We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to be”
Review of De Kale Pater

De Kale Pater
Reserve with
De Kale Pater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 394 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Reviewed January 12, 2018

We made a reservation for 12 persons. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and the table was prepared well. The food ( in my case fish) was excellent in terms of quality and the way it was served. We ordered different starters and main courses, but the food was served almost the same time for all. By the way, they recommended a great wine!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a dinner place after a long day of sightseeing in Amsterdam. She took a look inside and thought Dr Kale Pater was a good bet. Well, first the service staff was outstanding ... very friendly, upbeat, and helpful. Second, our food was excellent. I thought about fish, but was reminded that it was known for its "meat ". So, my wife had the spare ribs and I had the lamb. Both dishes were excellent. On support we ordered a bottle of the house Cab. A great discovery. Stop in for a great dinner.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank KeithK795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely well cooked meal served with a smile in very pleasant surroundings. What more could you want?

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank houda1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2016

Went here for a celebratory dinner and we had a lovely time. Atmosphere is fun, each meal comes with huge portions and friendly service.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lvanclief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Our hotel clerk, Luca, recommended this place. I'm always a little skeptical but thought it was worth checking out. The menu looked good, but what grabbed us was the fact that the place was packed, entirely (as much as we could tell) with Dutch folks. We had the fixed price, three course dinner and were blown away it was so good. The service was 5 star, the ambience was 5 star, the food was 5 star. We had only one complaint: The food was so bountiful that we gorged ourselves. Yes, of course we could have eaten less, but it was all so good, we were compelled to eat and eat and eat. My only suggestion would be to not get the three course fixed price meal unless you are REALLY hungry. Thank you Luca for this fine suggestion.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yeatswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Kale Pater also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Kale Pater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing