We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,206)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveller rating
1,391
657
107
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
657
107
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location lobby bar canal view room canal side old town beautiful city car park excellent hotel train station the heart of the city room was large stayed here for one night per day excellent breakfast facade atrium euros
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We stayed two nights at the Ghent Marriott Hotel. The location is excellent for touring the old section of Ghent! It's along the canal so having a drink and breakfast outside along the canal was great fun. The rooms are spacious and modern. The staff was young, energetic and very helpful. The breakfast was awesome--everything from eggs to breads to, yes, Belgium waffles! We had dinner at the Midtown Grill. The steaks were just OK but we're from the Midwest and we used to excellent beef. However, the service at the restaurant (thank you, Naomi!) and at the lobby bar (thank you, Anna!) was exceptional. The housekeeping staff could not have been nicer or more hospitable. All in all, we had a great stay at the Ghent Marriott Hotel! Thank you for a nice visit to Ghent!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Marianne,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel and for leaving us this wonderful review!

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations.Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Ghent Marriott Hotel and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Ghent.


Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

I stayed here for one night. Although I booked at relatively short notice, I was able to get a very good deal on one of their superior rooms.

The hotel is a short tram ride from the train station, and a couple of minutes walk along the river from the tram stop. The exterior of the hotel is very pretty, and the reception/lobby area is very spacious, airy and nicely decorated.

The check in/out process was very quick and the people on reception were very friendly and helpful.

The room itself was very nice, relatively spacious, clean and comfortable. The wifi was free and reliable.

The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing all of the sights in Ghent and I would certainly stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HotelHopperUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to leave us this review.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and found our accomodation to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent!


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

After a long stressful day we came to Midtown Grill at The Ghent Mariott for dinner .. a definite recommendation for good food, service and ambience ..

Special thanks to Naomi, Emma and Michael for being the lovely,perfect hosts and taking utmost care of us and ensuring that everything was perfect and to our liking.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dhanaishwaryallc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Midtown Grill.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visit and that our level of service has met your expectations.
Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant on another occasion!

Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

It all comes down to what you like when you stay in a hotel and for what purpose. The Marriot is at an excellent location, yet the atmosphere inside is really not that appealing. The lobby is situated in a large open "oval' space without any atmosphere. The room is pretty standard, yet clean and tidy. A bottle of water (not chilled) in the room is 3 euro.

Breakfast like in every hotel is steep in price, 20 euro per person, and if you will arrange breakfast at the reception desk it is 25 euro's per person. Just a general comment ; Although I can understand that for a breakfast many people are involved etc, 20 euro per person is really much: Especially when you just drink coffee and have a yoghurt. :))))

The hotel has parking facilities, which are really convenient. Yet we had to pay 32 euro's for one day.

All in all a pretty standard hotel, that will meet what you would expect from a hotel. It is the location that really stands out.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander-Str1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Alexander,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, mostly because of our central location. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations and we will therefore take your comments into consideration.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Amazing location in Ghent. Standard rooms. Nothing fancy. Very close to the canal, eateries and nightlife. Great breakfast spread. The breakfast restaurant has a nice outdoor seating with great views. Staff was helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews