We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Ranked #225 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I booked NL Hotel as part of a surprise trip for my wife's birthday. The hotel was lovely, the staff couldn't be more helpful - Susan was particularly friendly and informative. The room was compact, but well laid out, the bed was truly comfortable and the room was beautifully clean. The location of the hotel put it in easy reach of all that Amsterdam had to offer. We had a fabulous weekend and this hotel was a significant factor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    128
    64
    29
    14
See reviews for
23
187
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Amsterdam over the years and this one was the best. The receptionist was very helpful, showed me to my room and explained the in's and out's of the Hotel. The room was of a good size, very clean with good bathroom facilities. Good range of TV stations. Bed very comfortable. Excellent location to the Leidsplien, trams, restaurants etc. Watch the stairs, like many hotels in Amsterdam, they are very steep and narrow

Room Tip: Road noise is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

In the same area you cannot find nothing better with the same price...

Room Tip: The ones on the lower level are less cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antokr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Excellent room, clean, modern and tidy. Very well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brosdeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great location near everything. However the hotel needs some renovation in the rooms. Nice clean hotel, great staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL-Hotel, Owner at NL Hotel District Leidseplein, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

It finds us well that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As a hotelier we are striving to improve our service to our guests. We already planned a maintenance refurbishment in our rooms at the beginning of February.
Hopefully we can welcome you again as our guests and your stay will be (even) more valuable!

Kind regards,
Team NL Hotel Leidseplein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel during our trip to Amsterdam. It's a quality hotel. The location is superb, the service was good and the staff was very helpful, we were always given good advice on which places to visit and so on. The rooms are quite small and cosy but they're very luxurious.
Over all a great experience and I recommended it to others visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I booked a single room at NL Hotel for the "solo" part of my stay in Amsterdam. For the previous two nights, when I had a company to share a room with, I stayed at another hotel at a little higher rate but 20 or so rank down on tripadviser reviews. When you are a lone traveller you don't need much in a room, just basic necessities and an atmosphere that makes you feel a little smily and happy inside. So for the third and last night alone in Amsterdam, I picked NL- affordable, at a convenient location, and very charming look. The modern Dutch design is on full blast and I was so smily and happy the moment I entered the room I was given (#10). But unfortunately this esthetic pleasure may have contributed to my disappointment at other aspects of the hotel, at least to a degree- basically I expected too much- you do get what you pay for. Despite the cool and newish look of the facility, the shower and washroom tap water took at least a few minutes to warm up. It is OK, as somebody who used to live in good old Europe and now lives in the U.S., the slow life adds a little charm to the trip and is a nice getaway from fast-paced everyday life. Only if you are not freezing in the first place. I was specifically given instruction as to how to adjust the heater in the room, and although I pushed it all the way up to the max, I ended up sleeping with a coat on over my pajamas. My room was at the top of the first flight of stairs so I could clearly hear everybody's footsteps and chats through the thin door. I was fortunate to have a rather well-behaved young group of Italians in the neighbouring room #9. Again, I loved the look of the room, and I also want to add that the bed was of good quality- but I am afraid I may fish around another comfortable hotel in the area the next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poofersdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#124 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#105 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#156 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#270 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Vondelpark
Sara's Boutique Hotel
Sara's Boutique Hotel
#233 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NL Hotel District Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Property: NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Address: Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to enjoy Amsterdam and stay in one of the hippest and coolest design hotels of the city? NL-Hotel Leidseplein is a charming boutique hotel where you enjoy a personal approach by the staff and the comfort of Dutch design. The hotel is located in an authentic Amsterdam canal house on the Nassaukade and is designed by Edward van Vliet who transformed into a contemporary design hotel.The stylish design hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, which was recently declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is only 5 to 10 minute walking distance from Leidseplein, Vondelpark, the 9 streets shopping area, the Museum Quarter and the PC Hooftstraat. This makes the NL-Hotel Leidseplein the perfect spot to experience Amsterdam's turbulent life. NL-Hotel Leidseplein is easily accessible by car and public transport! Cars can be parked publically and in a nearby P&R. From Central Station, the hotel is accessible by public transport: tram lines 1, 2 and 5 bring you to the nearby tram stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your NL Hotel District Leidseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nl Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing