We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Onderland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Onderland
Ranked #16 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in the apartment suite for 5 nights over a chilly Belgian Easter. The apartment is absolutely charming, faded elegance combined with warmth and comfort. We had everything we needed, in an excellent location, comfortable beds, hot shower and a well-equipped kitchen where we whipped up some simple evening meals as a break from eating out. Prinsenhof is a very lived in, real neighbourhood, with artsy interesting shops and some good eateries... Just a short stroll to the Castle Gravensteen and the Patersol restaurants. If you are looking for a modern hotel room it would be best to look elsewhere, but if you want friendly, helpful hosts, in a charming old home, an excellent breakfast a real Gent neighbourhood ... A most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The apartment has 2 spacious bedrooms- one queen and 2 doubles and a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilloandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

Spacious room, clean, noisy stairs, but friendly hosts, open kitchen and only a 5min walk to city centre. Top tip: Get the #1 tram from train station to Rabotstraat - it stops across the road from the hotel. And DEFINITELY HAVE THE BREAKFAST! It's fantastic value for money and better than the overpriced disappointing breakfast at a major chain hotel we stayed in later!!!

Room Tip: We were upstairs so didn't really have noise. I imagine the downstairs rooms are probably a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvoandDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Very friendly family run B&B 5 minute walk from the heart of a beautiful city. Great value rooms considering the spacious nature and superb location. Tram stop right outside and was able to park across the road for 8 euro / night.

Great breakfast choice looking out onto the quiet and pretty courtyard, was a great way to start the day exploring a hidden gem of a city.

Room Tip: The room for 4 had bunk beds and a a double, as well as a sofabed. In a converted loftspace, plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Four of us stayed in Ghent for one night on our trip through Belgium and had a great stay at Onderland. This was a very nice B&B with a great host. The B&B was well located, the room was not only nice but huge, and the breakfast was great! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will make this place our first choice the next time we come through Ghent!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed in the Onderland suite with four female friends and had a wonderfull experience.
The accomodation is splendid, close to the citycentre and very peacefull with a lovely garden. The staff was very helpfull and polite. Everything was neat and the breakfast was great. We really love to come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reizen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed in the suite, so I can't say anything about the regular rooms. The suite looks like a 19th century gentleman's residence - even the heater is historical. The apartment consists of two huge bedrooms, a living room with seating area, dining table and kitchen and a (modern) bathroom. The price is comparable to two regular rooms. I considered it ideal because we travelled with a family member and wanted to spend some time together in a relaxed atmosphere, next to visiting the sites of Ghent.
The suite has one important drawback. The trams run through the Rabotstraat at about two metres from the bedroom windows, causing noise and vibrations in the apartment, even with double glazing and roll-down shutters. Considering every thing else, this was acceptable for me.
The breakfast was just what I expect in a professional B&B. The owners are not very present, so those looking for a personal type of B&B might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La habitación baja con vistas al patio es perfecta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alvaro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.2 km away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 116 in Ghent
284 reviews
0.6 km away
Guesthouse PPP
Guesthouse PPP
#11 of 116 in Ghent
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
149 reviews
0.3 km away
DoOr10 B&B
DoOr10 B&B
#4 of 116 in Ghent
89 reviews
0.6 km away
De Waterzooi
De Waterzooi
#5 of 116 in Ghent
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onderland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onderland

Address: Rabotstraat 62, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: $122 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Onderland 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Onderland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing