We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveller rating
860
522
85
37
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
522
85
37
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holland america line water taxi shipping line balcony room food factory old days head office unique hotel nespresso machine overlooking the river maas river cruise ship hotel restaurant comfortable bed city centre nice view erasmus bridge
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

I booked the cheapest room, on the webside I already read there would be no nice view from the window so that wasn't a surprise. Room was big, with good bed, desk and comfortable chair. Big bathroom with bath and shower in the bath. Airco. Clean. Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast but a bit expensive (but I didn't need lunch...). Diner is okay but for the prices charged I expected a bit more, like an extra side dish. But it was tasty. Location is excellent, walking distance to city centre and touristic hot spots.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jedidiah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018

My wife and I had a lovely weekend in Rotterdam, staying at Hotel New York was an excellent choice, the staff were very attentive and pleasant at all times. We had the tasting menu in the downstairs restaurant and this was simply sublime, the waiter was very knowledgeable in regards to the wine and shared all his knowledge. We also had cocktails in the bar and again the bar tender was great in discussing bar appearances... A great place to stay with a great hotel team.

Room Tip: Some great views
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We hope we can welcome you back soon as a guest of HNY & NYB !

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We needed a hotel reasonably close to the departure berth for a Holland American cruise the following afternoon. I had stumbled upon a recommendation for the Hotel New York. This hotel rises from historic origins. It used to be an immigration departure terminal for immigrants migrating to North America. You really get into the feel of the place. The view from here is outstanding.

Being jet lagged we found it difficult to find a place for dinner, after all our diurnal clocks were all confused. As a last resort we slipped into the Hotel Basement bar and sipped a couple beers while enjoying bar food. The bar food was excellent. The staff was hospitable and friendly.

What a delightful find!

William

Room Tip: The rooms were surprisingly quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We hope we can welcome you back soon as a guest of HNY & NYB !

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We visited the Hotel New York three times: first on the outside, then in the bar and at last the restaurant.

The outside experience was fine. Good and fast service. Also the waiters were friendly.
The bar was a very nice experience since the barkeepers were very friendly and funny.
The worst experience we had in the restaurant. They did not want to bring you anything. Also a smile would have been nice.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EldBjoern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you for your review.
2 nice experiences and 1 bad is not the score outcome we are hoping for.
Our appologies for the fact that after the 2 good visits you had a disapointing visit in our restaurant.
We hope we can get a second chance in the future !

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

In this iconic building we enjoyed a quick lunch during one of the hottest days in the Netherlands. The interior is breathtaking and the service is modern and quick. I took the king prawns in a cream sauce and my wife enjoyed the salad with goat cheese. Both dishes tasted really well and were reasonable priced. Must visit in Rotterdam.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert-Jan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We hope we can welcome you back soon as a guest of our restaurant!

rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews