We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a difficult city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels
Ranked #34 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Brussels has always been problematic for hotels when we are trying to find a place to accommodate our orchestra. We need something close to where we perform that can handle 125+ people efficiently and that has good access from the street for buses, trucks etc. The Blu is the best we have found and it is a well run property - it is always the staff that makes or breaks a stay. The rooms are well laid out for work and rest, the staff helpful and usually friendly and we can walk to the Palais des Beaux Arts - a major plus. The location is great in respect to centre-ville and there are many restaurants in the area. One my favorites is Cafe de Mort Subite or in English, Sudden Death Cafe - where else but Belgium would they dare to use such a name! The one area that is tough is the bus/car/truck access but the whole city is like an Escher print - confusing, quaint and tricky. Cannot fault Radisson for that! It would be helpful if they staffed the back door which leads directly to the road to the hall. It is not the distance, it is the confusion factor I am trying to avoid!

Room Tip: Allow extra time to get anywhere in Brussels - taxis are not always waiting and traffic can be a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed over the Easter break,the hotel is very central,we had a problem with our room the first night,to be fair to the hotel they sorted the problem immediately and we were moved to a business room,we couldn't give a comment on breakfast as we didn't have it in our package,but it was 30euros a person,the hotel decor is nice and hadn't little or no faults on our behalf

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decktyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very nice hotel for a few days in brussels. A little complicated to get to and not the best place but the quality - especially for business - makes up for it. Great Lobby, kind staff, excellent rooms and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdifelici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is generally outstanding. There is a parking space, be sure that your car is no more than 1.8meters in height. Based on some tips here, we have to reserve a space, and so we did then we were told that it is not necessary because they dont accept parking reservation. We then went on to the receptionist who was so pleasant and welcoming but in the middle of checking in the phone rang and he picked it up and we were put into hold standing in front of him for atleast 15 minutes. I hope that they give priority to clients in front of them rather than a phonecall that should wait. The staff should have known what to prioritize. After that disappointing initial encounter we went to our Business Class Room, which was really nice and cozy, clean and newly renovated. We had access to the Business lounge which contains Coffee, tea, coke, water and apples which u can bring as much as u want inside your room at anytime. Ice maker at the corner and 2 sets of computer which we have no time to check if it really works...anyhow we dont have a need because we have our own laptops. Iphone works also with the free wifi. The room is equipped with coffee (nespresso) and water boiler for tea. There was sauna that is open till 7pm...which is disappointing, they should adjust the closing time till 10pm. A staff roams around knocking all the door if guests need anything at around 7-8pm. The breakfast offers a wide array of food...european style ofcourse. The hotel is perfectly located at the heart of the city. Just few minutes walk to the Grand place. It was a nice experience except from the receptionist part.

Room Tip: Business Class Rooms are newly renovated. No need to reserve parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilgbautista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Although the location was good (close to the train station and a short walk to La Grand-Place) and the room was okay, I found the service rather poor. Wondering whether to use the gym before or after an early dinner, I double checked the hours with the concierge who assured me that the hotel gym would be open when I returned. It was not. Instead I took a nice long walk and looked forward to a hot bath. Returning to the room, I found that the screw-in stopper in the tub didn't work, so I called down for assistance. After waiting almost an hour I decided to just go to bed so I called and told housekeeping to forget it.
Don't get me wrong, these are not tragedies. They are minor annoyances, but when you are at a hotel for one evening before traveling on, you would like it to be as pleasant as possible. At check-out, I was offered a complimentary upgrade the next time I visited Brussels. Strange for a hotel that says "100% satisfaction guaranteed - we make it right or you don't pay". An offer of complimentary breakfast would have been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatsbyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Royal_Brussels, General Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear GatsbyUSA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions. These are very valuable to us.

I am sorry to hear about your experience, and have shared your feedback with our teams.

As you know, we are committed to providing outstanding service and work hard, in all possible ways, to ensure that all guests leave our hotels happy and satisfied.

As we hope to have the opportunity to make your stay with us memorable, I invite you to address me your contact details directly so that I can ensure that your next stay with us satisfies you completely.

Kind regards,

Gaston Gellens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked a Business Class room at quite a steal, and we were not disappointed. It's elegantly designed, with a king sized bed and enough room to park a push chair. It would be perfect if they included a tub in the en suite, but that's not a big deal. There is a lounge on the floor with free nonalcoholic drinks and fruit, perfect for those traveling with kids and parents who need a quick, healthy snack for them.

The hotel is centrally located, about 5 mins walk to Cathedrale Sts. Michel et Gudule, and 7 mins walk each way to Grand Place and Brussels Central Station. The Galeries Royales St. Hubert are just around the corner, which is great for those who want a quick fix of Belgian chocolates (Neuhaus, Corne Royal and La Belgique Gourmande are there, among others).

My only comment is that the front desk staff are quite cold in their demeanor, as mentioned by other reviewers as well. They are slow to address a queue when it starts to build up during check-in/check-out, and you may find yourself waiting unnecessarily before being attended to. I feel that a hotel of this caliber should be able to call in someone from the back office and add more bodies to the front line. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, for the facilities. My advice is to just ignore the hotel staff and remember that you're here to visit Brussels, not make friends with the front desk folks.

Room Tip: Watch out for deals on Business Class rooms... it's definitely great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadBroke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have seen some pictures that other people uploaded but the room I stayed was totally new, very modern,new carpet and also the bathroom was new. Staff in reception very helpful and the breakfast selection was good with a wide selection. Free wi-fi in the rooms. Perfect to stay in Brussels and visit the main spots of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciasvq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.5 km away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.3 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 15 in Ixelles
497 reviews
1.4 km away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,929 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels

Address: Rue du Fosse aux Loups 47, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Radisson SAS Royal Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Brussels
#17 Family Hotel in Brussels
#24 Business Hotel in Brussels
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $182 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is located in the city centre of Brussels, only four walking minutes from the famous Grand Place, the main shopping and restaurant areas and the Central Station, which gives a direct connection to Bruges, Antwerp, Paris, London and Amsterdam! All the 281 sophisticated rooms and suites are designed with an eye for well-being and practicality. Thoughtful amenities such as satellite television, minibar, trouser press and Free & Unlimited Internet access will guarantee a stress-free and relaxing stay. All rooms and suites are designed in four innovative styles: the BRAND NEW Urban Style, New York Mansion, Maritime and At Home- all carefully designed with the traveler in mind. The NEWLY DESIGNED Urban style rooms are distinguished by bright colours and a simple, clear design, with leather details. Unique, edgy and splashed with color, Urban Rooms take a bold stance with iconic art to create a modern atmosphere. While the New York Mansion style rooms include plush turquoise carpet and dark wood furniture with silver and black piano accents, creating a lounge atmosphere, the Maritime and At Home styles offer guests a more intimate ambiance with elegant design. The bright Atrium Restaurant serves seasonal Belgian cuisine under the soaring glass dome beside the 12th-century Romanesque wall. The 2 Michelin starred, Gault Millau awarded Sea Grill restaurant serves outstanding seafood creations in trendy premium atmosphere. Served daily in the refreshing PebbleWood Corner, the Radisson Blu Super Breakfast is an extensive buffet featuring a range of food items selected from the best of Continental, North European, and American cuisine. The property offers convenient underground parking and complimentary access to the fitness club & sauna. The concierge "Cle d'Or" is delighted to tell guests everything they need to know about Brussels and a business centre is also available for all guests, as is 24-hour room service. The 18 BRAND NEW meeting rooms are mainly located on the same floor, overlooking the striking, bright Atrium that invigorates delegates and guests with its burst of natural daylight. It can accommodate a variety of events, including banquets for up to 300 guests, conferences for 420 guests and receptions for 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels Hotel Brussels
Radisson Brussels
Brussels Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing