We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel, perfect location, beautiful romantic rooms!”
Review of Hotel O Kathedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel O Kathedral
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed here for one night but loved every minute of it! Beautiful, romantic room with view of the Cathedral. In the centre of Antwerp, just a minute walking distance from 'Grote Markt' and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y7390UAjulied, Public Relations Manager at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

If you're tired of generic, boring, chain hotels then this is for you. Fantastic location, a warm (but non-intrusive) welcome and above all, character.

Okay so it's not perfect.....but that's the point...it doesn't try to be.

I stayed on a business trip but intend to return with my wife soon. Antwerp is delightful and Hotel O Kathedral is as quirky as the old town. Recommended!

Room Tip: Excellent town centre location opposite the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsonstephen257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y7390UAjulied, Front Office Manager at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Mr Johnson,

Thank you for your honest review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.


Kind Regards,

kreusch Charline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Location can't be beat. You will need the ear plugs probably. Shower is not private (glass walls) which might be awkward if you are not traveling as a couple. Good wifi. Can't comment on breakfast, didn't try it. Friendly staff. Nice chocolate place directly next door.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TJRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My wife, grand-daughter and I stayed at the Hotel O Kathedral for 2 nights one week and for one night the next week. We had the "Kathedral" rooms which faced onto the square and the cathedral which were very comfortable with air conditioning. Listening to the chimes and carillon from the cathedral was priceless. Some people may not like having the bath and shower in a glass cage in the bedroom, but, at least there was a blind to be drawn. Stepping into the bath may be difficult for people with limited mobility. The decor is very modern with lots of black walls and large murals, but I would question how the decor fits in with the 16th century cathedral. However, overall, we had wonderful and comfortable visits.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 186605Prawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear mrs, mr, 18660 Prawns,

Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We have also rooms with shower for people with limited mobility.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is at the middle of Antwerp next to the famous cathedral. The rooms are pretty small, but very modern with airco, wifi, ... . It is also worth mentioning that the service from the hotel was splendid.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Director of Sales at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear mr. Adrien,

Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This little hotel is situated right next to the Onze Lieve Vrouw Kathedraal in Antwerp. You cannot get there by car but there is parking close by. Our room had an amazing view onto the cathedral. The room was neat and clean and the aircon was on when we arrived, which helped, as we arrived on one of the hottest days in Belgium, 32 degrees. There was a lift. Free wifi. Breakfast is served downstairs, with a good selection on the buffet. The best about this place is that it is right in the middle of town and everywhere you walk there are hundreds of little café's and restaurants with outdoor seating. It was a bit noisy at night, especially as there was a beer festival on the Friday night. The hotel offers ear plugs! The cathedral bells only start at about nine in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view onto the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Director of Sales at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear LDR2014,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in our hotel. Hotel O Kathedral really focuses on a nice and comfy atmosphere, so we're pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed one night in a 'white' room and the second night in a 'kathedral' room. These were identical in size but the mirrored wall in the kathedral room made it appear more spacious. I also really liked the painted ceiling, though the white room did have a nice coffee (Nespresso or similar - I can't remember exactly) machine which the nicer room didn't have.

The rooms both had a fabulous view of the cathedral and square and the hotel could not be better located. The bath and rainfall shower were really good and, although these are part of the bedroom itself (again lending to the feeling of more space in the room), there is a curtain which can be pulled for privacy if required. The toilet room is separate, of course.

We booked on a room only basis, so didn't eat breakfast here. However, the free coffee we were given whilst waiting for our taxi on our last morning was excellent, so I imagine the breakfast would be pretty good too.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, all of the girls on the reception desk were extremely friendly and helpful

Room Tip: I loved the 'kathedral' room but would be tempted to ask for a coffee machine in that room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelO K, Director of Sales at Hotel O Kathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear UKbadiabranca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in our hotel. Hotel O Kathedral really focuses on a nice and comfy atmosphere, We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#21 of 73 in Antwerp
183 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#14 of 73 in Antwerp
347 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Antwerp - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.3 km away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#16 of 73 in Antwerp
270 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O Kathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Kathedral

Address: Handschoenmarkt 3, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: $122 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel O Kathedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep with a unique view of theCathedral of Our Lady? It’s possible! Hotel O Kathedral is located in the heart of Antwerp’s historic center within walking distance of the main sights, museums, bars, restaurants, shopping streets and the Schelde. The hotel features 33 comfortable and modernly furnished rooms with designer furniture, open bathroom and hardwood floors. Our romantic rooms all have a view of the cathedral of Antwerp and have a wall painting inspired by Rubens integrated in wall and ceiling. This gives you the unique feeling of sleeping in a painting. There is also a bar in the hotel and an in-house chocolate shop and coffee shop. WIFI is free and most rooms have air conditioning that can be arranged at your own request. Hotel O Kathedral serves a daily continental buffet breakfast with fresh and seasonal ingredients and home-made pastries, granola, salads and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel O Kathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antwerp
Classic Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Best Western
Antwerp Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing