We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
24
12
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
12
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

What a gem! This place was charming from minute one... We entered the residence through the restaurant and were promptly greeted by the wonderful owner of this perfectly located B&B. Check in was simple... He wasn't worried as much about us paying for the room... He wanted to make sure we liked the room and were comfortable. Customer service like this is hard to find! We settled into our suite and felt like we were in a cozy cabin because of the exposed rafters. The circular staircase is quite ornate and like something I have never before seen.

As soon as we got settled, we went back downstairs to enjoy a wonderful dinner prepared by the owner, a "retired" chef. We had a three course meal consisting of salad, garlic mushrooms and a beautifully prepared steak.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the next morning we awoke to a beautiful breakfast.

This was the first time we had ever stayed in a B&B and I hope we can find another like this one in our future travels.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

I choose this location based on other reviews and we were not disappointed at all. We were greeted by Louie. He was so kind. He helped us to our room on the second floor. I won't say anything else about the stairs because so many others have mentioned them. I will only say it was a gorgeous stairwell! Our room was spacious and clean. There was a main bedroom next to the bathroom. There is a door that can separate the bedroom from the living area where there is a small table set and a couch that had been pulled out into a bed for our teenage daughter. Our bed was quite comfortable. She said the couch was comfortable enough. It might not suit an adult though. The shower was large and had great water pressure. The ceilings were beautiful dark wooden beams. It was a very nice room. The best thing about the hotel is the owner. I have never stayed anywhere where I was made to feel so at home. After we dropped off our luggage and came downstairs he offered us each a drink and surprised us with wonderful plates of toast with salmon and some kind of delicious pepper stuffed with a cheese. It was so good! Our daughter expressed her love for it and he brought her another one! The service and the kindness was incredible. We enjoyed their patio and company so much we decided to have dinner there as well. They had a special of €15 for a three course meal. It was very good!!
The walk to the Grand Place was not far but far enough away to make it more quite. We liked this. There is a church very close. I believe it was John the Baptist. It was incredible! I do not remember seeing it mentioned like St. Catherine's. We went to both and J the B was by far more beautiful-don't skip this one.
The breakfast was wonderful and again the service exceptional. We were able to leave our bags after checkout so that we could go explore some more. We decided to have a late lunch before our flight and decided to have it here. We just wanted to give him our business instead of spending our money somewhere else. It was a great decision as we truly enjoyed talking with him for well over an hour.
I highly recommend this B and B. You will not find better service and kindness anywhere!

Stayed: June 2015
Thank AmyG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2015

Overall a fantastic staff. The owner was very friendly and his staff friendly and very helpful. The B&B was very clean and well kept. Breakfast was very good, and eating in his restaurant was amazing.... Fantastic food! Only a 5-10 min walk to the center of the city with plenty of shops and things to see. Parking in the parking deck a 5 min walk or less with very good prices for inner city parking.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had stayed here two years ago and couldn’t wait to get back: it lived up to our fond memories. Still great rooms, delicious breakfasts, and a fine location, situated between the Beguinage and Ste. Catherine churches, a short distance to the DeBrouckere Metro stop (one line to the Brussels Midi train station), and walking distance to the Grand Place, the Cathedral, the Brussels Central train station, and innumerable other attractions.

The ground floor is the Restaurant Ste. Catherine (reviewed separately), which simplified our dinner decisions for many nights. Breakfast time is flexible; but especially if you’re the only ones staying there, you may get on the proprietor’s good side by arranging for it on the late side—don’t be afraid to ask.

Although (luckily so far) not an issue for us, be advised that the three rooms are up some fairly steep stairs, just as you might also find in Amsterdam. (One of the proprietor’s able assistants, female or male, can help you with your luggage—they’re good at it.) We nonetheless love this informal place, so please don’t stay here when we want to: frankly, I’d be happy to be climbing those stairs right now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dhreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Downtown Residence. The location really can't be topped. Although we were in the smallest of the 3 rooms, the very high ceilings made the room seem spacious. Bed and shower were great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews