like walking, there are plenty of trams and buses two minutes from the hotel.

What stood out above everything, however, was the overall atmosphere and environment of the hotel and it's location. Just directly behind the hotel, there is a lovely food hall which we could have quiet happily have eaten all three meals in. It had a lively vibe, with plenty of choice for cuisine and chilled bars. Perfect for when you've got an hour to kill. Very trendy & middle class, but in no way pretentious. There were plenty of families with kids, as well as young couples. In the same building, there is a great indie cinema, a cool bar, and great seats. Small but perfect for a lazy New Years day, or if it's raining and you just can't be bothered to do much else. English films as well as Dutch, so no need to worry.

Also just outside of the hotel is the fabulous Lot Sixty One coffee. If you need your morning flat white fix - don't miss it.

The hotel was a perfect base for relaxing and chilling out before we would go out at night, after we had been out all day. It wasn't the typical type of hotel where you just sit in your room and kill time before dinner. The entire hotel is an open planned, social/work/relaxing environment. Nobody bothers you, except to ask if you want anything to drink.

I really can't recommend it enough.
The next time we go back to Amsterdam - perhaps in Summer - we'll definitely be staying here.

Tiffany

Room Tip: As I was surprising my boyfriend with the whole trip, I did want a room with a better view. But nobo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Dear Tiffany,

Thank you so much for writing your thorough four dotted review about your recent stay in Amsterdam in our hotel.
It is wonderful to read you have had such a good experience in this part of the lovely city.
For any future reservations, you can always contact me personally at anneloes@hoteldehallen.com. I hope we can improve even more so your next stay will be a 5 dot experience!

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

My partner and I stayed here for four nights over New Year's Eve. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is very modern within an old building and its decor and furnishings reflect this. Staff were great - welcoming, friendly, chatty and professional. New Years Eve was fun with an excellent meal and a great bar! Thank you to the cocktail wizard (you know who you are!) Reception were able to book tickets to all the main attractions which made the trip even better. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 66cookie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, General Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2015

Dear Cookie,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel De Hallen during the New Year!

I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed the friendliness & attentiveness of our staff members. The cocktail wizard is very happy to read his name :)

Many thanks for your stay with us, we look forward to welcome you back in town on a next occasion!

Warm regards,
Mark Timo Jansen – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,392 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,154 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 376 in Amsterdam
527 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $168 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing