We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatifully decorated!”
Review of Le Roy d'Espagne

Le Roy d'Espagne
Reserve with
Le Roy d'Espagne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #622 of 4,096 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: After the 1695 bombardment left a large part of the buildings on the Grand-Place in ruins, the guilds were responsible for its reconstruction. The baker’s guild rebuilt the Roy d’Espagne at number 1, Grand Place, in 1697. The patron-saint of bakers, Saint Aubert’s bust can still be seen right above the main entry, watching over his artisans. On the second floor, Charles II’s bust ornates the facade and gives his name to the building. At the time Charles II was king of Spain and sovereign of the Southern Netherlands, geogra-phically comprising Belgium of today. The building, having suffered during the French Revo-lution, was in terrible condition, but was restored in 1902 under the influence of then mayor of Brussels : Charles Buls. Having been a cafe and afterwards an ironmongery, of which the gallery remains on the first floor, finaly exercing its previous vocation in 1954. This side of the Grand’Place offers the most glamorous view of what Jean Cocteau named « world’s most beautifull theater ». The Estaminet, our private dining hall is located on the second floor, which allows an even better view to savor for those lucky enough to dine there.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very centrally located, it is a beautiful and exceptionally decorated place! We were there only for a beer, so I have no idea about the food! Service is a bit slow, but the place is huge, so I believe they are doing their best!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mariamelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello mariamelad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We're happy you liked the atmosphere and the beer. Stay for dinner next time, we're sure you'll like it too. Sorry you had to wait for the service.

Have a very nice day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We choosed not to take breakfast at the hotel, but at Grand Place. And it proved an excellent choise.Nice clean and warm place at an iconic location. The food was good the price was reasonable. I defenetely recoment it to everyone.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tassos_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tassos_Greece,

Thank you for choosing le Roy d'Espagne for your breakfast. We're happy you liked it and hope to see you again soon.

We wish you a beautiful day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a late Saturday lunch, picked the jambonneau ardennais, and it was the perfect choice: rich in quantity and taste, clean, fatless and wonderfully cooked, the meat was tender to die for.
However, the type of french fries were cold, tasteless, industrial; same as the green salad accompanying the meat. Almost uncut, just thrown on a plate, looked even unwashed. The sauce, greasy and heavy in mayo, opted for mustard: safely.
The kwak beer was the best choice too.

Excellent, smiling and fast service although the place is almost crazy with millions of visitors and hungry customers from all over the world.

Would certainly go again!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank deminius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dimitra,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. We'll look into the salad and french fries issue and make sure to share your review with our staff in the kitchen.

We're happy you enjoyed the service and jambonneau and are happy we'll see you again soon!

We wish you a beautiful day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018

The corner location in the Grand Place allows for great views and people watching. The food is also good. I had Bruxiflette which was like potato au gratin with meat, a lot more onion, and a lot more cheese. It was delicious. We had an inside table with a window view. Great spot to watch the happenings below. They had a wide beer selection too if you want to sample Belgian beers with your meal. Server was great and even gave me French language tips. Weather was too cold for me to,set outside but I'd recommend on a nice day. Not a crazy mark up on price for the location but you will pay a little extra.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Turner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Turner S,

Thank you very much for sahring your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We're happy you loved the Bruxiflette and the location/atmosphere. We hope you managed to improve your French even more during your stay in Brussels :-).

Have a very nice day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

I visited it for coffee and a dessert to enjoy the sightseeing of the square. It is a bit expensive than other near restaurants but definitely will visit again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sohae2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedoobox, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Hello sohae2017,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We're very happy we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again!

Have a beautiful day,
Le Roy d'Espagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roy d'Espagne also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Roy d'Espagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing