We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food in Amsterdam”
Review of Gandhi Restaurant

Gandhi Restaurant
Reserve with
Gandhi Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #767 of 4,446 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$14 - US$233
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: If Indian food is on the top of your head, Gandhi Restaurant proud to present authentic Indian food in the heart of Amsterdam that is Centrum district. Whether you are North Indian or South Indian, the enrichment of traditional flavours introduced in Gandhi restaurant’s delicious food delivers a satisfying thought on your mind. Our menu strictly includes Indian dishes brewed with fresh and healthy vegetables along with comfortable ambience. However with outstanding dining options of lunch and dinner for vegetarians, our menu also includes a creative twist for non-vegetarian food lovers! Chicken tikka tandoori, King prawn korma, sheekh kabab and boti kabab are some of the dishes that stand out. Gandhi Restaurant, the place you should definitely not miss out on is 7 minutes walking from the Amsterdam Central Station.!
Reviewed December 10, 2017

We, three friends, went for dinner. All of us had the same feedback about the restaurant. The service was quite good, staff were friendly, especially the owner greeted us very well(that is not the case always), they prepared food in a very short notice and it was considered good. If you are hungry and happen to near the central station, that could be a good option.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChandrabhanSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj G, General Manager at Gandhi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thanks. We were also so pleased to serve you. Hoping you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 451 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2017

This restaurant starts with a very seedy long tunnel kind of entrance and then goes on to re-affirm your first impression by opening on to a gloomy, character less, hall with dirty furniture for good measure.
The icing on the cake is an arrogant owner and a most brusque waiter truly depicting the worst of India.
In all my travels so far, I have never come across a more unwelcome restaurant experience.
Without elaborating more on the unsavoury experience, suffice to say that my wife and I did our first walk-out ever from any restaurant anywhere in the world.

Thank LuqmanU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj G, General Manager at Gandhi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

We can feel how bad your experiance was and we are really sorry for it.we are doing betterments on everything time to time.we hope when you next visit our place we dont disappoints you

once again sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

The entrance to this place looks like a tourist trap! However once you get in from the long alley and sit down the service comes with a smile and personal touch. The food was good! Plenty of good flavours and taste! If you like spicy food this is just the place! Try the pepper tikka for starters!

Thank Mr Dipz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj G, General Manager at Gandhi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thank you for appreciating our food and staff. I hope you will visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

We been exploring new places in the Amsterdam central we found this place we all decided to try. The service was slow and the food served is good and tasty as per our suggestion they well cooked. Better to give a go when your are in the surrounding.

Thank KS4350401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj G, General Manager at Gandhi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thanks. We were also so pleased to serve you. Hoping you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

Went there after reading reviews from trip advisor.
But as soon as you reach there,you could feel negativity all over the place.
The staff is least concerned about the customer satisfaction.
There main aim is to make a hole in your pocket.

Indians are treated as 2nd citizen in Indian restaurant Itself,Its opposite of what Gandhi would do and the irony is that the name is Gandhi.

For Indians I would suggest " Bollywood Indian Restraunt " Or "Ganesha" where you can eat good and more food at a better price.
Also the staff at these restaurants are friendly and welcoming unlike Gandhi where the focus is not Hospitality but Finance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JAYANT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj G, General Manager at Gandhi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

sorry for your bad experience you had with us.we are upgrading staff,quality and many more things. so that whenever you visit us again you get satisfied with our place.

we hope to have you once again.we ensure you that we dont disappoint you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandhi Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing