We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Body Worlds

Body Worlds
Ranked #48 of 633 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Gunther von Hagens’ BODY WORLDS: The Happiness Project in the heart of Amsterdam tells the amazing story of our own body and the impact of happiness on our health. More than 200 anatomical specimens of real human bodies show the complexity, resilience and vulnerability of the body. Join the 40 million people around the world who have already seen the exhibition and been on this fascinating voyage of discovery through the human body.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 5, 2018

It could be seen as a bit grotesque, but seeing how the body actually works and moves was very interesting. Not sure it is for young children though. Research it before you go. I could have spent hours here. Go early before large groups get there.

Thank katherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear katherine h,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for your enthusiastic words regarding this fascinating exhibition. We always invite anyone interested in learning more about what makes us human and how our body really works. On the other hand, we are certain that your kind words will be very useful to future visitors.

We hope you had a marvellous time in Amsterdam and we also hope we will have you back soon!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"human body"
in 548 reviews
"happiness project"
in 115 reviews
"body works"
in 87 reviews
"blood pressure"
in 40 reviews
"dead bodies"
in 39 reviews
"gunther von"
in 31 reviews
"amazing exhibition"
in 26 reviews
"different parts"
in 28 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 98 reviews
"eye opening"
in 39 reviews
"interesting place"
in 24 reviews
"on display"
in 51 reviews
"top floor"
in 28 reviews
"audio guide"
in 43 reviews
"visiting amsterdam"
in 29 reviews
"anatomy"
in 165 reviews
"donated"
in 120 reviews
Filter

167 - 171 of 3,800 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

We spent 1.5 hours at the exhibition and read every bit of info and viewed all the displays so I would say up to 2 hours is the maximum you would need. The 'happiness project' encourages a positive outlook and healthy living backed up by factual displays, but if you have a GCSE in biology you are not going to learn much more. The 'dead bodies' are interesting but just look like plastic models so is not at all disturbing. It was overpriced in my opinion and not the sort of place that would warrant a repeat visit but ok to spend a short time looking at something a little different.

Thank thefamilyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear thefamilyR,

Thank you for your review and for your feedback. It seems like you have mixed feelings regarding your recent visit with us. Regardless, we hope you were able to see and do something different and understand a bit more how our bodies work on the inside and how happiness affects our health.

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The body worlds is well worth a visit for 2-3 hours. So much to see in so much detail. Real preserved bodies. Fascinating stuff.
Good value for money.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your 5-star review, we are honored to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. The spectacular plastinates in the exhibition take the visitor on an exciting journey of discovery under the skin, which provides a comprehensive insight into the anatomy and physiology of the human body. We hope to have you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

It is interesting and unusual, but hmm, little undignified. Would not do it again anytime soon. A museum full of real dead bodies.

Thank antoinebarbier504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear antoinebarbier504,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We can guarantee you that the specimens on display in the Body Worlds exhibition stem from our body donors who declared that their bodies should be made available after their deaths for the education of physicians and the instruction of laypersons. Many donors underscore that by donating their body, they want to be useful to others even after their death.

Please note, their selfless donations allow us to gain unique insights into human bodies. The donation and the reasons that each person has for it is something we take really seriously and would never disrespect, we sincerely appreciate and thank the living and deceased body donors.

If you wish us to provide you with more information regarding the whole Plastination process and the history of our body donation program, please send us an email at customer.service@bodyworlds.nl. We will gladly answer all your questions.

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Found this exhibition fascinating. Spent a few hours here. Very informative descriptions of everything on display. Everything was really well preserved. Really well structured. Learnt a lot here, definitely left the exhibition determined to live a healthier and less stressful life routine ! However, we weren't expecting to have to pay for a locker after admission, as they don't allow bags / coats

Thank rizer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Guest Relations Manager at Body Worlds, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear rizer007,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Body Worlds is indeed a very informative exhibition which teaches us about happiness and its effects on our body as well as the influence the choices we make have on our body, in a unique way. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit to this interesting exhibition. Thanking you for the tips given to future guests, we want to wish you a very HAPPY day and we hope to have you back soon!

Kind regards,
Body Worlds: The Happiness Project

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Body Worlds also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Body Worlds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing