We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant setting and staff for a brunch but poor quality food”

L'orangerie du parc d'Egmont
Ranked #3,129 of 4,101 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 6, 2017

The quality of the food is way down from a few years ago. It has no taste, probably produced on an "industrial scale" or prepared the day before (I went on a Sunday morning). One of the two fruit salads, the one with strawberries, had turned sour and the other one was made of fruit that was nor ripe nor peeled. A total waste. The soft cheeses (brie, goat) were tasteless because of poor quality and not fermented enough. The salads were tasteless too. I didn't dare taste the chicken which was probably of the lowest quality possible. And I didn't want to stand in line for half an hour in order to have a freshly made omelette. I will not go back.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaudeC355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 118 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

The place is now called "La Fabrique" and has new owners since this year (I think). Of all the negative reviews, none seems to be still valid.
We booked a table of 4 for a Sunday brunch. Interior has changed (better), nice setting in Egmont Park.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by very friendly staff and offered the choice to sit downstairs or in the mezzanine.
Place gets crowded, so do make a reservation.
Large selection of tasty food: bread, viennoisserie, meats, cheese, jam, spreads, yoghurt, cereal, fruits. Eggs and pancakes are also available, with different fillings to add. Salads and hot meals also very ok! (Ravioli, sausages, chicken,...).
For desserts: pancakes, pie, tiramisu, ...
Only 1 drink included in price ; extra coffee is reasonable at 2,8€.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank EricVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016

A lovely place for a calm lunch in a park setting in the heart of the city. Excellent place to linger over a glass of wine.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

During a training nearby we visited the orangerie on 3 consecutive days. Every day we were disappointed at how long it took to take the order for twelve while our choice was limited to the dish of the day or the vegetarian alternative. The taste of the food deteriorated every day and most of the dishes were served almost cold.
On the fourth day we cancelled the reservation and got sandwiches instead.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank Bram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2015

We had an amazing brunch at L'Orangerie. We came to this place after a recommendation of friends and it was just amazing!

You pay flat fee of 29 Euros (ex. hot drinks) and you get access to an amazing buffet. The choice is endless: different kinds of bread, croissants, fruit, cereal, yogurt, omelette & crepes made on the spot, pancakes for those who prefer sweet stuff; then salads, pasta, cold cuts and cheese, salmon and other that I am sure I am forgetting. Variety of deserts as well.

Included in the price is juice (albeit not freshly squeezed) and a glass of champagne.

Great service as well!

It's a NO MISS if you are in Brussels over the weekend!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Niko_Konto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'orangerie du parc d'Egmont also viewed

 
Woluwe-St-Pierre, Brussels
Uccle, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to L'orangerie du parc d'Egmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing