We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spanish food!”

La Cueva de Castilla
Reserve with
La Cueva de Castilla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #307 of 4,098 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: US$29 - US$37
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Little Spanish restaurant in Schaarbeek. Great food...we had two delicious starters...Spanish croquettes end filled pepers. As a main dish we had paella with rabbit and seafish.mmmmmmhhh!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephaneBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 191 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Well, I didn't expect to have such good paella .. very good. We really enjoy the evening between friends. A place to suggest.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank clxt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

Ok, to be honest we only tried the paella, nothing else.

After reading the many review decided to give it a try.

Overpriced and not worth it.each portion is 21euro. We ordered two.
Ate one and left the second one untouched.

Looks appetizing, but the first mouth taste fishy(meaning not fresh). Seafood should never taste fishy unless it's not fresh.

Rice looks cooked and soaked with the juices of the seafood. Instead, it tasted salty. Nothing really unique of the rice. Worse thing was the seafood was dry, hard and totally strip of its juices.

Come on, I've tasted better version in London. The seafood should still be juicy and succulent even though the rice should be soaked thru with the goodness of the seafood.

It's very obvious the ingredients were not the freshest. I don't see any big mussels, just one hardcore shrimp with shell contacted and some small bits and tails of squid and mini mussels that already shrink to a 1 cent euro coin.

Sorry chef, everyone have their own standard of paella, and yours wasn't enough standard for me.

Hasta la Vista La Cueva de Castilla!!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank lynnsc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cueva C, Gérant at La Cueva de Castilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour Cher Monsieur,
Je pers déjà un peut de mon temps à vous répondre tellement que vous êtes négatif et de mauvaise opinons... Si déjà vous confondez pas à votre goût et mauvais...!!!
Je suis en cuisine et vous permet pas de me dire que je donne de la m... à mes clients...
TOUT ce que je prépare, avant que je vous le donne, c'est ainsi que JE le mangerais..
Vous êtes surement parfait dans votre domaine professionnel...et qu'il n' y a pas de TripAdvisor dans votre entreprise pour vous juger....
...hasta la vista Monsieur lynnsc..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2017

the place was recommended to us by a Spanish friend so we decided to get ourselves organized and went there the other day.

The staff: very friendly. We had to change the number of people several times, but they were very nice about it.

Food:
- Starters: definitely overpriced. 8 slices of manchego cheese 16€ and we got also the pulpo a la gallega as starter and we all agreed it was too salty (as main dish it was perfectly fine)
-Chipirones en su tinta: really good, I missed the side dish..they brought a few fries and potatoes for the whole table, some rice would have worked perfectly
- overall everyone was happy with the food. we paid for food 30€/person

Wine:
- Coto de Hayas (Garnacha y Termpranillo) and it was very good, we ended up having 4 bottles ;)
- Sangria: was ok, but little and ultra expensive for 4.5€. Also I would not add the sugar all around the top of the glass.

Average per person is 40-45€

If you want paella, you need to order it in advance or wait approx 50 min, as we were all starving we decided not to go for it.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alusoare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

Definetly the best Paella in Brussels and maybe in Belgium....
Just avoid to take starters and any other spanish stuff...the paella is a massive portion. The plate with patanegra is quite pricy but worth.to try...

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank prouditalian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva de Castilla also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Saint-Gilles, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Cueva de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing