We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAPPY NEW YEAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Amersfoort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Amersfoort
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed at the Campanile Amersfoort for 2 nights over the New Year, on a coach holiday. The room was basic but OK, on arrival the room was freezing, we turned the radiator on and the room soon warmed up. The bed was really comfortable and we slept really well. The tea/coffee making facilities are OK but don't expect much, we didn't have enough sugar or milk for 2 of us. On our first night we had a meal in the hotel restaurant, we were given 2 choices, Dutch stew or salmon in breadcrumbs. I had the stew which was served with chips and salad covered in vinegarette, the stew was cold and my husband had the salmon served with chips and salad covered in vinegarette, a bit of a strange combination. I complained that my stew was cold and was told that the waiter would tell the chef to make sure it was hot enough for other diners. This wasn't acceptable, considering the price we had pay for the meal, approximatley 35 Euros. On our second night, New Years Eve, we arrived back at our room and woke during the night to the smell of 'wacky backy'. After talking to other guests in the morning we found that the smell was in the hotel ventilation system, we weren't the only ones to smell it. The fan in the bathroom doesn't switch off when the light is turned off, so I can only assume that is where the smell was coming into our room. The hotel has a computer in the reception area offering free internet for guests. Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel, though if we travelled independently we probably wouldn't pick this hotel as it's in the middle of an industrial estate and there's nowhere to go.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey-Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

1st time in Netherlands,it was very easy to find the hotel.
During my staying a continuous bus strike occured.The hotel was located 6km east from Amersfoort's centre &i had only the choice of taking a taxi to move around (17€ for 5-6km are't they too much??In Athens we pay 5€ for a 6km distance).
I had the best sleep there,except from some small disturbances during the night
(thin walls)..
Breakfast,lunch and dinner with quality products and reasonable prices.
For the dinner you can eat with 15-17€ a huge quantity.Buffet with great variety.
Room amenities simple but OK,evening late check-out costed 13€ only.
I enjoyed my staying thereTake the train from Schothorst(?) and you'll be in 45' in Amsterdam.Lots of new friends in Amersfoort and Amsterdam.
Extremely friendly people(like us,the Greeks).
Holland see you again pretty soon!!Greetinds from Greece.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo13man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We arrived en route for Germany and wanted something close to the motorway. UYou don't expect too much of this chain bit like IK Travelodge although even worse. The Campanile was clean , bed hard. Food nearly absent but staff did their best, it was almost empty, perhaps the other guests had given up after the longest check in marathon you could imagine. Easy enough with a Sat Nav to locate and did the job we wanted, no disturbance but then no guests. Parking next to hotel was fine. Has arguement with rude night man when we went over safety with the main doors locked at night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My parents stayed at the Campanile Amersfoort back in September when they were in town for my cousins birthday.

They then decided to go back to Holland for my Dad's birthday this April. Because they enjoyed the Campanile Amersfoort back in September, they wanted to try it again.

This was my first stay at the Campanile Amersfoort. I read the other reviews posted here, and was a bit uneasy about the trip.

Inge was working the front desk. She's super nice and very helpful.

I had a non smoking room on the 3rd floor. I was very surprised by the room. I have stayed at a few hotels throughout Holland...and this was the biggest room I have ever had. There was also a full bathroom with both a shower and tub. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

I didn't bring my laptop with me, so I was happy to see the computer downstairs in the lobby. For just under 10 Euros, you can get a card for 100 minutes of internet.

I found the restaurant to be pretty basic, and somewhat expensive.

My recommendation is to walk down the street to the little mall. There is a C1000 grocery store. They have a deli counter with some seating. You can also pick up some groceries and bring them back to the hotel with you, (This is what I did). There's also a post office, bank, liquor store, and chinese food restaurant there. During the morning we were there, there was a small farmers market where we picked up some fruit.

Oh...and there's a Hema there too. There's a snack bar there...and you can smoke.

If you're buying groceries at the C1000 - Bring your own bags. They don't have bags.

We took a cab to the centre of town one day. It was $20. If you want to save some money, you can take the bus for $1. The bus stop is on De Brand. It is on the other side of the Kitchen Store next to the hotel. If you're walking towards the market, you'll see it. The bus number is 5 and it will take you under 30 minutes to get to the centre. It's $1 each way, and if you're 65+ you can ride for free. This bus will also take you directly to the Amersfoort Central Station, where you can catch trains to everywhere, (We caught a train to Belgium one day).

We checked out of the Campanile Amersfoort on the weekend, as we were staying with friends up north. We then checked back in the following week.

I had a non smoking room on the 1st floor. I booked a twin room, like I did last time - Only this time I got a room for THREE! It had a double bed and a single bed. It also had a sitting room out front, so I stored my luggage there. The downside to the room was that it was next to the elevator. The bathroom was also for a handicap person. There was no bathtub, (Which I was looking forward to), and there were handle bars on the toilet and shower.

Water from the shower spilled over the side and therefore made the entire bathroom floor slippery.

I booked my room through Expedia and got a pretty good deal.

This hotel is busy during the day with business people and bus tours.

Inge at the front desk was awesome.

I will stay here again, as it's close to the highway and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aspier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2005

Basic hotel in the middle of nowhere.
Rooms were not terribly quiet.
Restaurant does not seem to be big enough when the hotel is full.
Breakfast choice is very limited.
Reasonably priced, but for a little more there is much better choice.

2  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2005

This is a basic and overpriced hotel. The room is decorated without any taste and it will never feel like home. The bathroom is small, including the bath. This hotel is just for sleeping. The location is near a business area in Amersfoort and hosts mainly business travellers. But there are nicer hotels for business travellers. It is not for families!

The restaurant was a god surprise. The quality was good and they had a nice menu. I can recommend that one. The restaurant was much better then the hotel itself. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 1999, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank deBoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoerd H, Assistent Hotel Manager at Campanile Amersfoort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amersfoort hotels
Coninckstraat
Hotel de Tabaksplant
Hotel de Tabaksplant
#7 of 12 in Amersfoort
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lange Jan Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amersfoort
189 reviews
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 12 in Amersfoort
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Amersfoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amersfoort

Address: De Brand 50, 3823 LM Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Amersfoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Amersfoort
Price Range: $56 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amersfoort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campanile Amersfoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing