We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd little place”
Review of Hotel de Ark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Ark
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We made reservations based on the reviews. First i thought that we would only be there one night but since our plans were disrupted by the volcano we changed to 2 nights. The first night special on line was $90 euros - a fair price. When i added a second night it jumped to 145 euros. When we got to the place we asked and they said the first night was a 'special' but didnt offer to adjust the second night. We ended up looking at all the rooms as the first option though large was right by the breakfast room and patio. The hotel is pretty much a couple of town homes cobbled together with rooms chopped into hotel type rooms. The bathrooms were strange but usable. The rooms ok but strangely decorated. Old beautiful rooms with IKEA furniture...
Breakfast was fine. The staff was just OK.
Great location near the center square was the best thing about it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Ark
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2009

The hotel is well situated by a canal, and from there you can walk in a couple of minutes to the town's squares for great food and drink. Ark is very close to Delft station. Staff are welcoming and have the Dutch ability to speak better English than native English speakers. Rooms have BBC TV and, of course, much English language broadcasting, albeit with Dutch subtitles.
My room was spacious with a well-appointed shower/bathroom.
Breakfast included cereal, fruit, fruit juic, cold meat, Cheese, pastries, eggs, bacon etc, so plenty of choice. No restaurant in hotel.
A good price made it all good.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
Thank ethelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The hotel was placed in a lovely location on the canal, within five minutes' walk of the market place. Most rooms have a canal view. Don't attempt to park your car here: this is a canal town and space for cars is minimal. We used the Zuidpoort car park (Zuidwal 4), which is a short walk of about 10 minutes and at the time of writing cost a mere 11 euros overnight. Breakfast was good and the room was very pleasant, complete with canal view and a fan for the hot weather.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_arriviste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Just retunred from delft. Very nice hotel, in the city center. Breakfast was ok but not a big variety. I think 116 euros for a single room is too much.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maketsipis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I have been in Delft , Netherlands for over 1.5 years and have been staying in various hotels. The best hotel I have come across during this time was Hotel De Ark. Located close to the Thomas Cook office, it has a mexican resturant located just close to it which happened to be our favourite. It has the canal in front of it and during summer you can take boat rides. On the opposite side of the hotel on other side of the canal, the hotel has few apartments. For long stay (3 weeks) these apartments come to similary economy as the hotel rooms.

The hotel serves a variety of dishes during breakfast and one would love it. It is always busy and one should book it in advance. The staff is very helpful and it charges wi-fi internet at 1 euro per day.

Dont take the economy single room...they are very small.

Nice to stay with this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adventurer_Aabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I stayed at Hotel de Ark while visiting Delft for a conference. My experience couldn't be different to that of the reviewer who stayed there in February 2009, although I did arrive by train and so didn't have to deal with parking. I stayed on the ground floor (on the other side of the breakfast room) and my room was huge, with a lovely bay window overlooking a courtyard and a fantastic high ceiling. I found the receptionist to be very helpful - he even carried an iron and ironing board to my room for me. Wireless internet is EUR1 per 24 hours, which although not free is hardly a rip-off. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and had everything I needed, although the shower gel is provided in small sachets so if you tend to use a lot of it I'd bring your own. The room was warm enough (plenty of radiators under the window) and the breakfast had a wide choice of European and continental options. From speaking to colleagues who live in Delft, they say that this place is one of their preferred hotels in this city. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I was in our Delft city office and picked this hotel from TA reviews, guess most have been based on non motoring tourists in the summer. I arrived mid winter in poor weather at night, terrified by the narrow roads and cyclists and there was no parking, the public car park was expensive and had to be paid until 10pm . The reception was unhelpful and room small, bathroom even smaller. Very clean though and for Netherlands a very good breakfast and more cheerful at reception. Souless hotel though, great choice of restaurants very close.Room was cold.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.1 km away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
359 reviews
0.1 km away
Bridges House Hotel
Bridges House Hotel
#10 of 15 in Delft
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.2 km away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
0.6 km away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ark

Address: Koornmarkt 65, 2611 EC Delft, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Delft
Price Range: $146 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Ark 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Ark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Ark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing