We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home Away from Home in Brussels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
Ranked #62 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersGold level
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home in Brussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Despite challenges with checking in because no room was ready at 4 pm and the first room given had been smoked in, I very much enjoyed the NH Grand Place Arenberg. The location is fantastic, and I was finally given a quiet corner, room on the fifth floor. The Internet charge is 10.90 Euros but works well. Finally, be careful when checking on because the staff wanted payment for city taxes even though such fees were covered when prepaying.

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    762
    292
    120
    46
See reviews for
165
711
52
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool (UK)
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I had previously only visited Brussels for work a long time ago and then had stayed in some hotel or other near or even at the airport, but this Eurostar trip was for a few days’ holiday with my wife. We looked at the vast choice of hotels in Brussels and then remembered our comfort and welcome at the nh Zurich Airport.

We did not regret our choice. Looking at the various hotel costs at the middle and upper end we realised that a bigger room (201 since you ask) would, even with breakfast for two included every day, be affordable. We arrived to a very friendly welcome, with the Receptionist even enquiring whether I spoke Welsh (I don’t) when she learned that we hailed from North Wales – that was very impressive.

Having been welcomed and checked in we unpacked in a spacious and spotlessly clean room – complete with a large tray of fruit, which was a delightful gesture – and delicious. But the wardrobe appeared a little short for me to hang my trousers; I am not abnormally tall. And those dreadful coathangers with a catch and clip arrangement? Lest we should wish to steal them - UGH. But back to the clean corridors, friendly staff, clean and quiet lift and out into the Brussels afternoon and a stroll around.

The nh Grand Place Arenberg is a few minutes from the fabulous Royal Galleries, home to a champagnotheque and lots of other shops and eateries. Not far either, in the other direction, from Midi Station (not to be confused, as I kept trying to do, with Centraal Station) and the bank museum or a hop-on/hop-off tour stop.

But back to the hotel, quite frequently in the cold weather, owing to an apparent dearth of public toilets, and a comfortable and quiet night’s sleep. Breakfast was very good every day and made for simply excellent value since we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast and so skipped lunch, settling instead for a snack each day. Note to avoid Haagen Das where they have a premium charged product, albeit for an enormous standard quantity, but also a charge to use their toilets afterwards. Grrrrr.

That’s enough. We enjoyed the hotel. OK, not a 5 Star palace, but clean, comfortable, friendly, efficient, affordable and well located. And welcoming.

Room Tip: Corner rooms ("suites") are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
271 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Last weekend we stayed at this hotel. We were disappointed by the room given to us; we booked a superior room but it had the same size as the ordinary rooms; paid approx. Euro 15,00 per night more for this and the only difference we could find was that the so-called superior room had coffee/tea facilities...The bathroom had no heating..
Staff was friendly but persisted in saying that our room was of superior standing...

Getting into the garage (Euro 22,00 per night!) was ot possible from the hotel but we had to go out into the street and from the outside into the garage. With rain and luggage this is quite uncomfortable. For us the only plus was the location, easy access to Grand Place

Room Tip: Ask for a viewing before agreeing to the room and giving your credit card..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardaVeldhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was booked for me; I don't think I would ordinarily have chosen it.

The good first:

- location is a strong point - the hotel is very close to the Central station; Grand Place is also very close.

- Breakfast is good, with a nice variety and selection of cereals, breads, fruits.


Issues with the hotel:

- The room lacks basic amenities - there is no kettle, there is no iron or trouser press. The battery in the safe was always "low" so it was difficult to lock this.

- The shower is extremely unpredictable. There is a 1mm degree of error in the operation of the tap between boiling to death or freezing to death. I was spending about 5 minutes trying to get the right temperature. Despite this, once set, there would be no stability in the temperature of the water.

- Lobby staff - service is curt and not so good; particularly for one of the female staff there. Staff should also be discouraged from standing outside the main door having a fag break - this really is not nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed two nights on a business trip. Appreciate the location with walking distance from Central station/airport train, close to central shopping area. However, for a hotel of this ranking, we found surprising problems. The bath/shower water was only lukewarm during both days. The modern halogen lights in the bathroom were installed in a weird way so that they were practically blinding. Curtains in the room had big stains! Breakfast was good quality but the staff did not show much interest in clearing the tables - result quite an unwelcoming mess. The service overall was ok but would not call it friendly. The staff was helpful and professional when returning a left behind item. But the overall experience was such that this is hardly a hotel we would like to return to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have stayed here twice before. Loved it the first time...found the second stay disappointing. Went back a third time more out of convenience than anything else. I was taking my mom for her first trip to europe and felt comfortable repeating places i was familiar with. The location of this hotel is convenient....walking distance from central station. But that's about the only good thing.
We found the twin room very small.....stuffy (as the air conditioning was not working). There was no coffee machine or kettle in the room. The bathroom was alright with a small tub in it. Breakfast (which was expensive and not included in the rom rate) included quite a variety but was not a very pleasant meal with the cold, busy staff rushing around. If I do find myself in Brussels again, will look for a better alternative for stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip,
Very disappointed there was no actual bar there for relaxing in, only a small area downstairs,
the room was very average for a superior room and when i did not have any shower gel in there and asked for some, it was not very well received by the person on the desk .
the same for the second day, no extra coffee, and again i had to ask for this.
i found the staff generally not very helpful and if you asked for anything, it was as much as they could do to be civil.
i would certainly not stay here again or recommend it, the staff need to learn some manners.

the

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAZ502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 km away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.5 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 km away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.0 km away
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
#107 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg

Property: NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
Address: Rue d'Assaut 15, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly NH Grand Place Arenberg)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Brussels
#40 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg offers an ideal location in the historical and commercial center of Brussels. The famous Grand Place and the Central Station, with local and international lines, are within a five-minute walk from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Grand Place Arenberg Hotel Brussels
Nh Hotels Brussels
Nh Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing