We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel O Kathedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel O Kathedral
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This little hotel is situated right next to the Onze Lieve Vrouw Kathedraal in Antwerp. You cannot get there by car but there is parking close by. Our room had an amazing view onto the cathedral. The room was neat and clean and the aircon was on when we arrived, which helped, as we arrived on one of the hottest days in Belgium, 32 degrees. There was a lift. Free wifi. Breakfast is served downstairs, with a good selection on the buffet. The best about this place is that it is right in the middle of town and everywhere you walk there are hundreds of little café's and restaurants with outdoor seating. It was a bit noisy at night, especially as there was a beer festival on the Friday night. The hotel offers ear plugs! The cathedral bells only start at about nine in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view onto the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Director of Sales at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear LDR2014,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in our hotel. Hotel O Kathedral really focuses on a nice and comfy atmosphere, so we're pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed one night in a 'white' room and the second night in a 'kathedral' room. These were identical in size but the mirrored wall in the kathedral room made it appear more spacious. I also really liked the painted ceiling, though the white room did have a nice coffee (Nespresso or similar - I can't remember exactly) machine which the nicer room didn't have.

The rooms both had a fabulous view of the cathedral and square and the hotel could not be better located. The bath and rainfall shower were really good and, although these are part of the bedroom itself (again lending to the feeling of more space in the room), there is a curtain which can be pulled for privacy if required. The toilet room is separate, of course.

We booked on a room only basis, so didn't eat breakfast here. However, the free coffee we were given whilst waiting for our taxi on our last morning was excellent, so I imagine the breakfast would be pretty good too.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, all of the girls on the reception desk were extremely friendly and helpful

Room Tip: I loved the 'kathedral' room but would be tempted to ask for a coffee machine in that room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Director of Sales at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear UKbadiabranca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in our hotel. Hotel O Kathedral really focuses on a nice and comfy atmosphere, We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We booked a room with a kathedral view which is a must, the hotel is at the very heart of the old town in Antwerp, the location cant be bettered. Check in was smooth and simple, with easy instruction for the entry late at night. Lovely bar and breakfast seating in the square in front of the cathedral, although there were dozens of other eateries all around you. Amazing decor in the rooms with a mural painted on the wall behind the bed and a window bench to admire the view. Cheeky shower set up behind a glass screen in the bedroom, adds to the fun and quirky nature of the hotel. If travelling by car there are a number of car parks close to the hotel to choose from, there are also trams running nearby but most thing are within easy walking distance.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 191hayleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Director of Sales at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear mr. Hayleyl,
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Stayed for one night (Thurs). The location is superb. We booked a Kathedral Room, so that solved the space issue most people have noted so far. The room was sufficient for two people, with a nice view onto the Cathedral. The windows did a decent job of keeping the noise out! The room was clean, and quirky.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a Kathedral Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this renovated space sharing the square with the Cathedral. We liked the quirky touches decorating the bar/breakfast area and our guest room. Our guest room was comfortable, modern and sexy (glass walls between the bedroom and bathroom). Other amenities:

Included wifi was good.
Blow dryer.
Elevator.

The hotel offers breakfast for 14.5 euros--pretty much the going rate. Another option was an excellent artisanal bakery (Brood Spelen) across the Grote Markt and one block farther at Oude Beurs 23. Across from Brood Spelen, you will find an updated, self-serve laundromat.

The hotel is just steps away from the Grote Markt, Groenplaats and a plethora of good restaurants. Speaking of Groenplaats, this is where you will find safe, convenient underground parking.

Room Tip: The top floor, corner room has a skylight looking up Cathedral's steeple--no issue with the bell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela Cazes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Terrible TINY box room in the attic with dire need of cleaning, I could write in the dust. Overpriced!!!! Nothing like the photographs on the website. Staff didn't reply to emails over early check in and didn't seem to have a clue what to do when we arrived. We were charged to check in early but the room was not cleaned to any standard. The whole hall way in the lobby was also in need of painting/cleaned up!! Not recommended!

Room Tip: Top tip - take another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annep188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Good centrally located hotel, comfortable with friendly staff. Small rooms are "very small" & claustrophobic. I asked to be moved, & was relocated on second night to lovely airy room. Pay the extra & book bigger room (with air con etc). Beds & showers excellent. Friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank hugheskevin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#21 of 73 in Antwerp
183 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#14 of 73 in Antwerp
347 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Antwerp - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.3 km away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#16 of 73 in Antwerp
270 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O Kathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Kathedral

Address: Handschoenmarkt 3, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $122 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel O Kathedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep with a unique view of theCathedral of Our Lady? It’s possible! Hotel O Kathedral is located in the heart of Antwerp’s historic center within walking distance of the main sights, museums, bars, restaurants, shopping streets and the Schelde. The hotel features 33 comfortable and modernly furnished rooms with designer furniture, open bathroom and hardwood floors. Our romantic rooms all have a view of the cathedral of Antwerp and have a wall painting inspired by Rubens integrated in wall and ceiling. This gives you the unique feeling of sleeping in a painting. There is also a bar in the hotel and an in-house chocolate shop and coffee shop. WIFI is free and most rooms have air conditioning that can be arranged at your own request. Hotel O Kathedral serves a daily continental buffet breakfast with fresh and seasonal ingredients and home-made pastries, granola, salads and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel O Kathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antwerp
Classic Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Best Western
Antwerp Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing