We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
37
29
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
29
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants tram stop hot water old building century bunny gent centre luggage
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 78 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a girls weekend to Ghent - when we booked I don't think it was clear to us that the room only had a double bed, not two singles. Luckily we weren't bothered by sharing! The bed was the usual European standard - two singles pushed together with a sheet over the both of them. The bed was probably one of the best beds, apart from my own, that I have ever slept in! It was firm and comfortable, once we both realised how comfy the bed was we soon forgot that we were sharing.
We had phoned in advance to organise gluten free bread at breakfast and I am glad we did, while the breakfast buffet was good, if I hadn't have asked for bread my options would have been limited. When we checked out they even asked me if I would like to take the rest of the bread with me!
We loved staying here, it was nicer than a hotel, you felt like you were really at home, when you came home from a long day of sightseeing.
You can tell it is an older house because when you walked up the stairs they creaked, we felt like we were waking up everyone else when we came home, but that adds to the charm! The only trouble we had was when some guys came home quite late at night/early in the morning and made quite a bit of noise, after asking them to keep it down, they were more than willing to oblige. Old buildings have thin walls, keep that in mind! :)
We paid cash when checking out and from memory you can't pay with a card. Make sure you have the correct money, change was slightly difficult but we managed to sort it all out no dramas.
If you're looking for a place that is a bit cheaper than a hotel, but has a little bit of added charm and rabbit in the garden, then give this place a look in. The people that run it are lovely and it makes for a nice change from a hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We found this lovely B&B in Ghent via Hostelworld.com. It was really much more than a hostel. It is a lovely bed and breakfast, with charming rooms in the remodeled carriage house, beside the main residence. Our room had a queen sized bed, separated by a wall from our kids bunk beds. There was also a large comfortable couch and a couple large plush chairs. The bathroom was beautiful and spotless. A table and chairs was available in the room, but we chose to eat excellent food in some of Ghent's many fine restaurants. There is also a grand suite in the main house, but we didn't stay there. The value of our stay was very good. The owners provided ample information about Ghent and places to eat lunch and dinner. Breakfast at the B&B was extensive, with croissant, breads of several kinds, cereals, ham, salami, cheeses, yoghurt, juices, coffee and tea and several jams and jellies. The owners also had a cute, friendly rabbit, which our girls loved playing with. This property is Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've stayed two nights in this b&b and we really liked it. It's a 10 min walk from the city center, which makes it really quiet. Our bedroom was quite nice - the bed is comfortable, the shower is good and the place is clean and well decorated.
Wifi works perfectly.
The €5 breakfast is complete, with bread, croissant, cereal, coffee, tea, juice.. everything.
The hostess is sympathetic and helpful.
There's an enclosed garden with a funny little rabbit inside.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and we'll surely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CABranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice friendly staff ( a family owned b&b), close to the city center and the shops. Within 5 minutes walk you are in the middle of Gent.
Big rooms, good shower.
One thing to improve: little bit noisy (you can hear the other guests when you are in your room). When you stay in Gent for a couple of day you can relax in the garden.
Breakfast was ok: everything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the apartment suite for 5 nights over a chilly Belgian Easter. The apartment is absolutely charming, faded elegance combined with warmth and comfort. We had everything we needed, in an excellent location, comfortable beds, hot shower and a well-equipped kitchen where we whipped up some simple evening meals as a break from eating out. Prinsenhof is a very lived in, real neighbourhood, with artsy interesting shops and some good eateries... Just a short stroll to the Castle Gravensteen and the Patersol restaurants. If you are looking for a modern hotel room it would be best to look elsewhere, but if you want friendly, helpful hosts, in a charming old home, an excellent breakfast a real Gent neighbourhood ... A most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The apartment has 2 spacious bedrooms- one queen and 2 doubles and a single.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilloandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews