We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! ”
Review of Pasta e Basta

Pasta e Basta
Reserve with
Pasta e Basta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #208 of 4,612 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Pasta e Basta restaurant nearly opposite the Rijksmuseum has a name that simply doesn’t do it justice. It means ‘pasta full stop’ but really should trumpet the singing accomplishments and mad party atmosphere that the waiters and waitresses deliver. The dining room is splendid, with scarlet-covered chairs, flouncy wall sconces, dramatic drapes and fine art, while the bar area is more modern but just as operatic. The wait staff really truly can sing, everything from pop, jazz and musical to grand opera, and they get the joint jumping. The long tables attract hens and big groups and the small cosy niches and bar are right for more intimate numbers, and it is just one fantastic evening. The menu is Italian, incorporating excellently-sourced meat, fish and veg. Anti pasti is served buffet-style from a chilled grand piano. They offer two shared dining menus with options for everyone. Children are more than welcome at Pasta e Basta and we can comply to all diets and allergies. Don't miss it
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved everything about this place! The atmosphere was warm and cosy, the waiters and waitresses were super friendly and talented singers, pianist really good, delicious food...all excellent! This restaurant was recommended to me by a local which is always good. Thank you Pasta e Basta!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Shiv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargotC476, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shiv73, thank you so much for your review! We're very glad that you enjoyed your evening. We hope to see you again soon in our restaurant. Kind regards, Natalja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it is more than a restaurant. Everything looks normal at the beginning but after a while one of the waiters starts to sing like an opera, then all waiters presents their talents.
Foods are excellent, atmosphere is amazing . Highly recommended

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargotC476, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Yasmus, thank you so much for your review! We're very glad that you enjoyed your evening in our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon in our restaurant. Kind regards, Natalja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Initially thought what a fairly expensive limited set meal. However once in there totally changed my mind. Restaurant lush atmosphere buzzing. The staff belted out some super tunes , from times gone by to modern. We were up dancing and others joined us. Yes it's a tad on the expensive side but the entertainment and fun makes up for it. Superb.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edinburgh103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargotC476, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Edinburgh103, I'm very glad to read that we changed your mind about our restaurant and that you enjoyed your night out! We hope to see you again soon in our restaurant. Kind regards, Natalja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Italian is delicious but it can end up as a routine. This place serves the most delicious courses in a menu where everyone at the table can taste all courses. This worked very well, also because both kitchen and service are friendly and attentive. Added is the singing waitresses and waiters, with opera and popular hits. This creates a very amiable atmosphere around the table. Well dined!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank oysteins2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargotC476, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Oystein, thank you so much for this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your night. We hope to see you again soon in our restaurant. Kind regards, Natalja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Writing as I am sitting and savoring their excellent food and service.

What a scintillating melee of victuals and entertainment! Much obliged for making my last evening in Amsterdam deliciously beautiful and memorable!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sidtrotter_9984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargotC476, Manager at Pasta e Basta, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Sidrotter_9984, thank you so much for this kind review! We try to make every evening very special with our entertainment! We hope to see you again soon in our restaurant. Kind regards, Natalja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pasta e Basta also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pasta e Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing