We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit and still great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4th visit and still great”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed in double room on 4th floor facing the canal in March for 4 nights. Reception was friendly and no hassle.All our room requests was taken on board.There were lovely large flower arrangements throughout d ground floor during our stay. The room curtains did opened daily by itself at 0800hrs. We just shut them again with a press of the control and had a lie in.Might be annoying to other guests.Bed was large and comfortable.Everything was clean. We did not eat in as there were so many choices nearby.
Oosterpark was only a 30mins walk via Waterlooplein.We had warm freaky weather and walked all over with plenty of cake n coffee stops.
Took a half day trip (got up late) to Zaanse Schans by bus and definitely will return again as so much to see and do around this area.The restaurants and cafes in Zaandam across the bridge are quite reasonable compared to Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,089
    1,046
    372
    179
    96
See reviews for
423
2,118
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Its been a while since i went but this hotel deserves a review. We went for 4 nights, in feb a couple of years ago,i just never got round to writing a review. This hotel is fab. It is a master peice of art deco architecture. The room we had was great with a fantastic bathroom, and one of the best beds ive ever slept in. Full marks for this interesting hotel. I dont think we will be going again though as the prices seem to have trebled since we went.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lezconnecting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable with an easy walk to the attractions of Amsterdam and less than a ten minute stroll to the station. The staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive. The free mini bar and coffee machine were an added bonus. No negatives.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AngChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarcroft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Reception Staff not all that good a little too pushy & clever at times. Bar & Restaurant Staff where 1st Class & gave good & helpful service, the restaurant food was excellent also. We had a city view room & I was glad we paid that little bit extra & did not end up on the noisy main road side. All in all we enjoyed our stay, but found it difficult to accept the Hotel was supposed to be 5 Star mixed with the old shipping theme. Found the lobby area a bit drab & nowhere really to sit & relax comfortably in this area apart from the Bar. Our room was also not 5 Star Quality & run down somewhat. Watch out for the Taxi Drivers that tried it on taking us the long way round the city on two occasions, check your city map.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Agpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had an amazing time staying at the Grand Amrath in Amsterdam, me and my husband went for 3 nights, we arrived at 11 am and were taken straight to our rooms. My husband selected this hotel due to various reasons:- location, room, mini bar. The hotel was very luxurious and the bathroom was immaculate. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNMARIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I had a brilliant time at the Grand Amrath hotel..My boyfriend and I went for to Amsterdam for 3 days, we selected this hotel for a few reasons:

-It was excellent value for money.
- It is close to the Centraal station which was important as we were travelling from Schipol airport to Amsterdam by train.
-It has a well stocked, free mini bar.

When we got there, we were shown our room- it was very luxorious, huge room with a very spacious bathroom and bathrooms/slippers for guests to use. The ceilings of the room were very high, so high infact that we had a remote control to open and shut the curtains!

The room was extremely comfy, clean and the maids tidied up for us every day. The staff were very helpful and courteous. This kind of hotel is usually out of my price range so it was amazing to have a 5 star experience.

I would love to return to this hotel, I cannot recommend it highly enough- the building itself is beautiful as well :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessbeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing