We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$143
View deal
Booking.comUS$143
Expedia.comUS$143
eDreamsUS$143
TravelocityUS$143
Orbitz.comUS$143
CheapTicketsUS$143
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveller rating
546
305
54
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
546
305
54
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel walk in shower room was spacious huge bath checking in salmon hotel restaurant high standard nice stay bread yogurt dutch pillows vegetables bathtub design netherlands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 923 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2020

Ok after all. Breakfast was delivered to you room. A bit boring getting the same bread and yogurt 8 days in a row. Maybe you could make 2 breakfast menus to choose from?
On day two the hotel ran out of hand sanitizer and never replaced it.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kristiankh2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkmiddelburg, Front office at Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2020

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback very much. This situation is also new to us, so it is good to hear what we can improve! We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. ^Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2020

all good and rooms and breakfast quality is just great! However from my side the only negative point is the pillows in the bed!! extremly massive and way too big!! not comfortably to sleep at all. Even sleeping without pillow is not good but better than with big pillows

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wsantos83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2020

The hotel is warm, spacious, friendly and the rooms are a nice size. The hotel has everything you would need for a night away. We used the restaurant and found the menu to be extensive and the food to be top quality.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack-UK-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkmiddelburg, Receptionist at Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Thank you very much for your positive review! We're glad to hear that you've had such a pleasant stay with us. We hope to be welcoming you back in our hotel in the future again! ^RS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2020

CHECK-IN
Check-In was quite easy. I needed to enable my e-check-in (for future easy check-in) and must verify my ID. Still the friendly receptionist was swift.

ROOM
The room was like in the pictures. I have encountered hotels where the pictures are much more beautiful than in reality. This wasn't the case. The website gives an exact view. They are constructing outside, so there wasn't much to see.
The bed was of good quality and we slept well. There was a pair of extra pillows that we used. The temperature was easy to regulate, both in the room as the bathroom.
The bath room was spacious with a bathtub for two persons and a walk-in shower. The room was clean, so all considered quite enjoyable. The wall of our room was dark brown papered. There was enough lighting, yet as I have poor eyesight, the room was a little dark for me.

SURROUNDINGS
The hotel is close to the highway and like 2 miles off the Middelburg city center. The City of Middelburg is beautiful with all you can find in old Dutch towns, like old buildings, cafés, restaurants and shops.

FOOD
The breakfast in the Van der Valk Hotels are known to be of top level. The dinner we had wasn't that impressive. considering the price, it was disappointing. The vegetables we had seemed like pre-packed supermarket vegetables. I had fish, and it was alright, but not super! The same as the salmon my wife ordered.

All in all I enjoyed this hotel and would surely recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank ZjouPalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkmiddelburg, Front Office Manager at Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you for your review. We much apprechiate that you have taken the time to let us know, how you have experienced your stay with us. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed this. Your feedback about the evening diner we will definitly forward to our restaurantmanager, as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our offer. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel sometime in the future. ^Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Large, clean rooms, great bed and shower. Also very happy with the breadfast. The staff was friendly and went the extra mile both when checking in and checking out. Really liked the design of the hotel. Recommended.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pmvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkmiddelburg, Front Office at Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2019

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, as well as the service. Hopefully we may welcome you again! ^Iris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews