We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
37
29
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
29
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants tram stop hot water old building century bunny gent centre luggage
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 78 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I stayed in B&B Onderland for four nights with my husband and three children 5, 3, and 1 years old. We had the ground floor deluxe quad room which was very convenient for us since we didn't have to worry about wrestling with stairs. The room was quite spacious and comfortable for us and satisfied our requirements.

The private garden was such a treat to use and the kids loved playing with the B&B's pet rabbit. Perfect for my husband and three small children. The breakfast buffet included a variety of treats including toast, croissants, cereal, cold meats, yogurt, juice and hot beverages.

The only negative was that on the first night we didn't have any hot water, but after that we had no issues.

The location was very convenient to Gravensteen Castle and to the tram stop. It was a pleasant surprise to find this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SnoopJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2016

At first glance the Onderland does not look prepossessing. However, the experience of spending time in a truly old house with a lovely courtyard, with a resident rabbit and cat, is well worth it. We were warmly welcomed and, in deference to our age maybe, were given a ground-floor room (no elevator). A big room, overlooking the courtyard, with a large four-poster bed, a sitting room and a brand-new modern bathroom with all mod cons. Heat too, which was needed as it was chilly and very damp outside. The owners did all they could to help us get to where we wanted to go, and the good thing was that there is a tram stop right in front of the house. Two stops and you are downtown Ghent, at the Gravesteen, with the tourboats and restaurants. Bed could be a bit more comfortable, there is a small "ditch"between the mattress and the side of the bed, and it may take a bit more care to get out of this bed, but it was comfortable to sleep on. Breakfast was very good. All in all, definitely a place we would want to get back to. The owners are still working on the place. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Euronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Perfect location in the city, the hosts were delightful and very helpful. The food was fresh, I slept like a baby, we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and fresh. We will return, such a great place!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

A lovely place to stay just 5 minutes walk from the centre of historical Gent. The room we stayed in was a good size with a very comfortable bed. Our hosts Gerrit and Inge were attentive and willing to help with anything we needed or Information. The continental breakfast was plentifully with good variety. I guess if one wanted to be a little critical, and the only reason I haven't given a top score is that maybe the garden area could do with a little TLC but on the whole this is a great place to stay. Clean friendly and very relaxing. In fact I will be returning to Gent later this year and have already booked my room!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2015

Nice medieval building with a garden in the back yard. the breakfast was normal and ok. from my personal travelling experience the good news stop here. this B&B has serious issues with the most important thing a traveller DEMANDS for his room.... CLEANLINESS!!!!!!! the conditions of our room were just tragic. DUST & tissues of spider almost everywhere. on the ceiling, on the head of the wooden bed, under the bed, over the closet, on the floor.... my wife is allergic in dust and she needed to take a pill in order to get some sleep (1 or 2 hours) the first (of our two) night there! the bathroom was full of humidity with a bad smell also. i asked the next day from the people there to do something for this in our room (or to change room) but unfortunately for us, the improvement was still not satisfactory.... i will stop somewhere here because i don't want to write some bad words.... we almost destroyed our stay in the beautiful city of Gent.... Inge (the owner with her husband) i am really sorry but your promises remained promises. you are a polite woman but that's not enough for such a business....

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews