We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, beautiful restaurant, poor food.”
Review of Jansz.

Jansz.
Ranked #268 of 4,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Jansz. is an effortless yet upscale all-day dining restaurant that respects the simplicity of quality ingredients. Beautifully crafted modern classics get an easygoing Dutch attitude while international flavors excite and amaze in the most humble way. A new old world of simple elegance, is closer than you think.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I was looking forward to a meal at this restaurant as I had heard a lot about it. Unfortunately, the food was profoundly disappointing. The fact that we had such good service from the team working there made sure that evening still was fun.
The caesar salad was abysmal. It was like eating a dry bed of shredded lettuce with absolutely no taste.
I also had the lobster risotto which was okay, though a bit salty ("too salty" was an overall feeling of everyone at the table about their meals).
My friend ordered the lamb ratatouille, and it was served with the fat on the meat raw. My friend sent it back, asking for another dish. Even the server said, "I wouldn't eat that either." She was then given the pasta with truffles, which had absolutely no smell of fresh truffles on it - it's like they used the "Tastes Like Truffles!" special seasoning mix from Dirk.
The side dish of carrots were lovely, so someone knows how to make carrots at least.
I had the creme brûlée for dessert which was just a bowl of nothing-tasting creme. The chocolate fondant was dry and lacking in flavor.
The staff was very nice and didn't charge us for the two returned meals and did buy us a round of champagne.
Overall, it just seems like the people who are making the food aren't actually tasting it. I hope the management will focus on improving the quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MytteStaps, Manager at Jansz., responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear AshBH,

Your compliments about the service have been shared with the team.

Your detailed feedback is highly appreciated and has been shared with the Chef.

I would like to discuss your feedback personally. Could you please be so kind to share your contact details with me via mytte@janszamsterdam.com?

I am looking forward to hear from you.

Warm regards,

Mytte Staps
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 557 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

The interior and ambience in Jansz are gorgeous, but the food didn't quite meet our expectations. We had a cauliflower and mushroom starter which was delicious and beautifully presented, but our mains lobster risotto and poussin were only just above average. As sides we had fries, a green salad and the 'seasonal veggie's (basically just steamed carrots), also a bit disappointing.

All in all a very nice restaurant, but the food could use some refinement for the price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrisB1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MytteStaps, Manager at Jansz., responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Iris B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dinner at Jansz.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we have shared the comments with our Chef. In this way we can prevent these situations from happening again.

If you are thinking about giving Jansz. a second chance, please feel free to contact me via mytte@janszamsterdam.com so I can make sure you will enjoy the true Jansz experience.

Warm regards,
Mytte Staps
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We ate here for an included buffet breakfast, which was excellent. We also ordered room service which was very good. Nice restaurant, moderate pricing. Recommended.

Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MytteStaps, Manager at Jansz., responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear DrDadrwp,

Thank you for your writing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you started your day with our freshly prepared breakfast in Jansz.

We look forward to your return so that we can prepare another elegant dish for you!

Warm regards,

Mytte Staps
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant was very aesthetically pleasing, very modern looking. The food was great, but not a very big selection I had to go for the club sandwich, however it was very good. The staff is very welcoming and warm.

Thank Nicolás R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MytteStaps, Manager at Jansz., responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Nicolás,

Thank you for your praising words on TripAdvisor!

Jansz. is known for beauty that shows simplicity. Jansz. team strives to deliver phenomenal service.

When may we welcome you back?

Warm regards,

Mytte Staps
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Really good lunch offer in a great location. €35 for starter and main incl. coffee is a bargain - at least when the food is high quality. Very good service as well and a good wine offering.

Place to go for lunch while enjoying the view!

Thank Anette1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MytteStaps, Manager at Jansz., responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Dear Anette,

What a delightful review on Tripadvisor!

Jansz. is proudly situated across the iconic canals of the Keizergracht. We aim to keep true to the seventeenth-century traditions of good taste, style, and conversation.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another elegant lunch experience!

Warm regards,

Mytte Staps
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jansz. also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jansz.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing