We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,209)
Filter reviews
2,209 results
Traveller rating
1,392
659
107
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,392
659
107
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location lobby bar canal view room canal side old town beautiful city car park excellent hotel train station the heart of the city room was large stayed here for one night per day excellent breakfast facade atrium euros
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,209 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because it appeared online to be right in the middle of everything, on adjacent to the canals and dining options. I wasn't wrong. The room was comfortable, the lobby was inviting, the bar was always busy, and the layout was pleasing. There's a large glass elevator that brings you up and down, wish there was a staircase that brought you to the lobby but it brings you outside into the alley. Just off the back of the place is a restaurant steak house (which I haven't tried) but the exit there drops you right off on Korenlei (street) which is what Ghent is all about! Cobblestoned street flanked by bridges over the canal, with dozens of eateries and a scenic backdrop from the middle ages which is awe-inspiring to look at for hours.

I drove here (via rental car) from Brussels and here's the deal on their parking situation. When you check in (online) you'll get an email detailing their parking offer, which is daily 32 euros (I think) which is directly beneath the hotel, and very convenient. They offer to "hold" a spot for you for an additional 25 euro if you book that ahead of time, as they say spots can fill up. Nice offers I guess, but way too expensive for me! I parked on the street next to the hotel (just to attempt to check in) but talked to a local guy and he said parking is free for residents but non-residents must pay (via machine across the street, with license plate number no doubt) and there was a maximum number of hours. He suggested parking in a public lot (underground) around the corner (at Sint Matthews church area). I took him up on that, got back in the car and drove around the corner and easily found the place. Long story short, I paid 9 euro and 7 euro respectively for each night (because I left Ghent each day before lunch) and was pleased with this option. The parking there was only about 100 yards from the hotel and even with luggage (with wheels) I found this a much more economic option than parking below the hotel. If you go the funds and want convenience, park at the hotel. If you want to do it like the locals do, park at the church. Good luck!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rich,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel through Tripadvisor.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that our hotel as well as the location have met your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Ghent Marriott Hotel and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Ghent.


Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

The Ghent Marriott Hotel is an excellent hotel in the city center of Ghent.

It offers everything you will need for a perfect stay in Ghent.

It takes some 15 minutes from the train station to the hotel.

The room was well equipped, the bed was comfortable and there was a coffee machine.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Thosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Thosam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent.


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

This was a really nice place to stay, for all the right reasons, LOCATION, SERVICE AND COMFORT. We arrived 8pm on Friday night and were greeted by super reception staff. Directed us to parking and booked a restaurant for us. Very good choice by the way. The hotel is located in a historic area, everything on your door step. The canal side is so pretty. Top marks Ghent Marriott.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Karina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel with us.

We are happy to read that our service and members of staff were able to meet your expectations, we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent!


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We stayed at the Marriott Ghent for 2 nights last week and really enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect, there was a safe, empty fridge and coffeemaker in our room which were very convenient. The room was spacious and spotless. Even had a turndown service with chocolates! We had a Canal View room on the second floor which was lovely, however, be aware that there were 3 steps between the entrance and bathroom up to the bedroom area (see pictures). This was not an issue for us, but for those with mobility issues, this room type may not be a good choice. The room is in the historic part of the hotel, so I understand the need for the stairs, but it is something you should be aware of.

Room Tip: Do not choose canal view if you have issues with stairs...but the view is great!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel with us.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our in-room facilities and that you have enjoyed your stay.

Our canal view rooms are indeed less suitable for guests with mobility issues, however, our standard rooms do not have stairs and neither do some of our suites and junior suites. It suffices to mention upon check-in that you would prefer a room without stairs and our front-office team will most certainly take that into consideration when allocating a room.

As a valued guest, we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent.


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Can’t say enough good things about this hotel. Beautiful location in historic part of the city - overlooking the Leid river. Hotel building and architecture around it are fantastic. Great breakfast. Absolutely my go to location to stay in Ghent. Can’t wait to return. Pic associated with this review was taken out my window last night.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank upintheair-OMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear
,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel with us.

As an ambassador of our hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent!


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews