We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming atmospheric old Brussels restaurant”
Review of Bij den Boer

Bij den Boer
Reserve with
Bij den Boer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 4,131 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: US$29 - US$114
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

Old charmer in Brussels's St Catherine's seafood quarter. Nice antique maritime decoration, booth seating and apparently unchanged in decades. Great oysters, sole and Sancerre. Good service.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 498 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2017

Took the family out to visit the Xmas market at St. Catherine.
Of course, a lunch was required. No reservations, just walked in.

We wanted the Bouillabaisse. Since the dish is quite large, the waiter suggested taking 1 per 2 pax. Wow, when has that ever occurred in Belgium! Excellent suggestion since with our starters (2 took croquettes of shrimp; 2 took scallops), that was more than enough food for us. The Bouillabaisse was EXCELLENT.

At first the young waiter was not that friendly (maybe it wasn't his day...) but the head waiter more than compensated ! The young one warmed up and provided good service.
It just needs a bit more "warm heartedness" during this Xmas season to have scored a full on 5 stars!

All in all a great experience, once again. Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ghibli608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

We went to this restaurant with our American friends and absolutely loved all of the food! I had the doe medallion which was cooked to perfection. Among all the food we had, my mom got the oysters which she gobbled up in seconds!

Great service, super friendly staff!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aileenlelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

This Restaurant is one of my favorite in Brussels... No reservations require for Lunch & different story for Dinner.... Cheers

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank joseagustina2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We walked in from the street without reservation. luckily they still had a place. Both of us took the set menu (28 euro). Fish soup+ entrée + main dish + crème brulee. I must say it was good value, correct service and I will try to go there again on a next visit (maybe then I will make a reservation to be sure to have a place)

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bij den Boer also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Bij den Boer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing