We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,217)
Filter reviews
2,217 results
Traveller rating
1,399
660
107
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,399
660
107
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location lobby bar canal view room main canal old town beautiful city car park excellent hotel train station the heart of the city room was large per day excellent breakfast facade atrium euros belgium
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,217 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

If you stay at the Marriott consider an upgrade to a canal room - large and a view to die for. Perfect position within the old town, close to local sights, cafes, restaurants and cute artisan shops. Sit outside with a Belgian beer and soak in the ambiance.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank LeslieAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Leslie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel with us.

As an ambassador of our hotel, we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent!


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

As they say, location is everything. The Marriott backs onto the main canal and is but a few steps away from the city centre. We had to take a taxi to the hotel from the train station.

The staff were very welcoming and despite the later arrival, gave us their complete attention. We came in the 'font' entrance off the street, while the canal entrance is to the 'back' of the hotel. We used this entrance most.

We had a very nice room with king bed with two sitting chairs. There was lots of room for our clothes and a safe for valuables. The bathroom was a good size - we always like the extra sized towels and of course, lots of hot water.

We had breakfast at the hotel. There was an excellent choice of breakfast items, hot and cold. We certainly enjoyed our breakfast. The staff were attentive and did not rush us.

We'd certainly stay here agin.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Robert,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!


Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

This Marriott is a hidden gem and just fabulous on all accounts! The location is idyllic, such perfect views and really no need for a car, you can walk everywhere. The hotel accommodations are wonderful and our room had a view of the waterway and the gorgeous Belgium architecture which makes Ghent so special. The staff were fantastic especially Joke, who served us some samples of outstanding wines during a Wine Tasting event that the Hotel was hosting. We loved the wines and the knowledge that Joke was able to share with us during our tasting experience. She was the perfect hostess and added to our very positive experience! Ghent has so much to see & we will certainly go back and stay at this magnificent Marriott in the future! Oh, and the Breakfast Buffet was outstanding! The servers were so thoughtful and polite... happy to help us in any big or small way. The breakfast food was beyond delicious and the presentation was picture perfect. Just another example of why we LOVE to stay at Marriotts. This one is definitely a favorite!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Mari,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel and taking the time to leave us this wonderfull review.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. On a more personal note, it was my pleasure to have you with us at the wine tasting. I am so very pleased that you have enjoyed the experience and I hope that whenever you are in the neighbourhoud, you'll join us once more for a crisp glass of wine!

I'll be happy to share your feedback with the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Ghent Marriott Hotel and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Ghent.


Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Although I like Marriott properties very much and they are often my first choice when traveling in the US, we usually avoid chains when traveling in Europe but chose the Marriott Ghent because of the location. The location is ideal- within walking distance of wonderful restaurants, attractions, shopping and the tram to the train and right on the canal. The property itself is stunning- with a glass atrium wedged between historic buildings. Our room was very clean and comfortable with two armchairs and an ottoman and a great bed and linens. I don't recall when I last slept so well when traveling. The staff really stood out too. While everyone was great, Neomi at the front desk, Hilde in the bar and the hostess with the dark hair at breakfast- I am sorry I don't know her name- deserve special mention. Ghent is a charming town. I am so glad we stayed there rather than Bruges when visiting the area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear An Anthropologist (we love your name!),

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel with us.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Your kind words will be shared with Neomi and Hilde, as well as with our breakfast team, to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Ghent Marriott Hotel and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Ghent.


Sincerely,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The staff is amoung the best we have ever encountered. They are welcoming, friendly and most accomodating.
Hotel is an easy 5 star. Our opinion is based on over 50 marriott stays per year. The location is thw best Ghent has to offer.

Room Tip: river view rooms are pleasent
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhentMarriottHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ghent Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Wayne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ghent Marriott Hotel with us.

As an ambassador of our hotel, we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Ghent!


Best regards,

Joke Van der Burght

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews