We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,567)
Filter reviews
1,567 results
Traveller rating
896
536
87
38
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
536
87
38
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holland america line water taxi shipping line balcony room head office food factory old days unique atmosphere tower rooms unique hotel nespresso machine overlooking the river maas river cruise ship hotel restaurant reception desk city centre
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,567 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We needed a hotel reasonably close to the departure berth for a Holland American cruise the following afternoon. I had stumbled upon a recommendation for the Hotel New York. This hotel rises from historic origins. It used to be an immigration departure terminal for immigrants migrating to North America. You really get into the feel of the place. The view from here is outstanding.

Being jet lagged we found it difficult to find a place for dinner, after all our diurnal clocks were all confused. As a last resort we slipped into the Hotel Basement bar and sipped a couple beers while enjoying bar food. The bar food was excellent. The staff was hospitable and friendly.

What a delightful find!

William

Room tip: The rooms were surprisingly quiet.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We hope we can welcome you back soon as a guest of HNY & NYB !

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We visited the Hotel New York three times: first on the outside, then in the bar and at last the restaurant.

The outside experience was fine. Good and fast service. Also the waiters were friendly.
The bar was a very nice experience since the barkeepers were very friendly and funny.
The worst experience we had in the restaurant. They did not want to bring you anything. Also a smile would have been nice.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EldBjoern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you for your review.
2 nice experiences and 1 bad is not the score outcome we are hoping for.
Our appologies for the fact that after the 2 good visits you had a disapointing visit in our restaurant.
We hope we can get a second chance in the future !

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

In this iconic building we enjoyed a quick lunch during one of the hottest days in the Netherlands. The interior is breathtaking and the service is modern and quick. I took the king prawns in a cream sauce and my wife enjoyed the salad with goat cheese. Both dishes tasted really well and were reasonable priced. Must visit in Rotterdam.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert-Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We hope we can welcome you back soon as a guest of our restaurant!

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Went at lunch time,and we were lucky enough to be seated straight away. Take note when we left there was a bit of a queue,with quite a few people waiting. The food was excellent,service was very good,and the whole experience was worth the money. Would recommend this hotel for the food.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cooch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We hope we can welcome you back soon as a guest of our restaurant!

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Tried to reserve a table for 10 people, at a window more than 2 months ahead n(for September 2018). They are not able to confirm any (!) seating location, so I cancelled and looked for a different place..where Rotterdam has luckily much to offer

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vingar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We do not confim seating location because of the fact trhat we don't want any disappointing guests at the date itself. In your situation there is only 1 table where we can seat 10 persons close to the window but this table is situated in an area of the restaurant that is not always open.
Indeed there are a lot of restaurants in Rotterdam where you can enjoy a good meal so i really hope that you will have a nice dinner in September with your guests!

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews