We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to station, not much else around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Antwerp and although adjacent to the bottom end of the train station (and the zoo) there wasn't much else in terms of nearby restaurants or things to see. The room I had was on the 11th floor and was a corner room so had double aspect across the East of the city. The bed was typical in that although a double was two single mattresses but was actually very comfortable. Complimentary water too. The wifi was fine and although had to put a code in every six hours, I wasn't bothered by that. The bathroom was decidedly average. The shower could do with updating. Breakfast wasn't included in my room rate and at 20 euros I decided I could get breakfast elsewhere for a lot less cost. I had dinner once in the hotel but as the restaurant was empty, I decided to take the meal in my room instead. Staff are friendly but I think I'd stay closer to the old part of town next time.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
Thank dudley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest, herewith we would like to thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are committed to the quality of our goods and services and make sure we stay on point. Therefore, we find your review to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back if you visit Antwerp again. See you soon! Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2015

We stayed 2 nights in the Lindner, and although it had great reviews on TripAdvisor we didn't find it overly comfortable or welcoming. Nothing was done to excellence - it felt more like a student's hotel than a professional hotel, with the facilities and the standard of customer service.

We did love its location, opposite the entrance to the train station - that was very convenient for us. The room was large enough, and the foyer was well presented. The beds were firm, and not as comfortable as we like. We were given 2 single beds pushed together, and therefore 2 doonas. I found it cold in the night, and am not used to sleeping under a single doona (being tall, it wasn't large enough for me).

The main issue was that there was a loud hum in our room, which kept us awake at night. We called one of the staff to see if it could be addressed, and he announced that he always heard that hum on this floor (11th floor). He had only 1 other room to offer us, on the 4th floor, opposite the noisy ice-making machine. We declined, as it wasn't worth a room move only to have more noise issues.

We were surprised to find that the room service stopped when the restaurant closed, so we couldn't get snacks through the night. And in the morning, there was only 1 staff member on reception, so we had to go to the restaurant to get our own serving utensils in order to eat breakfast in our room.

So overall we found the accommodation adequate, but nothing lovely....and because of this, we would choose other options in future.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 11th floor if you are noise-sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlantis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it that you took the time to place this review, as it means a lot to us that you care. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest staying with us. See you soon at the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerp. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

I stated here 10 days for business trip. Hotel amenities maintain very well. Room is clean and comfortable. I like their breakfast. They provide many choice. The other option is beside of their hotel. Their is a organic bread shop which for fresh egg and bread also. Hotel restaurant food is delicious. Their dinner is nice and delicious. Area close to train station. Better go back before dark if you are lady since there is many sleepers/ sprinkle drunk people stay in train station. When you walk alone from train station to hotel, you may be in danger. Hotel overall is good. It should be a nice place when you stay in Antwerp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate it that you took the time to place this score. We're looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

It's hard to find something interesting to say about this hotel. The hotel is a bit of a modern eyesore, a glass and concrete uninspiring structure standing amongst other eyesore buildings in the diamond district. It seemed to be frequented by business types and company conference clientele. It's convenient for the station but not so convenient if you want to visit the central area of the city.
It's very clean, the rooms are large enough but uninspiring and boxy. Beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom well appointed.
The bar is comfortable and the staff helpful, The best thing about the hotel was the restaurant which served very good food; very useful as there is practically nothing else in the vicinity.
We were interested to note the fully armed soldiers patrolling around the local synagogue just down the road. But that was the only interesting thing about the area.
It tries but I would still rate this as a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sloopy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it that you took the time to place this review, as it means a lot to us that you care. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest staying with us. See you soon at the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerp. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

basic clean businees type of hotel.
i would not rate it 4 star.
rooms are a dull brown colour very uninspiring i would give it 3 stars.
the breakfast was not great and the staff totally disinterested in the guests.
our table was not cleared unless we asked them too and no one explained the buffet to us at all.
it serves its purpose but i dont think i will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KildareCian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it that you took the time to place this review, as it means a lot to us that you care. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest staying with us. See you soon at the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerp. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

on this occasion I stayed in a standard room in the fond belief that when I arrived I could use my 'loyalty ' points to upgrade. This was not the case at all, they seem worse than useless. The wifi continues to be free but you need to put in the code every six hours, why? There is very little around the hotel in terms of sites or restaurants so it's always a good walk to fine anything of interest. The rooms are clean enough but the usual uninspiring decor and no extras in the bathroom, no robe or slippers, no shampoo other than some odd fixed bottle on the wall of the shower.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it that you took the time to place this review, as it means a lot to us that you care. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future. The fact that we couldn't upgrade you was related to the occupancy of the hotel. It's true that you have to re-login on our wifi infrastructure after 6 hours we will do that to offer our guests the best connection what we have and to provide that unused connections are still online. It is a pleasure to have you as a guest staying with us. See you soon at the Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerp. Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

The hotel was nicely situated near the Eurostar station and accessible to all the major landmarks and the city centre. The room was functional, I was allocated a room with a view of the city!

The room was very clean and the interior decor comprised of bright colours. The bed sunk down when I lied on it, this made the two nights I spent at the hotel extremely uncomfortable. When I mentioned this to the reception staff they arranged for the maintenance person to visit my room in order to assess the situation. He advised me that the beds had been changed two weeks previously and he was unable to offer further assistance. Effectively meaning that I can "lump it or leave it."

Also when the room temperature became unbearable, I was advised that the thermostat was for heat only and the only option available to me was to keep the room's window open. Unfortunately as the hotel was located near a train station, moving train noise were unavoidable! The room had a Nepresso machine and complimentary glass of water.

The staff were polite but quite officious. The housekeeping team provided robes and slippers on request following an initial referral back to the receptionist team before agreeing to action my request.

I was able to utilise the sauna and gym area, this area is accessible with your room key. Unfortunately the sauna took awhile to heat up, it was like watching paint dry!

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre which houses most of the well-known high street shops and high end brands. There are numerous diamond jewelers in the station and surrounding areas. Nearly all the shops are closed on Sunday, they open one Sunday a month. There are local markets which are worth a visit, these are within easy access from the hotel. Also, there are restaurants situated beside the hotel and within the train stations! There is also a Lidl store right behind the hotel!

The hotel served it purpose- a place to lay my head. Not sure if I would revisit!

Room Tip: Room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oyin209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Dear guest, herewith we would like to thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are committed to the quality of our goods and services and make sure we stay on point. Therefore, we find your review to be very helpful. We hope to welcome you back if you visit Antwerp again. See you soon! Kind regards, Peter Nuiten - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.6 km away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 73 in Antwerp
148 reviews
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#13 of 73 in Antwerp
1,093 reviews
1.7 km away
Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen

Address: Lange Kievitstraat 125, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#1 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: $134 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen in total 173 beautiful rooms offering all comfort you need and 11 suites offering you a separate living and a balcony, a fancy Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, 14 multifunctional meeting rooms and secured underground public parking facilities. 'The 12th floor' a multifunctional sky-lounge with a marvelous overview of Antwerp, the place to be to organize your meeting or event. The hotel is even located in front of the TGV (High Speed Train) terminal. Recreation: Antwerp is a sparkling city with a wide range of entertainment. Discover the Meir, which is well known for its shops, have dinner in the Old Town with its pleasant restaurants or visit the Rubens house with beautiful paintings of the well-known Belgian painter Rubens. Rooms: Luxury bed rooms (some with balcony and a view of the diamond district) and equipped with air-conditioning, comfortable seating's, bathroom with bath or extended walk-in shower, hair dryer, large desk, safe, beverage facilities, minibar, telephone, LCD television with video/audio-on-demand and internet access. Services restaurant: Comfortable restaurant on the 1st Floor, bar and lounge on the Ground Floor. Carefully designed and offering food of good quality and drinks at competitive prices. The fancy restaurant, bar & lounge has an informal and relaxed atmosphere with light jazz and lounge music playing on the background. With flexibility in choice of food, the kitchen opens from 7am till 10pm serving anything from breakfast and light snacks to full dining (no lunch in the weekend and no dinner at Sundays). Meeting facilities: Let's Meet Again is a unique concept designed for our meeting rooms. It offers our guest all comfort they need to have a pleasant meeting, event, presentation, etc. All meeting rooms have WIFI, airco and state of the art equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel And City Lounge Antwerpen
Golden Tulip Antwerp
Antwerp Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing