We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really bad”
Review of Hotel Jimmy

Hotel Jimmy
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jimmy
Ranked #371 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The place is really bad and really expansive like everything inAmsterdam. To sleep in a place like that is enough 20 euro for a double room not 100 as we pay.Room not clean,we had an ashtray still dirty,they just dropped out the content without wash it.Anyway for a really short term is ok(max 3 night,not more).Position very good but very expansive for the service you receive.The staff are so helpless and careless and they used to ask money for the stay based on how much the city is full of people in that period.Years ago,while Amsterdam was really full like just in the past years was and all the hotels was full,we decided to try again at Jimmy,better than sleep out of city, we ask a doubleroom knowing the price was 100 euro per night.THEY ASK US 600 EURO A NIGHT, OF COURSE WE KNEW THE PLACE AND JUST LAUGHED ABOUT THAT AND SAID GOODBYE BUT THEY ARE NOT GOOD PEOPLE, just to know

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

we arrived in amsterdam late about 815pm, without a hotel booked. We wandered down the main 'drag' for hotels and came upon Hotel Jimmy. I have no idea where the low prices came from but at the door they asked for 180.00 euros with/shower and 210.00 for ensuite. The double room was pitiful and stank. the stairs were impossible to navigate. Unreal.we declined the room prefering to take our chances on a few others in the area.

Room Tip: try the victoria hotel, much better price and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We made a clear verbal agreement on the price, agreed to pay half in the next day after we get a chance to withdraw the money. Employees appear in the morning, harassing and yelling at us to pay a higher price. The boss hid himself from the conversation, using the employee as a proxy. I recommend staying away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank einflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Courteous service and excellent location is specially important when we come to several nights. When I go on vacation I do not often be at the hotel but only for sleep and the hotel provides all that is required at the basic level is the most important, I'll be there again soon ...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orengreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

After much deliberation deciding where to stay , we resorted to looking for a hotel upon arrival in Amsterdam , With the rain pouring down on us , we soldiered on to the out skirts of the city , assuming a budget hotel or a better price would fit the bill.unfortunately not having much luck,we headed back to central station and stumbled upon HOTEL JIMMY , We paid a fair price considering the evening was pressing on .the staff were friendly and very approachable, and were offered a hot cuppa on arrival as we were soaked . the room was clean (room 21) and smoking allowed , with a good breakfast , excellent location was more than satisfactory for a short stay .My only criticism would be that its a budget hotel , and was slightly over priced, but the location and staff compensated for it, considering we left it to last minute.. literally .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Please read the other reviews and take note, EVERYTHING mentioned in the previous comments are correct.

We booked on the internet, and on arriving were jarred for 'extra' money as the money already paid online wasn't enough. We told him to hang fire and we'd come back down to reception after dropping off bags. Before we had the chance a man appeared at the door, nodding in direction of my friend counting his money and said, 'that's the extra?'

He was told to beat it, and he did. He never asked again.

THE ONLY WAY THIS IS GRANTED HOTEL STATUS IS BY SERVING A HOT BREAKFAST, BE AWARE, BREAKFAST IS ONE BOILED EGG AND ONE BIT OF TOAST, TEA & ORANGE JUICE. DON'T EAT ANY OF IT.

I can't explain to you how bad this place is without taking you to a distant third world country for comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheWestHighlandWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

not even joking the place is a POO hole it had painted white bricks for walls a manky sink a prison style bed and that was it and shared toilet wich u wouldnt let a animal use and got mugged of coz we payed 80 euros MUGS

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gottzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#273 of 376 in Amsterdam
308 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#194 of 376 in Amsterdam
236 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#237 of 376 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#318 of 376 in Amsterdam
671 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#245 of 376 in Amsterdam
541 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#331 of 376 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimmy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimmy

Address: Martelaasgracht 15, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $136 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jimmy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jimmy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimmy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing