We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
120
216
99
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
216
99
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel the main hotel comfortable rooms ironing board golfing break waterloo battlefield bars and restaurants easy access hotel restaurant large room restaurants within walking distance scrambled eggs business trip free parking golfers lodge courses
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 489 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018

We have stayed here for a number of times due to the easy access to the Waterloo battlefield. I am not greatly concerned about which room we get as this is, for us, mainly a place to rest and to have breakfast. The exception to this is the bar where we have found the usual barman a really great person and its a pleasure to have some drinks both before and after our evening meal (Not taken in the hotel, but only because we like the near by restaurant and on our first stay the hotel booked us in there as their restaurant was full!)

The refurbished rooms are perhaps rather "cold" looking. However they have all the same facilities as they had before. A couple of things to note. The in bath shower we had if on a strong setting can result in a bit of a flooded bathroom. Also the jacusie can start radomly but this is apparently normal and will go off, it took a phone call to reception to establish this.

Staff are helpful and we had a perfectly good nights sleep They have a buffet breakfast with pretty well all you could need or want with any requirements..

They did send an offer e-mail before hand offering various things. First was an upgrade but none were available when I tried. Also a bottle of champagne and/or flowers in the room. I opted for the champagne but there was none when we arrived and we were not charge for it so something went wrong with the communication method.

We will no doubt return here next year which is perhaps one of the stronger recommendations

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WylieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

A decent hotel with very helpful front office staff. The rooms are modern with plenty of space and decent showers. Thankfully there was very efficient air conditioning which has been essential in this baking hot summer. However bring your ear defenders. The breakfast buffet is just ok. Had far better.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Robsski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

I've been staying here for over a decade, and they're finally refurbishing some rooms. The new rooms are generally quite nice, but some of the larger rooms with twin single beds are quite sparse and feel cold and echoey.

It's also a skill to book the right rooms! On our online booking tool there's a subtle difference between the very dated old rooms and the nice new rooms.

The staff are generally quite helpful, and the food is pretty good (recovered from a few years ago!).

The fitness centre is very small and very hot, and one of the machines wasn't working when I went.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank EonsOfZaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

I would say this was primarily a business hotel rather than a golf hotel, but they do arrange golf holidays and they do it very well! We played 3 golf courses including Royal Bercuit which we especially liked.

Our party was 16 veteran golfers and we had our own table or 16 each evening in the pleasant dining room. We chose our menus in advance and the food was top class, one of the reasons for the choice of hotel. We have found in recent years that many golf hotels in France have reduced quality in a bid to remain price competitive at around the £300 mark for short gold breaks. We found that spending a bit more and coming to Belgium gave us a much better holiday where the accommodation, food and drink are a key part of the holiday. We felt that we had good value for money.

Breakfast is excellent, a full buffet of cold and hot. Good choice and well prepared.

The rooms are typical business class rooms. In our case twin (246) with bath, shower and toilet. TV has Englsh channels including BBC1 and BBC2, useful for golf highlights as we were there during The Open. Good wardrobe and storage space, lots of 2 pin plugs (take UK adapters) for charging phones and golf watches.

Easy to find and good free parking.

All in all a good location within 10 miles or less of challenging golf courses and highly recommended for a golf holiday. Give it a try, I dooubt you'll be disappointed.

For heavy drinkers, there is a pub across the road as the hotel is just a bit pricey for beer and spirits, but the bar is plesant enough.

All of the staff are friendly and professional, mainly good English spoken (much better than my French or Flemish!).

You will be asked for a 50 Euro deposit on your credit card on arrrival but I'm assured that you get it back if you don't spend that much on your room.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tom_saville_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

The hotel is very nice and clean,with a very helpful staff. We had a exellent meal in the restaurant le sucrerie. the breakfast was also very good. Highly recommended when you visit memorial 1815 ,because it's only 2 km to the monument.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WernerCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews